We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibsens Hotel to your Saves list
Ibsens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was booked on our behalf, and before we arrived we contacted them directly to extend the original booking by an extra night. There was some confusion with this which ended up with the reservation being made for the wrong dates. Fortunately we found out by chance before we arrived as we had to book alternative accommodation for the extra night in the end. Just as well as we did not have a great night here. The room was small, the bathroom was tiny and the towels were almost threadbare. It classes itself as an ecohotel, but it has a very dated feel to it. The room was over the road and the blind only came down to cover two thirds of the window. In the early hours of the morning a maintenance truck with orange flashing lights parked outside and illuminated the room for the rest of the night. The included breakfast was a small basic selection. On the basis of this stay I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    165
    67
    27
    12
See reviews for
38
158
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perfect hotel: prefectly located, breakfast with quite a lot of organic food items, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained by caring and friendly emplyoyes. The bicycles for rent was perfect in this bicycle friendly beautiful town. The only BAD thing is that there is no saftyboxes in the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Incredible location, clean, incredibly friendly staff (who offered us an upgrade for free and without us even asking) and the organic buffet breakfast was divine. Plenty of information about what to see and do in Copenhagen and they even offer bike hire, which you simply have to do in the city of cyclist. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Only downside was the tiny bathroom/shower/toilet with absolutely no ventilation, made the room very muggy.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a larger room as the rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A gem of a hotel in the very centre of Copenhagen - a mere 3 minute walk from Nørreport Station, where you can catch S-trains, metro and the Kystbane train! A perfect spot to explore Copenhagen from! Great bed, great breakfast, extremely friendly staff, great atmosphere - in short everything was just perfect! Will definitely return! (Jesper G)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recommended by a family member, suited us and was close to the metro station and in walking distance of all the sites we wanted to see. Staff were friendly and the room was cosy. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm used to minimalist hotels but this one takes the cake. We tours with staying at the sister hotel but picked this one because it was closer to things. Our bathroom IS the shower- no room for toiletries. Once you shower whole floor is wet so you slip & slide - pretty scary plugging in your hair dryer! No closet but it's the Scandinavian way perhaps-plastic chair that doesn't fit under the desk-
When we booked the picture showed a wonderful breakfast buffet- western breakfast, but they served Nordic which was brown breads, a soft boiled egg in shell, and yogurt. Nothing warm- no fruit- etc. Very very disappointing.
The halls on floor 5 squeak horribly-so all night long we heard that and the street noise-we should have known when there was ear plugs next to each side of the bed! I would not recommend this to anyone! No safes in the room either. Street noise all night long - like the windows were open-that loud. We have been a over the world and are used to other standards, but this was just cheesy. Really bummed after a long day touring-not really anyplace to hang out-lobby had a small area that people were in-so we came back to the room to lounge-on our plastic chair-sigh

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was recommended to me by someone. Easy to reach, catch the metro to Norreport and then it's 5 minutes walk from there, so in a good location. It's also a couple of minutes to a local park and about ten minutes walk to the botanical gardens. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff helpful and friendly.

The room itself was small, but fine for me, the bathroom also was small but again fine for me. The room was just the right temperature at night and the bed lovely and comfy. I wasn't disturbed by noise at all from outside or within the hotel.
The room was lovely and clean.

The hotel contained a bar and restaurant which I didn't use so can't comment. The left luggage room is not really secure it is in the basement and not supervised, you are just given a code so any guests could go in and out so it really would be wise to take passports, money valuables out (there are safes in the reception area)

On the whole I loved this hotel and was sorry to leave. I would recommend the Ibsens, and would definitely stay there again next time I am in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be quieter than the ones at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words. Your wish to return is the best compliment we can get. We really loved to read your description of the hotel. Regarding the luggage room, you are partly right because it is not supervised, but on the other hand we have never had reported anything stolen from there, and the only access is by the elevator right beside reception. But we usually advise or guests to put ipads and likewise in the safes at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibsens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.