We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic comforts without the price tag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TordenskjoldsGade 15, Copenhagen 1055, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic comforts without the price tag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night only prior to cruising the Baltic Sea. Booked directly online after Trip Advisor review. A comfortable hotel. The room was basic but for only one night it provided everything we needed. We requested non smoking and quiet and got both. The beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast had a good selection. The location was very good. In walking distance to shopping, restaurants and many tourist sights. I would stay there again. It is worth considering if you are wanting basic comforts without a huge price tag.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and you will have one at the back of the hotel away from traffic, although it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    177
    134
    37
    18
See reviews for
49
164
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel has a very nice location in Copenhagen. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very nice.
However the Hotel is in need of an update. We had a superior room which was nice, but with very old furniture which have seen better days. It is too bad that the owners of the hotel does not see the need of restoring this nice hotel- On our next visit to Copenhagen we shall choose a different hote-l

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel because there is a lot of noise in the street in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A nice hotel that may have seen better days. It is a little worn, but it feels really good considering the price. You simply have a hotele with friendly staff, ok breakfast, but a perfect location. State is clearly the hotel's best strength. You can safely park their cars (free after 5 pm on Saturday) and walk around the sights. Located 2 min from Nyhamn and 5 min of Strøget. I recommend this hotel to those who do not want to pay too much and live in the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our room was tiny; we could hardly open our suitcase. And dark. It's a tired place , overpriced, with grouchy reception. We regret staying here and wish we had taken our other choice a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: Do they have good rooms? Ours was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here two nights before a cruise and for one night after it. The hotel was very central and the staff were very helpful. It made for a wonderful beginning and end to our cruise. Breakfast was self service and there was lots of choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. I choose it because it was supposed to have soft beds, which it had, so I was very pleased with that! It was also at a perfect location near Nyhavn and Custom House where I have my art exhibition this month. It takes only a two-minute walk to get to Nyhavn and a 5-minute walk to reach Ströget.
We got a room facing the inner garden and slept with our window totally open which was necessary even if it was about 18 degrees daytime and 15 degrees night time.

Yes, the room was small (11sqm) but as we weren't supposed to spend much time on the room it didn't matter.

The breakfast also included salad which was highly appreciated by my fiancee. There was a good selection of various things to eat for breakfast. Loved the orange juice!

There were no problems getting a parking space outside of the hotel. It costed 20 DKK daytime and 3 DKK 23-07 at night.

If we go to Copenhagen again and can afford the €135 we paid, then we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was big enough for the both of us, but two people was max. It was clean, but don't look under the bed... Nice and helpful staff. Pleasant and quiet hotel, lying next to Nyhavn and Strøget. We spent three nights there, and the price was fair!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: TordenskjoldsGade 15, Copenhagen 1055, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Opera - A charming English inspired hotel. Among the linden trees on a peaceful side street to Kongens Nytorv lies the 3 star Hotel Opera whose neighbors include the Royal Theatre and the vibrant Nyhavn. Hotel Opera is just a 2-minute walk from buses, the metro and all the shopping possibilities on the pedestrian street, Strøget. The hotel's 91 stylish rooms are individually and classically decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.