We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibsen....basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibsens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibsens Hotel to your Saves list
Ibsens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ibsen....basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a room with 3 beds...but no room for anything else. Shower and toilet in one so if you shower the toilet gets soaked because the shower curtain is useless. Feathered pillows stab you In the face all night. .....Please only book here if you don't have kids and want something cheap and a place to crash. I'm not a snooty person I just want a bit more comfort. On the plus side its only a 15 minute walk to the square. Be warned Copenhagen is really expensive. £ 10 a pint

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest

We find it a little difficult to figure out exactly what went wrong during your stay. Except from the fact that you didn’t like the bathroom and the pillows.

Regarding the bed and the linen: We have chosen the beds and the linen with great care, and the beds are high quality "Jensen" beds, which most of our guests finds really lovely for a good night's sleep.

Regarding the bathrooms: Yes the toilets are the old European style: bathroom and toilet in one room. this is standard in Copenhagen.

We are glad that you recommend our hotel for families with children, however..

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    136
    53
    25
    12
See reviews for
32
132
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from the Ibsens, having stayed for 4 nights on a trip with work.
We were a little concerned about what to expect, but we pleasantly surprised.
On arrival the staff were wonderful and this is what we experienced for the entire stay!
We paid extra for the room, and having researched I thought it would be a bit bigger than it was, but the room was immaculate! The towels were also really soft, which doesn't always happen.
We slept well, despite being on the street. There was a little noise in the Saturday night, but this didn't bother us.
Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I checked in for 5 nights (8th-13 October) and couldn't be more pleased with my stay. The hotel itself is charming, with rooms which are scandi-chic. I wasn't sure what to expect of the rooms, given the wide range of critiques here, but I was very pleased with mine (room 663) - it faced the inner courtyard, Did not encounter any issues of noise from the street or the courtyard, as others have noted. It is worth considering that this *is* a city, and as such city noises should be expected? The bathroom, while compact was quite adequate. Did wish that they would have provided shaving kits or toothbrush kits, but overall not as terrible as other reviews would have you believe. Perhaps a lot of the criticism stems from people not being used to wet rooms? The shower area is compact but I had no issues with the shower curtain clinging to me as another reviewer had said (and I'm fairly large). This is an old European building - in general rooms and bathrooms will be smaller and facilities will not match those of a more modern construction. Wi-fi was free and super fast.
The breakfast was very good and healthy - lots of fruits, yoghurt, and cereal combinations in individual cups. The sandwich selection was quite impressive as well. 4 teas on offer, as well as coffee and several juices. You can also elect to get a voucher to eat a hot breakfast at the sister hotel next door, and that buffet was quite good too. Danish bacon is superb, and justly deserves its fame.
The staff at this hotel were superb, They were friendly, warm, and informative. Couldn't have asked for better service.
There are lots of dining choices in and around the hotel. Had an opportunity to try both in-house restaurants La Rocca (Italian) and Pintxos (Spanish) during my stay. Food was excellent. If you're a sushi/sashimi fan, do not miss Sticks N Sushi just outside the hotel - the quality of fish was astounding. Easily the best I've had outside of Japan. There's also a huge food hall a few minutes walk (between hotel and Norreport Station) which was fascinating and tasty. Copenhagen dining can be affordable or expensive, but overall I feel that the quality of food delivered was usually well worth the whatever the cost was. Didn't get to try any of the Michelin-starred restuarants on this trip, but did try Aamans Establissement (12-15mins walk) as I wanted to check out New Nordic cuisine. It was superb and truly quite impressive. They offer a small a-la-carte selection but usually recommend the 3 course or 5 course menu I chose the 5 course and am still raving about it now.
Copenagen is a really lovely compact city, and you can't go wrong using Ibsen's as a base. Highly recommended

Room Tip: I enjoyed room 663 - which is up in the rafters. The staff are more than happy to let you see the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Adrian

We were so happy to read your review. So nice to hear from someone who appreciates Ibsen Hotel for exactly what it is.

