We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better than it is...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   VesterbroGade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Should be better than it is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In Sweden (Stockholm), Grand Hotel country's best hotel.
That is not the case in Copenhagen ...
I got the impression that Grand once was the city's best hotel but it must have been a century ago, and the hotel has become much poorer as the years passed by.
When you see the pompous pictures on the website so you can see the Grand Hotel Copenhagen could be so very much better than what it is today ...

Location: Perfectly okay, near the Central Station (unfortunately there is no Metro Station where yet)
Tivoli, Strøget, Town Hall Square (Radhuspladsen), but also close to the more shabby quarters at street Istedgade and Straw Square (Halmtorvet). These streets can be avoided if you stay at the Grand Hotel.
Is also within a short walk to other neighborhoods such as Christianshavn or Norrebro..

Wi-Fi: Works in public areas of the hotel. At the hotel I had no contact with either my iPad or Samsung Galaxy smartphone.
(According to the website it will be Wi-Fi function in all rooms)

Standard: We got a room with single beds that did not look like the pictures on the hotel's website, where the room as was elongated and extremely tight bathroom, It was so tight in there that I think an overweight person would actually have trouble going to the bathroom.
View from the room was towards the back yard and not much use.
The room was quite due this is a central part of the city of Copenhagen.
I can not say if the hotel-staff was serviceminded or not, we only had to do with them when we check in to the hotel.

The breakfast was not prepaid and Copenhagen is an expensive city, which is also reflected in the price of the breakfast.

Either way, the Grand is often (but not always) an affordable hotel, some euros more per night when compared to the hotels down on Istedgade and Grand Hotel hold a much better standard.
Travel with children or simply want to avoid the little more shabby quarters in Copenhagen and find a good price on this hotel - I recomend it.

Room Tip: If Wi-Fi is important, ask for a room where there are guaranteed to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear swedish traveller
I agree, Grand Copenhagen is not like Grand Stockholm. It is a younger brother at a fair price as you say. I hope other readers of your review read it all the way through because you have many valid comments about the area and price. My only wish was that you might had contacted the reception if you wanted another type of room with another view.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    138
    175
    92
    34
See reviews for
42
155
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very traditional hotel from the architecture to the hotel staff, it is like it was when it first opened. Love the tiny rooms with views of the street where you can stand and see Copenhagen in motion. The interior decoration is classic of the kind you might see in Paris. The staff is very professional and efficient. These guys here more so than at other hotels. It seems they might have done a proper apprenticeship. I would come back to this place. Also the price was ok. Around 130 euros. The bed was a bit soft though but I think this might often be the case in Denmark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for a fantastic review. I will make sure the staff reads your friendly comments. They have been with the hotel for 10-15-20 years and see the hotel as their second home. A good starting point for making guests feel at home.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for two nights in March while in Copenhagen on business. The hotel is very conveniently located right next to the railway station and the centre of the city along with its attractions, restaurants and nighlife. The days of being "Grand" are in the past though, the hotel could use a bit of a facelift. That being said the price was quite reasonable for central Copehangen so the value is OK overall. The room was small (single standard room) and a bit stuffy and the room temperatue control was tricky business on cold winter nights. I did not try the breakfast or dinner offerings at the restaurant Frascati so cannot comment on those. Service at the front desk was friendly, courteous and quick.

Overall not my first choice for central Copenhagen accommodation but will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for an honest review and statement of Value for Money which is very important for us when you come to stay in Central Copenhagen. Hope you will try our breakfast next time. Hope you will visit us again - stay in touch for good deals and Value for Money.
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is very outdated. The shower head fell off nearly hit my head. Bath the room and bath room are small. Two beds put together as a single bed. Only one good thing is the location. Hotel staff are friendly. In North America standard, it is a one to two star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Canadian traveller
After giving credit for friendly staff and perfect location I think it is very harsh to only give rating 1. Of course I understand that the shower head should have been properly fixed after cleaning and I apologize, but the rating should also be compared to price and overall feeling of the hotel. I would like to prove that we are better than rating 1.
All the best,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Grand is centrally located just a few minutes away from the central station. It's old fashioned and the rooms are worn and interior outdated. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpfull and service minded. The USP is the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Friendly staff and perfect location. Thank you. We will keep the charming looks but naturally continue to replace outdated furniture. I hope you agree that you received value for money.
br
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location on Vesterbrogade, close to Central station and a stone throw away from Tivoli. This makes it attractive but unfortunately for me its the worse hotel in the ARP Hansen chain. I prefer The Square, The Imperial, 71 Nyhavn, Tivoli and even Copenhagen Island Hotel.
The reason is the rooms. They are too small, have old furniture, small bathrooms and showers and the general decor of the rooms could do with changing.
They are clean and the beds are comfortable it is just the limitation of such an old building.
The positive side for me is that breakfast is included (and a nice breakfast it is).
They have great friendly staff.
The restaurant Frascati is my favorite Italian in Copenhagen and I enjoy eating dinner here. (In fact I would say its one of the best restaurants in the ARP Hansen hotels).
Internet is painfully slow and intermittent (that needs improving) and there is no mini-bar (not that i use them).
So Average Hotel, Great Restaurant, Good Breakfast, Great Location, Tired Rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear UK-traveller
I rellay like your summary in the end. I hope you would also agree that the price is good. And it's very nice to hear you are such a loyal guest with in the Arp-Hansen Hotel Group. I hope you have signed up for our Loyalty Programme so you recieve free nights.
Welcome back to Copenhagen,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was once a very beautiful and luxurious hotel, but is now very dated, and needs some serious investment.
The bathroom was a wet room, but the shower curtain gave little room in which to shower.
The windowsill was rotten and in danger of coming away from the wall. The window frame was also rotten.
The hotel is close to the central station, and hence quite noisy during the night.
The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes.
The room was quite small.
The restaurant was excellent, with a quality of Italian food rarely found outside Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egefjord, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Chris
Grand Hotel is indeed one of the old charming hotels in Copenhagen. But it seems that you did not recieve a very good room. Our hotel has many different rooms suiting every need of a modern traveller. I would have wished you had told the front desk so we could have found another room.
Safe travel,
Jep Friis Egefjord, GM, Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: VesterbroGade 9, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.