We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibsens Hotel to your Saves list
Ibsens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
EVANSTON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A perfect gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Perfect location, walking distance from the train coming from the airport. City center A short walk to the Botanic gardens. Lots of restaurants in the area to choose from.
Rooms - very nice; The breakfast was great! The staff at the desk both in the evening and the next morning were so friendly and helpful. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a courtyard room. However, the street was quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! It is such a pleasure to all of us to have given you a great experience in Copenhagen :-)

Yes, the metro station Nørreport is only a 5 minute walk away, and it only takes 15 minutes with the metro to and from the airport (and only costs DKK 36). Nice and easy :-) Also, the Hop on Hop off busses depart nearby, so if you are not up for the walk around town, you can always take the tourist lines. Please do not hesitate to ask, if you would like a local point of view to the city, as almost all of us are Copenhagen residents.

I hope to see you back at Ibsens!

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    136
    52
    25
    12
See reviews for
32
130
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I'll get to the point! This hotel is close to public transport, restaurants and shopping.
The room was comfortable with large TV for World Cup. Friendly attractive staff. Unfortunately we kept drinking all of their Carlsberg!
Will return

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

I'll get to the point too: Thank you! And cheers :-)
See you soon :-)

Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

For the cost, our stay at this hotel was not a good value. This was our second visit to Copenhagen and we wanted to stay in a different area than we stayed in last time just for variety. While it's in a great location, and the room was nice, we got a very uncomfortable night's sleep. Our room overlooked an adjoining restaurant's patio and because it was hot we had to leave our windows open....which meant lots of noise. We also asked for a fan (thinking we could close the windows and eliminate the noise) but were told that no fans were available. We were also told no other rooms were available. We also thought that having to leave the key at the front desk was an inefficient process. Often the front desk was busy and you had to wait to get your key.

I would recommend staying at this hotel in cooler times of the year; I think it would have made a better impression on us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Family visit.
Stayed in Junior Suite so were lucky to have a large room with huge bathroom (bath and shower) worth paying more for.
Very friendly helpful staff.
Lovely breakfast - fresh bread, croissants etc, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, juice, smoothies...
Lovely ambience.
Great location just up road from Norreport metro and
Torvehallerne food market - well worth a visit.
La Fiorita pizza and pasta restaurant just up road well worth a visit - great food and atmosphere.
Street is noisy so take earplugs and eyemask etc. We borrowed a fan from reception which helped to drown out noise.
Beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: Be prepared for noise from street or courtyard rooms. Take earplugs and should be ok. Junior suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Ibsens Hotel. Also, I am very happy you liked our little neighborhood. All of us at Ibsens Hotel are residential Copenhageners, and we love to share our favorite part of the neighborhood and the city - so next time if you need insiders' recommendations, please do not hesitate to ask :-)

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back "home" at Ibsens Hotel, next time you visit Copenhagen.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Ibsens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel was average, but had a nice courtyard where you could have breakfast or just a coffee. The rooms were OK, but the bathrooms were tiny, and we asked to change the first room we were given, as you near enough had to sit on the toilet while taking a shower. We were able to keep the room until 3 pm, and we paid 100DKR per hour after the original check out time. The location was a bit too far off the main centre, but you were able to walk, but it would take about 15-20 minutes. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, but there are quite a few places around the hotel that serve food, there is also a small food store 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Vadur

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I don’t know how you got the impression that Ibsens Hotel is away from the main center. Ibsens Hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from Noerreport Station, which is the central traffic hub in Copenhagen and the pedestrian street starts.

We charge extra if you want a late check-out (after 12 o’clock), because our house-keepers have to stay longer in order to clean the room. We can store your luggage for you if you don’t wish to carry in around the day you check-out, ask reception.

The bathrooms at some of the small rooms at Ibsens Hotel are quite small. Ibsens Hotel is located in an old building and the rooms are of many sizes and shapes. This applies to the bathrooms as well. Please, read the room descriptions at our website before you book - then it will be easier for you to know which room size will suit you the best.

Kind regards
Marie Thyssen / Arthur Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice hotel good sized room and great staff.Only negative was unable to make a cup of tea as no hot water jug or tea or coffee sachets.
Would not stay at this hotel again due to this as we have travelled the world extensively and not come across this lack before
No air conditioning could be a problem in hot weather.

Room Tip: Top floor was good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, good location, fair price. Recomendable for families. Close to the train and metro station. Room had enough space for us. Bikes for rent at a good price. I hope to come back. We didn't try the restaurant, but it seemed to be a very good place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibsens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.