Ibsens Hotel is not like an eg. an American hotel. Ibsens is a genuine Copenhagen hotel, influenced by the Scandinavian mindset and the arch-Copenhagen neighborhood it is located in.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed in Ibsens for 3 nights from 13 October - husband and I shared a double room of adequate proportions. Although, friend had a room the size of a large wardrobe and she was not impressed. We didn't mind the fact it had no wardrobe/drawer space and found the idea of hanging cloths on an open rack and oversized round "buttons" quite quirky - quite reminiscent of being at infant school! Bathroom was a fair size - but we weren't impressed with a shower curtain sticking to us whilst showering. Cleanliness, overall, very good - but on arrival big stain (looked like grease from a take away?) on bed throw and despite asking reception for housekeeping to change it, this wasn't done throughout the course of our stay. Also, the shower holder was broken and the shower kept falling off the wall. Pillows are very flat, they should consider investing in better ones. Exceptionally clean, fresh towels and plenty of them. Despite this we had a very good experience in this hotel. Yes, the breakfast was expensive - but a unique experience - they call it "breakfast in a glass". Everything is served in glasses (surprise surprise) and there is a good choice - sandwiches of half a dozen or more varieties, boiled eggs, muesli, yoghurt, fruit, croissants. I'm never a big fan of continental breakfasts but this was great and we really enjoyed it - and there was as much to eat as you wished. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could not be faulted at all (apart from above, not changing out bed throw but this was one minor irritation). We found the hotel to be in a great location, short walk from Norreport Station - when leaving the airport make sure you take the Metro line and not the S Line. We had no issues with noise from street (perhaps because of the time of year).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three days in August. It was, as other reviewers have noted, "minimalist." But the room we had was quite large, even though it was on the top floor and there were some headroom issues with the gables. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful.
My wife and I rented a couple of the hotel bikes for two days. They were real clunkers, but they did fine in flat Copenhagen.

Some reviewers have complained about the breakfast. It was different, consisting of a lot of yogurt, cereal, pastries and an assortment of sandwiches. It wasn't that bad, but the one off-putting aspect was that you were charged extra for espresso or cappuccino. I've encountered this before, however, and it may be related to the cost of power.

Very good location, near Norreport metro/train station.

The major negative for us was the yelling and screaming from late-night drinkers on the streets in front of the hotel. Consider requesting an inside room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear John

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you liked Ibsens Hotel.

Regarding the charge for special coffees: our breakfast staff are often very busy in the breakfast rush hour, and it is quite time consuming to make to special coffees. It would be impossible for them to honor the demand if it was free, unfortunately. We have tried it for a period.

I would also like to mention, in case you would return in the future, you can also have breakfast at our sister hotel, Kong Arthur accross the court yard. The breakfast there is more traditional.

Best regards
Marie /Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We liked our stay in this hotel, it was comfortable, has really good location, just 3-4 minutes of walk to Norreport metro station, really close to Botanic Gardens and Rosenborg Palace, just 2 minutes of walk to really gorgeous food market... For me the only negative of the hotel was that the room was really small and also it could be much more cleaner and quite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very easy to get to from the airport on the metro (15 mins) and a 5 minute walk from Norreport station. Nice greeting on arrival by staff that speak better English than me (which is quite worrying). We went for the large room purely on reading reviews on the smaller rooms being too small (but I didn't see these rooms so can't comment on them)
Our room was a nice size and clean (the carpets could do with a clean though). The bed was comfortable and the room had everything you would expect for the price. We were facing the street which was quite noisy late at night but we weren't bothered by this because the noise was just high spirited folk on a night out. The only flaw with the room was the bathroom which had one of those built in (part of the bathroom) shower, so you ended out standing on a wet floor and then a very soggy floor towel. This hotel is very well placed in Copenhagen and has most major attractions very close to it. The staff were all very friendly. I liked this hotel and would stay there again, but be warned, if you haven't been to a Scandinavian country before, take out a second mortgage just to pay for your drinks...!!! £5 for a 250ml glass of beer, that's about £12 a pint !! So take my advice, buy Carlsberg in bottles as this is mildy cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibsens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibsens Hotel

Address: Vendersgade 23, Copenhagen 1363, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibsens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibsens Hotel is an oasis in the heart of the city. It overlooks the Nansensgade area, bustling with café life and small shops. Just a 5-minute walk away, you will find the city lakes in the one direction and Nørreport train and metro station in the other.The lobby area offers a café, a library room and a cozy livingroom area with a fireplace. The minute you step inside, you will sense the Nansensgade atmosphere: ”Mingle” tables, magazine holders, an old record player and beautiful textiles adorning the lobby. All design pieces are made by neighbouring artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibsens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibsens Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibsens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.