We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - the rest is average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danmark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Danmark to your Saves list
Hotel Danmark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location - the rest is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel Danmark is just a few 100 meters from Tivoli and as close to "Strøget" for shopping. Also the airport bus 5A has a stop jus outside, which is nice.

Room are tiny and the standard is average. Nice bed though. Bathroom is very small, and the shower is a disaster leaving water pretty much everywhere in the room... Also no soap, shampoo etc included.

Free wifi in reception area, but only cabled internet in the room. Restaurant looked nice and cozy, but did not try it.

On this location you should except som noise from both traffic and nightlife.

Room Tip: A room facing the backyard is probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear wullumt from Norway,

I would like to thank you for your helpful review on your stay in Hotel Danmark.
I am sorry if you did not like the size of your room, but we do offer upgrades depending on availablity. Next time you are more than welcome to ask for a bigger room and we will do our best to provide you with this.

The bathrooms in the old Buildings of Copenhagen is some what smaller than average. You will find these bathrooms most Places in Copenhagen. But Again, we do offer bigger rooms with bigger bathrooms if you wish to upgrade. Soap for hair, body and hands is available in all our bathrooms.

As we are located very central, some noise can be expected from the vibrant streets and night life areas. Especially in the weekends. Unfortunately we cannot prevent this, but on the other hands, we feel that this is a Price worth paying when staying so central.

We do hope to see you Again, and please let us know if we can assist you to find a solution suitable for your needs.

Kind regards
Pardis K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    83
    64
    35
    28
See reviews for
32
93
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Hotel is very well situated. 1 min walk to the city hall, 5 min to Tivoli park and central station, and 5 min walk to Stroget.
Everything is nearby, we never used any transportation mean for our stay.
The staff is very lovely, the room we had was small but really enough. beds are confortable and the rooms are warm. The blankets are clean just as the room in teh overall !
The breakfast is not fancy but probably fair enough (breakfast is not very important meal for me so...).
You have free wifi at the lobby and free internet cable in the rooms (not everyone travels with a PC now)
So regarding all that and the price, i totaly recommand that place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardis K, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear lamia1234 from Morocco,

Hotel Danmark and I would like to thank you for your well appreciated review on your stay.

The location is prime and we are very proud of this. Especially because it gives our gets a easy stay where you can reach most sights by walk.
We also appreciate cleanliness as we wish to offer a homey feeling for you as a guest.

As for the size of the rooms we do offer different sizes so maybe you should try our Double Superior rooms for your NeXT stay? You are more than welcome to ask our helpful reception for an upgrade to bigger rooms with fairly bigger bathrooms.

We are aware of the challenge with the wired internet, and during these days our technicians are installing high speed WIFI throughout the hotels, which of course is complimentary for you in the near future.

In two weeks we are introducing our new and wonderful organic breakfast which will include 90% organic products. I hope you will try this, but we still have free coffee to go in the morning. :)

Let me know if I can do anything to offer you a more pleasent stay the NeXT time you visit us.

Kind regards
Pardis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The rooms are SO SMALL that the bed head touched one wall and the foot of the bed touched the opposite wall. It was impossible to walk around the bed, you had to climb over the bed to get to the other side. It was as small as a cupboard. The bed itself was tiny for a double and uncomfortable.
Also when we asked when we had to order a cab to get to the airport, we were advised to leave 1.5 hours. We did this and no cab turned up. We kept going back to the reception and they just dismissed us with the excuse that as it was raining, they could not get a cab. We nearly missed our flight and if it had not been for my husband standing in front of a passing cab until it stopped, we would definitely have missed the flight. They were completely disinterested.
Our valuables were not kept in a safe deposit box but in an envelope next to the reception in an open drawer.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

First off this hotel is literally just a block from city hall and several other landmarks which is very convenient. Unfortunately that's about where the benefits end. I can't speak for all of the rooms, but the one we had was shaped like a slice of pie and was about the same size. there was simply no room at all to the point that we were using the windowsill to store items. The bed was uncomfortable, the decor dated and worn and there was a constant smell of mildew. if you just need somewhere to crash for a night, this hotel will be fine but do not expect much of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel greets you with a reasonably clean and efficient lobby. However, in heading up to the rooms - we have a classic elevator in stair setup where the elevator is tiny and slow.

