We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay only if you have to. Copenhagen must have better Hotels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danmark

Save Saved
You added Hotel Danmark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Danmark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay only if you have to. Copenhagen must have better Hotels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is rated as 3 star . It is old with a reception and breakfast area virtually as one . The lift is an original holding two at at time. The basic bedroom are small with the bathroom adequate for one person. The bathroom has a dangerous toe catching high lip which is to stop the shower water entering the bedroom .
The Hotel is listed as near the railway station but two busy roads have to be crossed .
The staff are of two types. One girl was excellent and polite the other was a proper madam who thought service was not her priority.
There was an old safe in the bed room but with no available keys.The offer of putting things in an unlocked drawer at reception was the only option given. The flat key lock on the bedroom door was basic and appeared to be a security risk.
The Hotel was full the 3 days we stayed . Buffet Breakfast at euro 15 per person was excessive.
The Hotel is convenient to the town centre and local attractions.
Copenhagen is a lovely must see city but I would avoid Hotel Danmark until they put service back on their menu.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel would be noisy. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not feel welcomed by one of the receptionists. A high standard service at our cosy, homey hotel is what we are known for and want to be known for, so the situation you mention is naturally not okay for any of us. However, I am glad you mention this, so we can continue to improve and not rest on our laurels.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Danmark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    179
    172
    80
    59
See reviews for
63
139
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Perfect location easy walking distance to everything,room was clean,breakfast was lovely plenty of choice.Ok now the not so good bit !!! Wine hour 5pm-6pm is perfect if you like red wine no white unless you buy it, twice we asked about this and got told only red.In the Lobby tea and coffee is free between10am-11am this is OK if you can get some before the mad rush,on a good note they do have cups to go but like I said if any left.The shower is about crazy as the water makes a 2inch deep puddle in the bathroom so try showering in the bath. We arrived at 10am in the morning and had a 4 hour wait for are room we did notice on the last day that some people got their room early ?????.apart from these little bits all in all we enjoyed are stay and would come again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay! Check-in is always from 2 pm. However, if your room is available, we of course let you check in as soon as possible. And no extra charges added; this is the least we can do :-)

I hope to see you back at Hotel Danmark!


Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Danmark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in Hotel Danmark in Copenhaguen. The best: The location!! 100m far from Tivoli gardens and the city center. The worst: The shower...as many previous guests reported, the shower it's just a hole on the ground and simple a curtain. Take care with the flooding...The rooms were very decent (excepting the shower) and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Just a footnote...when we arrive they told us that there was a mistake in the reservation and there was no double room available...that night we slept in the conference room, a place designed to cellebrate meetings, conferences,...with suprisinly one double bed, haha
Good choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a good stay at our little city hotel. I hope you liked "the penthouse" ;-) As one of the few, you can actually now say you have slept in the room with the best view over the city rooftops! I am sorry about the mistake with the room, but I hope you liked our last minute alternative.

Kind regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Danmark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our bedroom faced the front on the 3rd floor of the old building, adjacent to the main block. This part is in dire need of refurbishment and we knew that as we were looking for a budget friendly hotel. Its old, faded almost shabby gentility might put many people off from the start but it must be given a proper chance as it has a lot going for it. Excellent housekeeping keeps the place ticking. The bedroom and everywhere else were immaculately clean. A super king size bed was very comfortable and everything in bedroom and bathroom functioning. And, It was quiet! Breakfast buffet was also excellent; plentiful, wide and fresh choice. Staff were professional, friendly and efficient. Prices charged here right in the centre of Copenhagen and within walking distance of anywhere in the city were most inviting. The only snag was that a slow leak from the wet room into the bedroom carpet showed a large damp patch on the carpet and a slight musty smell that worried me. But given the chance I would certainly return and try another bedroom.

Room Tip: Just try and request a different room if not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words! I contacted our nice Housekeeping Manager right away and passed on your praises on the daily housekeeping :-) I have also informed her and our technicians about the leak in the wet room so that we can have this fixed right away. Thank you for mentioning this!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Danmark.


Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Danmark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We got a room through a deal so for the price we paid I was very pleasantly It's right in the centre of Copenhagen within walking distance of everything there is , The lobby is very cosy, The room was a bit small, but clean. Very old The breakfast was lovely! Alot to choos from! Tge staff was also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stine J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Danmark, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our organic / fair trade breakfast buffet! I would love to know what we can do to make you feel that this IS the best hotel :-) I hope you registerred your e-mail at check-in so you have received our guest saitsfaction survey by know and have explained this here :-)

Best regards,
Stine Jørgensen / Hotel Danmark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleppe, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights a group of 16. Old hotel with a tiny slow elevator. The rooms were clean and ours were ok in size. The bathroom was on the smaller side. We had a room to the street on the first floor, but was not disturbed during the night by traffic or other noices. The Wifi functioned ok, but we had only logon for one computer/phone/pad. The breakfast was nice. The staff was friendly. The price per night was nice. Would consider to stay here again when returning to Copenhagen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Slow but friendly service (reception). Nice points: free coffee for guests in the lobby. And a wine hour in the early evening – free wine for guests.
Nice breakfast, just normal coffee (no cappuccino etc.), friendly breakfast staff. Not enough buns. And you have to cut the bread by yourself. Would have been easier to swallow if the breakfast had been included in the price of our room. But as an extra, it’s a very expensive breakfast – in a very expensive city.
Room (606): Old style. Strange bathroom – interesting plumbing e.g. the sink drained directly into a floor drain. Plastic cups. The shower head didn’t work above a certain height because the hose was bent too much (pinched off the water supply), so my tall boyfriend (183 cm) had trouble showering properly. We had an adjoining door and the noise from the adjoining room was extremely loud. This went with the theme of noise: street noise and noise (screaming etc.) from the Tivoli amusement park was intense and almost non-stop. Our room was on the top floor, street side – so avoid this if quiet is important to you. The windows did not close properly. And when we told the hotel about this, they fixed one window but not the other. There were no proper blinds, but just light curtains. There was a safe in the room – old-fashioned style requiring a key. When we asked for the key, we were told it had gone missing, and that having a (usable) safe in the room was a ‘bonus’ and not a ‘guarantee.’ The lamps and TV were all hooked up to switches, and we seemed to try five different combinations of on-off before getting a lamp to turn on. And two of the bulbs were in fact burned out. The hotel did manage to successfully replace them. The elevator was far too small for the number of guests and all their luggage. (Two people plus a suitcase can fit – for a hotel with seven floors. Line-ups at check-in/out times.) Good point about the room: comfortable mattress with comfy blankets and pillows.

Room Tip: Our room was extremely noisy as mentioned above, but a guest I talked to had a room on the inner-cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danmark

Address: Vester VoldGade 89, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danmark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location. And moreover it's cozy. Hotel Danmark is positioned between the City Hall Square and Denmark's National Museum with 127 steps to Tivoli and even shorter to the pedestrian street Stroget. The hotel is neither new nor streamlined and for this reason it has developed its own soul. Experience the classic Danish smorrebrod in restaurant Tivolihallen or enjoy an organic breakfast in our comfy patio when the weather allows it. And remember our wine hour between 5 and 6 PM where we are looking forward to invite you to a glass of wine. FACTS: 88 rooms Breakfast restaurant The Danish restaurant Tivolihallen Patio Free WiFi Wine Hour between 5 and 6 PM Business facilities Bike rentals A unique location close to the City Hall Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Danmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danmark Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.