We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid place to stay when in Copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Phoenix Copenhagen to your Saves list
Phoenix Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good, solid place to stay when in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had low expectations about the hotel after reading reviews that it was shabby. Well, those looking for complete luxury should go to D'Angletere -- recently renovated and probably above any other hotel in the city, but then the price would be different. Phoenix is very conveniently located close to the main shopping street, near many restaurants, and the main attractions. If you turn left, within half a kilometer is the main square where the guards change and one of the biggest churches, and another kilometer or so a nice park close to the mermaid. If you go right from the hotel, there is the Nytorv with all the attractions.

Phoenix is traditionally-designed, no frills 4-star hotel, dated grandeur style (non-Ikea) interior. My room (for two adults and a kid), was on second floor, was of reasonable size and quality. Beds were a little too soft for my liking. The mini-bar was not cooling very well, but nothing critical. Bathroom was functioning, cold and hot water was running fine. Perfectly capable of having a shower in the mornings. Wifi was free and fuctioning well. I watched the world soccer cup on the LG flat-screen TV -- was ok, but the list of TV channels was not extensive.

Breakfast was also no-frills but had all the usual things -- orange juice (not freshly squeezed), 2-3 other juices, 2-3 choices of cheese, 2-3 choices of ham and sausages, eggs, tea, coffee, fruit salad, good choice of bread and pastries (again not as sophisticatd as in Anletere, no champagne at breakfast).

People compain it has no air-conditioning. I am not sure you need one in Copenhagen. This is not Dubai.

Overall, if you are not looking for 5-star experience, fancy spa or gym facilities and want a reasonable place to spend a couple of nights in Copenhagen for a non-exhorbitant price, I would think this is a good choice of a hotel in central Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after family stay this month. We are glad to hear that you found Phoenix Copenhagen suitable for your stay in Copenhagen and we hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    244
    134
    53
    26
See reviews for
52
184
39
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is of course very good; you're just a minute walk from Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. I like the old building with its slightly crooked stairways and chandeliers. Feels warm and inviting! Did not have any breakfast/other meals, so cannot comment on the food. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, I found them to be very attentive.
I have stayed here once before, and then I had a room on the fourth floor. There it was only one, tiny window, so was delighted to see that our room this time, 1105, had a big one, that opened all the way! Tall ceiling, which I love. Cosy room!
So this was my second time here; it's very fitting for a weekend, but I'm not sure I'd stay here if I were to stay for, say, a week. But I do like it!

Room Tip: Stayed in 1105 - Nice because the window opens to the terrace/courtyard in the middle, so it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review of stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are proud to experience that this is your second stay with us and we are glad that you like the interior style, our great staff and room given. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen for your third visit in the nearest future.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel's location, general appearance and breakfast are good, but the hotel is a little shabby... the bedroom and lobby upholstery looks worn and dirty, it really needs a redo... the only other complaint that I have is the placement of 2 bottles of water on top of the in-room refrigerator - they clearly are marked as each costing 30 Danish Kroner (the equivalent of $5.50 U.S. each) - it just seemed that the hotel could have provided 2 bottles of water gratis each day for the occupant. It seemed a basic service, and petty not to provide it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your review of your stay earlier this month. We are glad to hear that you liked our location and our breakfast. The waters and our red wine with price tags standing in our guest rooms are optional and can be bought if our guest like to. Many of our guests appreciate this offer but we are so sorry if this was not appreciated.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is within easy walking distance of an underground station, canal boat tours and most of the tourist attractions in Copenhagen.
Our initial room,1122, had a wide range of small defects, most of which were rectified within a day, but had completely ineffectual air conditioning, which the staff blamed on its very high ceiling. After an unpleasantly hot and sticky night, we changed to a room on the 4th floor which was comfortable and pleasant with functional air conditioning.
The baths in both rooms were very cramped.
The staff were always helpful an pleasant.
The lobby is beautiful with large mirrors facing each other, gorgeous chandeliers and a fountain.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the first floor, the high ceilings compromise heating and airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay earlier this month. We are sorry to hear that you had to change your room due to maintenance errors but at the same time we are glad to hear that you liked the service from our staff provided and your new room. For your next stay in Copenhagen we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Phoenix Copenhagen.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect if you want a relatively inexpensive hotel in the best possible location close to Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. The front office people are just wonderful and very happy to help you with any questions you may have. The reception are is beautiful, but the rooms very small and a bit run down. However, they are still clean and fully functional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay at Phoenix Copenhagen this month. It's nice to read that you liked our location and the service provided during your stay. For your next visit at Phoenix Copenhagen please do not hesitate to contact us for informations about rooms types and sizes so room type preferred will be provided.

Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed here for one night only and the location cannot be faulted . Walking near everything you need to see, and we could even walk to our cruise ship about 15 minutes pleasant stroll away (depends on the berth )
But I don't think I would stay here again . The floor we were on smelt heavily of disinfectant (like a hospital ! ) and that was unpleasant and all the fittings were tired; and I agree the staff (apart from one chap on the saturday morning ) were aloof.
Note there are two flights of 6 or 7 steep steps to reception which are hard with suitcases, and no one offered to assist.
But the thing that really put me off was the breakfast room which is terribly noisy and clattery. Table cloths or mats would make a huge difference The hotel was full and the racket made breakfast unpleasant. Also the choice of breakfast was a bit bland

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen last month. We are glad to hear that you liked our location but we are truly sorry to hear that not all things during your stay was as expected. It's correct that Phoenix Copenhagen has an historic main entrance with steps going from street level to our lobby area. Our bell boys and staff are always delighted to assist with luggage when not helping other guests. We thank you for your feedback on your breakfast visit. When full house and many guests visiting our breakfast at the same time it can be noisy (just as any other busy restaurant). We normally gets good reviews on our breakfast buffet and it's selection so we are very interested in hearing from you what was missing from our large breakfast buffet. If you like to elaborate on what was missing from our big selection, please write us an e-mail on phoenixcopenhagen@arp-hansen.dk. We hope for your next Copenhagen visit you will reconsider your choice of hotel and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at Phoenix Copenhagen.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I originally booked a standard room but once we arrived we upgraded to a superior double for an extra £10 a night which seemed reasonable. The room was clean with good air conditioning and hot powerful shower. The hotel is ideally located for the metro and a short walk to Nyhavn. My only complaint was the squeaky floorboards but it is an old building so it's only a minor complaint. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't have breakfast included but the room service was very good, the Phoenix burger was delicious. There is also free wifi included, although it didn't work for me it did work for my boyfriend and he had no issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your feedback after end stay this month. We are glad to read that you were offered bigger room for only a few extra kroner and you enjoyed your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We are glad to read that you were given excellent service and you liked our room service and our down town location. We hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story Hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.