We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added Phoenix Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Phoenix Hotel is in a great location. I was in town for two days to visit Copenhagen, and I was very pleased with the location. We were within easy walking distance of Nyhavn, great shopping, food, and other attractions. The room was well-decorated, and spacious for a european hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to get an extra roll-away bed for a fee (though this wasn't disclosed online) for our third person in the room. The front desk kindly stored our luggage for us when we checked out in the morning and didn't need to leave for our flight until late evening. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was a bit noisy in the morning. I'm not sure if the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen in September and liked our down-town location, the room and our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    243
    134
    61
    27
See reviews for
43
152
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited Phoenix Hotel years ago in november. The hotel gave me the perfect christmas spirit! When we arrived (quite hungry) they had these lovely christmas cookies and I ate a bunch of them (got to say that I was about twelve years old at the time). The service were great and we actually got a big room. The Hotel seems so luxurious, special for a young girl, and I loved it there! Also have to say that they were so helpful when we asked for nice places to eat, they also called around to book tables. And the resturant we ended up with was so good that I always go there to eat when I'm in town! So I got nothing negative to say about Phoenix Hotel and I am definitly going back (when I'm not on a student budget)!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your warm recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen for another visit in the nearest future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daswo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff here is friendly, the rooms aren't big but they are comfy. Some of the beds sink in the middle, but the one this time is just fine. It isn't cheap, but Copenhagen is pricey anyway. The breakfast is good andI will happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear traveller,
Thank your for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Phoenix Copenhagen. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Phoenix Copenhagen another time.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel in desperate need for an overhaul - especially the breakfast lounge. The hotel has a great location, but the glorious times from the 80'ies are long gone. Although the rooms are small, they are still rather comfortable and cosy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear traveller,
We are glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and liked our down town location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen in the nearest future, either on a private visit or when you are back in Copenhagen for a business stay.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were disappointed to find the Phoenix hotel in a bad shape and in desperate need of a facelift. 4 stars, high prices and a prime location set high expectations. But then comes disappointment. In our opinion the impression you get prior to booking is misleading. More or less everything needs maintenance or renewal. Paint is falling of walls, bad smell from carpet floor, dirt is stuck between tiles and furnitures are old and run down. The door into our bathroom was full of scratches and other damages. WIFI is available only in the reception.
Then management. No doorman to help with luggage upon arrival. Nobody in the reception offers to help with luggage upon check-in. We arrived at 2pm to find our room to be ready only at 4pm. However, the receptionist offered another room immediately, BUT only for an additional charge. Furthermore we were given absolutely no information about the hotel itself or its facilities, not even where breakfast is served. The staff seemed very little communicative. The staff also failed to inform that breakfast was not included in our booking. Certainly it is our responsibility, but it would be logic for the hotel to inform guests about their services. At check-out only one staff served the reception - causing a long waiting line. We also think that the staff fails to represent and being part of the historical image the hotel wants to have. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Traveller,
We are suprised to read your review. Not only concerning the room but also about your experience with the service. Phoenix Copenhagen is continually being held up to date and the interior and architecture style all over the hotel is the impression of Copenhagen in year1800. Phoenix Copenhagen is evaluated every year and have had 4-stars since the re-opening in 1990. Our room prices reflect the prices of similar hotels in Copenhagen. It is not correct that Wifi is only available in the lobby area. We offer all of our guest free wireless internet connection all over the hotel (rooms, conferences, restaurant and Brasserie etc.). If you had problems finding the connection or to log on to your device, you could have contacted front desk at any time for assistance.
It is correct that Phoenix Copenhagen does not have a doorman. We are sorry if no one helped you with your luggage when checkin in. Our bellboys and front desk staff are always available in the lobby area at any time (except when they are helping other guets). We always try to have the rooms available when guest arrives. The best for us is if we are informed before stay about an early check-in so we can prepare us for this. Unfortunately it is not always possible and sometimes it is not the same room catagories that are available as the guests have booked when arriving early. However it is always possible to store the luggage in our luggage room, if our guests do not like to wait in the lobby for the room to be clean and available.
We are sorry if you thought that breakfast was included in the room price and our front desk staff did not inform you about that. On the key card holder we always fill out if breakfast is included/excluded in the rate to avoid any misunderstandings.
We are sorry to hear that you had to wait for settling your account and checking-out. Sometimes many guests arrives and depart at the same time and queuing starts.

We are sorry we did not manage to provide you with a flawless stay but we hope that you will write to us if you have any other remarks from your visit and we also hope that we after all may be able to welcome you at Phoenix Copenhagen again in the future.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

And the bathroom door in my postage stamp-sized room at the same time! If your idea of a hotel room that resembles a college dorm or prison cell is ideal, this is your hotel. Don't ask the staff where anything is---restaurants, shops...they don't know! Breakfast was taken in a sad basement room that seemed to lack AC, and it was hot in Copenhagen. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I care about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear traveller,

We are sorry to hear you didn’t like your business stay at Phoenix Copenhagen in August. We are surprised to read that you couldn’t get the needed concierge help from our great front desk staff. These are all employees with more than 10 years of experience in concierge and front desk hotel work and they all live within the city. Restaurant Von Plessen was renovated this year with new interior, carpets etc. We have had a very hot summer and we apologies if the temperature was high during breakfast visits. In our historic building we have different room sizes and categories. Phoenix Copenhagen offer room types: Standard, Superior and Executive in both Single and Double. We are sorry to hear that you found your room too small.
Kind regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Horrible. Tiny rooms and was eaten alive by bed bugs. Arrived at noon and room wasn't ready till 4:30. I was there for one night, for an art gallery event that began at 5:30 pm and barely had time to get ready. Breakfast was good though, I must admit. And location was excellent. But there are other hotels nearby - I certainly wouldn't stay at the Phoenix again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieHeinen, General Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review as well of your email.
We hereby copy the reply forwarded to you by email regarding this issue. We can still inform you tahat on September 14th, 2013 there is still no signs of any bedbugs in the room you stayed in or other rooms.

Reply of September 9th, 2013
Thank you for your mail and for informing us about the bed bugs in your room.
We checked the room on Friday and again this morning and the rapport from the external pest control company we use says that there are no signs of any bed bugs or marks from bed bugs.
We do take bed bugs very seriously. Bed bugs are, however, not caused by the lack of cleaning, but unfortunately something our guests bring with them when they come to our hotel. We are always taking every measure to prevent bed bugs and thus all our beds have been sprayed with a bed bug repellent.
We are not exactly clear on which reviews you are referring to as you are the first guest this year to report a possible bed bug sight.
Your comment about the shower has been duly noted and have already been fixed.
We are very sorry for your experiences while staying at the Phoenix Copenhagen and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.
Best regards
PHOENIX COPENHAGEN
Julie Heinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story Hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.