We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Construction” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nyhavn

Nyhavn
Nyhavn 1-71 | Kobenhavn K, Copenhagen 1051 , Denmark
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 203 attractions in Copenhagen
Type: Neighborhoods, Bodies of Water, Historic Sites, Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks
Activities: Drinking, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Copenhagen's Nyhaven, or "New Harbor," is actually steeped in a long heritage. Colorful buildings line the canal and hint at a history of small-vessel traffic. Like many ports, this strip has a salty history, rich with sailors, drinking and literary exploits. Danish author Hans Christian Andersen made his home in Nyhavn as well. It's cleaned up now and is a lovely place for a stroll.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Under Construction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I went it was under construction. Looks like they are repairing the roads. I'm sure once finished it will look like a picture postcard. I would avoid until 2013.

Also, the restaurants were expensive and served poor food. A tourist trap. Only the wonderful boats and locals made the experience a little pleasant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    1,293
    265
    34
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day or night... just stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have visited Nyhavn multiple times now, day or night, winter or summer, Nyhavn is a must do when visiting Kobenhavn. I would also highly recommend one of the boat tours departing regularly from Nyhavn for a completely different view of the city.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice authentic fun street, combo of boats and lovely buildings to look at and loads of restaurants to pick from. I suspect the evenings may cater to "gentlemen" and partying more than you might think in the daytime where it is just a nice place to visit. Ladies - the public toilets will surprise you with their quality!!!!! Do not be scared to go in and check them out - they are worth a visit (lol - I never thought I'd write that in a review!!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Locals & Tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Even on a cool and windy evening the area was filled with people out for a stroll looking for dinner or drinks.

Although quite a touristy feel, we were able to find a couple of 'locals oriented' spots which were not over-priced and had good service.

Daytime, when the sun is out, makes for a great spot to have lunch or an espresso.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hip Area ... High Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It's a touristy area with expensive restaurants, but worth browsing through the shops. It's a great spot for people watching.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyhavn also viewed

 

Been to Nyhavn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyhavn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nyhavn to your Saves list