We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek
Dantes Plads 7, Copenhagen DK-1556, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 33 41 81 41
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek like an insider
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Copenhagen Panoramic City Tour with Tivoli Gardens
Ranked #4 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NY CARLSBERG GLYPTOTEK - EXPLORE 6000 YEARS OF ART This beautiful museum, founded in 1888, invites you to discover Northern Europe's largest collection of Ancient Mediterranean art and visit the leading collection of French Impressionist paintings in Denmark. The wonderful buildings are filled with atmosphere and every corner offers a new experience. The heart of the museum is the classic 1906 sub-tropical winter garden with tall palm trees, a fountain and a fish pool. The museum was founded by the renowned brewing magnate Carl Jacobsen, who made Carlsberg beer known world wide. Address:Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek,Dantes Plads 7,1556 Copenhagen V
Holbaek
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Brewer Jacobsen founded this museum. It is very interesting if you want to studdy old Greek and Roman sculptures - or French paintings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    524
    117
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A very nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There was a three-floor Degas exhibit when we were there, which was a bonus, although it displaced some of their usual display. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, but where you put this on your schedule depends on where art stands in your personal pecking order and how much time you have for seeing the city. We were in Copenhagen for six days and could easily add the museum to our list, but if I only have a couple of days to spend I want to see Copenhagen, not art (I don't have to visit Copenhagen to see good art).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Need to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited to see the Impressionist paintings but found that section was closed - so I need to return. However I was more than happy to go round the ancient world collection and modern bronzes. There is also a beautiful winter garden and pleasant cafe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our number one attraction in Copenhagen, the first one we would return to if back in town. The collection is impressive but it is really the building and the displays that make it memorable. Do now miss this art museum!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“One of the best boutique museums we have ever visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife & I visited the Glyptotek during our first afternoon in Copenhagen on Sunday 8/11. Our pedicab driver dropped us off at the museum, & afterward we walked to Nyhavn for a canal tour. That evening we had dinner at Tivoli Gardens - what a wonderful 1st day of 2 in Copenhagen!

Before our trip, I had found the Glyptotek on Trip Advisor & was intrigued by the reviews, accompanying photos, & their Web site. It looked unusual online, & it was! Just by chance there was an outstanding traveling exhibit of the work of Degas spread among 3 beautiful galleries that had extensive descriptions in English of the work & its context in the life & times of Degas; this displaced the usual private collection of impressionist paintings, but we were not at all disappointed.

We also found many of the other galleries to be fascinating, especially the Egyptian mummies, the Rodin sculptures, & the numerous unusual other sculptures such as the one shown in the accompanying photo. Also, the architecture of the museum itself was whimsical & engaging.

The Glyptotek was absolutely one of the best boutique museums we have ever visited & a highlight of our visit to Copenhagen. We recommend it highly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.