We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Christian IV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Christian IV

Save Saved
You added Hotel Christian IV to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Christian IV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr. Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Christian IV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Location is very good. You can walk throughout all the center of Copenhagen and not need any taxi or buses. Restaurant is beautiful and the breakfast is good. Large bathroom with accessible shower. Beds really comfortable. Stuff friendly and all speak good English. Can recommend it!

Room Tip: Very small elevator ;)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    131
    42
    20
    4
See reviews for
36
101
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great little hotel in a perfect location in central Copenhagen. I Have stayed here on several occasions, and it has never let me down. Impeccable service, clean rooms and nice breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I had booked the economy room and like others said it was small. However it was clean and the beds were comfortable. You can pay and get a bigger room so really it is up to you to decide. Breakfast was fine and there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff are lovely and very informative. Location is fantastic. I can't see what else you need for a city break when you are only in the room to sleep and shower!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2012 . The rooms are basic but clean, although a little dated. The room doors are not great in keeping out the noise and the floorboards are creaky. Bathroom was tidy and clean. All in all it was ok for the price considering there are many more expensive options available in an expensive city. The location is good. The staff are friendly and breakfast is good. If you want a base for exploring then book here but don't expect luxury.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were extremely disapointed with aspects of the Hotel Christian IV.

The room on the first floor was probably the size of a prison cell and we literally couldn't walk around the bed. There was a tiny table for papers/belongings and the smallest bin I have ever seen. The power supplies were located in strange positions and the lighting was very dull (one bulb didn't work and there was no 'main' light). The bathroom was ok, nearly the same size as the bedroom but the shower was feeble despite looking ok and being in a wet room of sorts.

The main complaint we had was the noisy neighbours. They were blaring 90s Euro dance music from there rooms most of the evening and running down the tiny corridor, banging doors all night. I honestly wanted to punch them (I think a night in the cells would've given me a better night's sleep). Despite complaining to the reception staff, nothing was really done about it and we suffered exactly the same on night 2.

The breakfast lounge was very good and the buffet delicious with a great choice. The hotel is also located in a great spot, just near to Rosenborg Slot and a 10 minute walk into the town centre. Overall though, we found that the Hotel Christian IV in Copenhagen was very disappointing and wouldn't really recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianIV, General Manager at Hotel Christian IV, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Rich G,
I am terribly sorry that some of the aspects of your stay at Hotel Christian IV, did not live up to your expectations. However, we are pleased that you write some positive remarks about other aspects of our service. We admit, that our small double rooms are not largest and that they are best suited for a short stay.
With regards to the noise from other guests, I am terribly sorry that you had to endure this. We were fully booked the first two days of your stay and therefore we were unable to move you to a different room. I know, however, that you were offered a different and larger room the last day of your stay. However, it does not appear that you moved rooms during your stay. I am almost certain you would have had a better experience in one of our standard double rooms.
We do not have your personal e-mail adress in our system, but you are welcome to write me personally if you want to discuss further: Write to reception@hotelchristianiv.dk, ATT: Kasper Jorgensen.
I thank you for giving us valuable feedback on our hotel. I trust that we will be able to give you a better service in the future, should we be so lucky as to have you as our guest again.
Sincerely,
Kasper Jorgensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this perfectly located hotel for 4 nights in November 2012. We have stayed at many hotels in Copenhagen and this was a surprisingly positive experience as we did not expect much before we left. Comfortable room, clean, neet and bright. Extremely helpful and nice staff. Excellent service. As my husband had his birthday while we stayed there the hotel surprised us with greetings and gifts. Breakfast was great, good selection of bread and pastries, boiled eggs, fruit, cerials, juice, tea and good coffee. Five minutes walk to the main pedestrian street Strøget. Lot of nice restaurants in the vicinity and just a few steps to Rosenborg Castle and the King's Garden. This wonderful hotel has everything you need; cleanliness, good service, helpful staff, great location, good breakfast and excellent value for money. We will definately stay there nex time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in August and then again in September, 2012. The location is very good. Left out the door about 100 yards is Rosenborg, the park and the 'castle' in which the crown jewels of Denmark are kept (and you can visit). The park itself is a lot of fun, especially when it is quite sunny and hot (OK, fairly rare in Copenhagen but...) as the sunbathers come out like spring flowers (cover the eyes of the children, Lucille!). Right out the door and a few easy walking blocks, you come to Kongens Nytorv, a central hub place of the city and entry to Nyhavn and the walking streets complex. We were on the top floor, a room with two single beds each time, roomy enough, simple fixtures, clean and neat, with a large window. The bathroom was not spacious but totally functional and fine. One understands that hotels in Europe and DK notably, can run up the price of any vacation quite rapidly: so one needs to ask, what is important? Here, the beds are comfortable, it was clean and neat, the TV worked. Breakfast was extensive even featuring Danish sweet rolls (which normally appear on tables in homes only at lunch or afternoons with coffee) and then a running a coffee service through the day with sweet rolls, fruit and cookies. The Danes, like the Dutch, are - in my opinion - not really cut out for being hoteliers, so to be honest, my expectations are basic when here: cleanliness, comfort, quiet, suitable breakfast, nice and helpful staff. These are all met at the Christian IV.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christian IV

Address: Dr. Tvaergade 45, Copenhagen 1302, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christian IV 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel in the heart of Copenhagen. If location and a quiet nights sleep is important to you, you have found the right place. Hotel Christian IV is in close proximity to most all major cultural sights in Copenhagen. Only a 5 min walk from "Nyhavn's" many restaurants and "Stroeget's" great shopping. The cultural sights "Rosenborg Castle" and "Amalienborg Castle" is less than 10 min away on foot.The hotel is quietly located steps away from the lush green park - "Kings Garden." The hotel has 42 well equipped rooms with modern Scandinavian decor. Enjoy Free Wifi, Free Coffee, tea and biscuits throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christian Iv Hotel
Christian Iv Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Christian IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.