We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danmark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Danmark to your Saves list
Hotel Danmark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Modena, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average with a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed only one night while on a business trip, and found this place ok. What upgraded my review was the location, right in the centre of town, walking distance to the pedestrian area where you can find any type of restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    53
    27
    21
See reviews for
28
70
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location wise this hotel is perfect - right in the centre of Copenhagen, round the corner from the National Museum and close to Tivoli. Like other reviewers have said it's not the most modern hotel but is clean and the room had everything we wanted. However, DO NOT stay at this hotel on a Friday or Saturday night - the club round the corner plays music ridiculously loudly and only closes at 5am; neither my partner nor myself got any sleep during its opening hours. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and did try to find another room for us but the hotel was fully booked so we just had to put up with it. The lack of sleep did severely impact our otherwise lovely weekend break and we did feel slightly aggrieved that we didn't know about this before booking - it's obviously not something that a hotel would advertise but if we had known beforehand then we definitely would not have stayed there. Overall it's a huge shame as otherwise I would recommend this hotel without reservations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is not on the main road - noise from the road is fine but on a Friday/Saturd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually just go to the cafe here when I'm in Denmark.

I always have a Milchkaffe, which is milky coffee and ice. Refreshing =)

Would definitely recommend, great value for money.


The croissants are amazing too.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely stay here hotel wa6s pleasant. Free tea and coffee. free glass of wine between 5.00 and 6.00. Room fine although it could have been a bit brighter as the lights were a bit dark. Location was great

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,

thank you very much for your appreciated kind words about our staff and the services we offer.

We offer these as we want our guests to feel just like home.
If you visit us again, I will make sure you have light enough in your room. Please ask the reception of all needs, we will try our best to accommodate all of these for our amazing guests. Guests like you.

Merry Christmas.

Best regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The closer to the centre of Copenhagen, either the poorer the accommodation, or the more expensive.
To me this hotel was very close and sensibly priced (For Copenhagen), but the rooms were not tip top. They were ok, but a bit drab, a bit old, a bit run down.

However, it's a great location and I'd certainly choose it again even considering the room quality.
It was clean enough, and good enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi,

thank you for your kind words and thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate that you will choose us the next time you visit Copenhagen, and please try one of our double superior rooms. They are more modern in the looks and they might suit you better.

We all wish you a Merry Christmas.

Best regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilleleje, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Danmark offers great value for Money. Super friendly and professionel staff and service. Cosy rooms. The hotel is a bit run down, but you do not feel it because of the great atmospheare. And you do not find better location - opposite city hall, one minute to Tivoli and the National Museeum and two minutes to Strøget.

Room Tip: If you do not find it charming and fantastic with a bit of city sizzle, book a room facing the cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Malene,

thank you very much for your kind words about the things we try to do for our guests. Our goal is to make you feel just as home, and it is such a pleasure to read about the positive feed back from our wonderful guests.

You are more than welcome to stay with us any time, and if you need a good offer for the future, let me know and I will see what I can do.
paka@brochner-hotels.dk

Hope to see you soon.

Best and warm Christmas regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel Danmark couldn't be much better placed. Right in the middle of Copenhagen near the Town Hall but sufficiently away from Tivoli and the Station to be away from the noise. It's a small hotel, barely noticeable from the street but it's in a near pedestrianised street so it's calm and peaceful. Inside the lobby and bar area are warm and welcoming and every night between 5 and 6 they welcome you with free wine. And there's free coffee in the morning. All in all, downstairs is lovely. However, investment is needed upstairs where carpets are running riot, rippling and ripping and the rooms are getting a little worn out. Ours was cracking in the corners of the roof and the hot tap in the bath was jammed. Amusingly the TV was sat on a chair too. However, let's be clear, it was a little tired but it was impeccably clean, warm and tidy and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. TV had loads of channels, water was hot and the beds were comfy (though the pillows were hopeless!)

All in all I recommend this hotel as the slight scruffiness is reflected in its affordability (for Copenhagen)

Room Tip: It's all quiet both back and front but the front facing rooms see on to the town hall and to Tiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

First of all, thank you for your kind words about the staff and the small things we do for guests to make them feel more at home.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, even though there were few things that could need an uplift. We are aware of these small things, and hopefully it will soon be time for Hotel Danmark to experience a renovation in some parts of the hotel.

Free coffee and wine is something we want to offer our guests for being such nice and wonderful guests through out the year.

I hope to see you soon again, and please write me if you wish to come back. paka@brochner-hotels - Then I will take care of your requests with pillows and maybe a newer renovated room :)

Best regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danmark

Address: Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danmark 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location. And moreover it's cozy. Hotel Danmark is positioned between the City Hall Square and Denmark's National Museum with 127 steps to Tivoli and even shorter to the pedestrian street Stroget. The hotel is neither new nor streamlined and for this reason it has developed its own soul. Experience the classic Danish smorrebrod in restaurant Tivolihallen or enjoy an organic breakfast in our comfy patio when the weather allows it. And remember our wine hour between 5 and 6 PM where we are looking forward to invite you to a glass of wine. FACTS: 88 rooms Breakfast restaurant The Danish restaurant Tivolihallen Patio Free WiFi Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location close to the City Hall Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Danmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danmark Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.