We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny but tolerable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibsens Hotel to your Saves list
Ibsens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny but tolerable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room here was a semi-double. We picked it because it was less expensive than most hotel rooms in Copenhagen. It was very tiny, and it was hard to find places to put suitcases, hang clothes, and hang towels. The bed was comfortable, but one side was right up against the wall. If you want to save money for a short visit, this place may be a tolerable choice. The location was handy to the metro and downtown area. The WiFi was good and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    119
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
23
116
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ibsens Hotel was perfect for our needs, especially as in the lucky lottery with 4 other friends, I ended up in a loft room alone rather than sharing. I never did quite understand the rules of said lottery, but I just accepted the outcome like a trooper.
Ibsens is in a great location close to Norreport stations (rail and metro), and within easy walks of anything you want to do in Copenhagen, or a bike ride if that takes your fancy (as it does with virtually everyone else in the City). The staff were superb, always helpful, a great breakfast, and the only small point would be the need to give certain locations, and my room was one, a lick of paint, and not just where I banged my head on a low-flying beam. Loved it though, and would go back - looked better than their sister hotel and neighbour Kong Arthur

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Ibsens. The hotel was a good find for us, as we appreciate a bit of style but don't require (or want to pay for) many amenities beyond cleanliness and a good night's sleep.

The room:
Having read tripadvisor reviews, we booked a "large" room and were comfortable in the average-size room we were given (top floor, under the eaves, facing the street). We did not have any problems with noise from within or from outside, even when sleeping with the window open on weekend nights. Loved the Hay furnishings and the bed was super comfy. I do think the room needed more lighting, however. And as is the case with many European hotels, a small shelf in/near the shower to hold toiletries would be helpful.

The staff:
The front desk staff were friendly, but definitely seemed frazzled at times. We found that our TV didn't turn on (of course, we weren't there to watch TV, but we do like staying on top of what's going on in the world), and when my husband first mentioned this to the front desk staff, the response was essentially "too bad" and we were told there were no extra batteries to try in the remote. When we mentioned the TV the next day to another staff member, she said she would look into it while we were out for the day, and she did. Another day our room key went missing after we handed it in before heading out for the day, as is hotel policy. Not a big deal, but it was implied that we lost the key and we were asked several times "you haven't found it yet?" I initially didn't love the fact that our key with room number on it was floating around somewhere, but decided it wasn't a big deal since we weren't storing any valuables in our room. On one of the nights we stayed, there was flooding in parts of the hotel due to excessive rain, so it's understandable that the staff may have been a little overextended.

The location:
Location was great for us... easy to get to/from the airport and elsewhere in the city from nearby Norreport station, and easy walking to most of the attractions. Although we didn't know it when we booked, the hotel is super close to the Torvehallerne food market. This turned out to be a huge bonus for us, as we ate there at least 5 times! We also enjoyed brunch at Kalaset across the street. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (try Grod at Torvehallerne!) or eat at either of the two restaurants, but a good tip is that the kitchen at the tapas place stays open later than most in Copenhagen, which seem to stop serving food by 9pm.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights.We made sure we saw the room before checking in. Glad we did because the rooms on the skinny courtyard, may be quiet, but I would have been claustrophobic. We were high up facing the street, windows opened wide and our view was so "Europe". Loved it. Rooms small, but one is never there. Two minutes from Torvehallerne Market.Staff extremely helpful.
Val from Vancouver, August, 2014

Room Tip: Busy Hotel, prebook if you can. You can pay for Breakfast, but fun to go to the market up the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for only a single night, but were upgraded to a suite and found it quite roomy and comfortable. Location seemed central and enabled us to stroll only a short distance into some scenic parts of the city. The only negative comment was that the lift seemed to be fairly slow, but as we were only on first floor, we could and did use the stairs to overcome that.

Room Tip: The suite we had was on the corner, and was very large with big windows allowing plenty of light, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
not toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Ibsens. This was our first exposure to a Scandinavian country and it was quite lovely. While the rooms were much more "cozy" and small then we are used to in Canada, it was perfectly comfortable and clean. Best beds of our trip and lovely duvets.

The hotel itself has a lot of character and is in a convenient location to Norreport station (about a 7 min walk). Staff was always helpful and friendly.

Our only minor complaints are the hallway is quite dark and the bathroom lacked a shelf for toiletries. Really nothing major though. We did not partake in the breakfast but it looked nice, we were just trying to stay on budget and often got our own groceries instead.

Lovely stay and I hope tp return soon!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Ibsens is a fun boutique hotel in the Nansengade area of Copenhagen. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are efficiently small but well appointed. Bed was comfortable, and full bathroom was generous. Everything was sparkling clean. Larger rooms are available for more money. Our room looked out onto the street, quiet enough, but looking into a courtyard where summer outdoor seating was stored would have been quietly dismal. Best of all were the plentiful breakfasts; expensive but so good and so plentiful that we could survive till dinner with just a quick coffee stop. It included an abundant assortment of fresh breads and pastries, seasonal fruit an vegetables, hard boiled eggs, a different assortment of cheese and sausage each morning, several yoghurt choices, juice, tea, coffee and champaign. We return to Copenhagen again in a few weeks, and I am likely going to book in for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. [but the streetScape is fare more interesting than the quiet courtyard.]
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibsens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.