Traveling solo, I was provided with a single room, containing a single bed and a fairly tight water closet of a bathroom. The decor is dated, and worn. The sink fixture has cracks and the mounting is rusting through. The carpet is older and worn.

The bathroom is as stated, a closet of a room. The shower is separated off by a hinged board to block water from ending up in the sink and a shower curtain to avoid water ending up on the toilet. Inconveniently, the soap dispenser is by the sink, so getting at it during the shower either means leaving the hinged board closed or reaching around it for the soap. The towel hooks are on this hinged board, which must be moved if leaving it open of course. And it was not obvious to me at first to even pull out this board in the first place.
Inconveniently, the shower gel is by the sink, which is around the board (if opened) - so showering becomes a chore of reaching around the board for more gel.
Additionally, the drain is simply in the floor, so keep the bathmat off the ground until you really want it (post-shower) or else it'll become a sodden mess.

As to sleeping, a couple of points:

- The hotel location being near City Hall means there are bells ringing every half hour and hour during the day. It seems to stop at around midnight and resume at 8am.
- You will hear Tivoli fireworks at night
- The doors and walls are thin. I was woken up by revelers giggling and whispering during their return at 4am
- City noise seeps in at night, so moving of carts and containers over the brickwork is loud at 5-6am
- My mattress is older and not even in support any more
- I never got a full night sleep without much assistance from alcohol

Overall, if you don't mind dorm living, this is a fine choice. I suffered through the trip, but had to bail out after two weeks. Lack of sleep while trying to do business do not mix well.

Room Tip: Try and aim for the back side of the hotel to possibly be quieter instead of the front which is towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had to get a hotelroom for me and 2 kids in 2 days, and this hotel looked OK and the price was not a robbery.

Great location, by Ströget, the pedestrian shopping street, and Tivoli etc.

Our room was a standard room, just above the reception, which meant that WLAN/WiFi worked in the room. Otherwise they have only ethernet in rooms. What a curious decision considering the price of wireles AP:s

I booked for me and two kids, which meant a standard room with an extra bed. The room was nice but after inserting the extra bed, there was no room for walking between the beds (Well, 10 cm).

This must have been the old part, since the WC/shower was rather pathetic. The slope in the WC/shower was non-existing, with imaginable results and the shower was built in in an amateurish way.

The service was OK. Everybody in the reception were nice and the breakfast had everything to last for half a day.

Car park wasn't cheap. I didn't ask for the price, and was negatively surprised afterwards. They have a few spaces in the inner yard, and a car elevator to take the car down in the cellar. With a medium sized car, you need assistance, since after driving the car in the elevator, you can't get out of it to open the elevators doors. That's not a problem however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good Value for money in Copenhagen! Great location nearby the central station, Tivoli and Strøket. Decent size on the room, even though the bathroom was very small. The inventory was OK, even though the carpet was a bit old, and the bathroom needed some upgrade. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Main drawback: It wasn't a proper cabinet for the shower so the entire bathroom got flooded every time you used it. Still not a big issue compared to the positives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danmark

Address: Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danmark 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location. And moreover it's cozy. Hotel Danmark is positioned between the City Hall Square and Denmark's National Museum with 127 steps to Tivoli and even shorter to the pedestrian street Stroget. The hotel is neither new nor streamlined and for this reason it has developed its own soul. Experience the classic Danish smorrebrod in restaurant Tivolihallen or enjoy an organic breakfast in our comfy patio when the weather allows it. And remember our wine hour between 5 and 6 PM where we are looking forward to invite you to a glass of wine. FACTS: 88 rooms Breakfast restaurant The Danish restaurant Tivolihallen Patio Free WiFi Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location close to the City Hall Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Danmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danmark Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.