We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Copenhagen to your Saves list
Phoenix Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I started in Copenhagen on a two week vacation and chose the Phoenix for a three day stay. The hotel is older, but in a charming, positive way as the decor and furniture is something out of an older living room. The rooms aren't huge, but offer enough room for two large suitcases. The beds were also fine and the room was clean however the shower may be difficult to use if you have mobility issues. Breakfast was also very good and provided the ability to really fill up for the day. Our only real gripe was that our air conditioning didn't work and we were visiting during a hot streak (over 80 degrees F), which is pretty unusual for Copenhagen. As a result, sleeping was very unpleasant and even though the temperature dropped to 60 degrees outside at night, our room remained at 80 degrees. Other than that, the staff is friendly and the hotel is nice and in a great location. I would likely return, providing I was guaranteed a room with adequate air conditioning. Copenhagen doesn't seem to be a city known for its hotels, but I would still say that the Phoenix is a good place to stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for review of Phoenix Copenhagen this month. We are glad to hear that everything during visit was nice except the air-conditioning. As you mentioned the historic hot streak in Copenhagen has been almost un human. Copenhagen is close to the ocean which makes it mostly windy all the time. We are sorry that this was not the case during your visit and the air-conditioning was not working properly. We hope to have you staying with us in the future and hopefully the temperature will not be too hot.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    291
    161
    65
    33
See reviews for
71
221
43
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a one night stop at Phoenix Copenhagen hotel.
We stayed in an Executive Room facing the backyard, the room and bathroom was spacious. Nice soft beds and very good sleeping quality.
The location is one of the best in Copenhagen, at least summertime, minutes away from Nyhavn and a 5 minutes’ walk away from Ströget, it is also close to a lot of nice restaurants
All employees we came in contact was very friendly and helpful and I can definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I can recommend the executive rooms facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for a 5-svar rating after end stay this month. We are glad to hear that you had a good sleep in your Double Executive room located to our inner court yard. Furthermore we appreciate your positive comments on our excellent staff and the down town location of Phoenix Copenhagen.

We are looking forward to your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had low expectations about the hotel after reading reviews that it was shabby. Well, those looking for complete luxury should go to D'Angletere -- recently renovated and probably above any other hotel in the city, but then the price would be different. Phoenix is very conveniently located close to the main shopping street, near many restaurants, and the main attractions. If you turn left, within half a kilometer is the main square where the guards change and one of the biggest churches, and another kilometer or so a nice park close to the mermaid. If you go right from the hotel, there is the Nytorv with all the attractions.

Phoenix is traditionally-designed, no frills 4-star hotel, dated grandeur style (non-Ikea) interior. My room (for two adults and a kid), was on second floor, was of reasonable size and quality. Beds were a little too soft for my liking. The mini-bar was not cooling very well, but nothing critical. Bathroom was functioning, cold and hot water was running fine. Perfectly capable of having a shower in the mornings. Wifi was free and fuctioning well. I watched the world soccer cup on the LG flat-screen TV -- was ok, but the list of TV channels was not extensive.

Breakfast was also no-frills but had all the usual things -- orange juice (not freshly squeezed), 2-3 other juices, 2-3 choices of cheese, 2-3 choices of ham and sausages, eggs, tea, coffee, fruit salad, good choice of bread and pastries (again not as sophisticatd as in Anletere, no champagne at breakfast).

People compain it has no air-conditioning. I am not sure you need one in Copenhagen. This is not Dubai.

Overall, if you are not looking for 5-star experience, fancy spa or gym facilities and want a reasonable place to spend a couple of nights in Copenhagen for a non-exhorbitant price, I would think this is a good choice of a hotel in central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after family stay this month. We are glad to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen suitable for your stay in Copenhagen and we hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is of course very good; you're just a minute walk from Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. I like the old building with its slightly crooked stairways and chandeliers. Feels warm and inviting! Did not have any breakfast/other meals, so cannot comment on the food. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, I found them to be very attentive.
I have stayed here once before, and then I had a room on the fourth floor. There it was only one, tiny window, so was delighted to see that our room this time, 1105, had a big one, that opened all the way! Tall ceiling, which I love. Cosy room!
So this was my second time here; it's very fitting for a weekend, but I'm not sure I'd stay here if I were to stay for, say, a week. But I do like it!

Room Tip: Stayed in 1105 - Nice because the window opens to the terrace/courtyard in the middle, so it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review of stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are proud to experience that this is your second stay with us and we are glad that you like the interior style, our great staff and room given. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen for your third visit in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel's location, general appearance and breakfast are good, but the hotel is a little shabby... the bedroom and lobby upholstery looks worn and dirty, it really needs a redo... the only other complaint that I have is the placement of 2 bottles of water on top of the in-room refrigerator - they clearly are marked as each costing 30 Danish Kroner (the equivalent of $5.50 U.S. each) - it just seemed that the hotel could have provided 2 bottles of water gratis each day for the occupant. It seemed a basic service, and petty not to provide it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review of your stay earlier this month. We are glad to hear that you liked our location and our breakfast. The waters and our red wine with price tags standing in our guest rooms are optional and can be bought if our guest like to. Many of our guests appreciate this offer but we are so sorry if this was not appreciated.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is within easy walking distance of an underground station, canal boat tours and most of the tourist attractions in Copenhagen.
Our initial room,1122, had a wide range of small defects, most of which were rectified within a day, but had completely ineffectual air conditioning, which the staff blamed on its very high ceiling. After an unpleasantly hot and sticky night, we changed to a room on the 4th floor which was comfortable and pleasant with functional air conditioning.
The baths in both rooms were very cramped.
The staff were always helpful an pleasant.
The lobby is beautiful with large mirrors facing each other, gorgeous chandeliers and a fountain.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the first floor, the high ceilings compromise heating and airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay earlier this month. We are sorry to hear that you had to change your room due to maintenance errors but at the same time we are glad to hear that you liked the service from our staff provided and your new room. For your next stay in Copenhagen we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect if you want a relatively inexpensive hotel in the best possible location close to Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. The front office people are just wonderful and very happy to help you with any questions you may have. The reception are is beautiful, but the rooms very small and a bit run down. However, they are still clean and fully functional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. It's nice to read that you liked our location and the service provided during your stay. For your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen please do not hesitate to contact us for informations about rooms types and sizes so room type preferred will be provided.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#24 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story Hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.