We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch that step!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Copenhagen to your Saves list
Phoenix Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Copenhagen
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Watch that step!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Since I selected the Phoenix CopenHagen after reviewing numerous descriptions on-line, I was a little concerned that the descriptions might not be totally accurate. However, I was pleased to discover that the accommodations lived up to their descriptions almost without fail. The room and decor were very nice, and the service and cleanliness were very good. We especially enjoyed the food in both the pub and restaurant.

I have only two very minor complaints. First, I thought the furnishings in the lobby looked a little shabby and in need of the upholstery cushions being re-stuffed. Second, and a little more serious issue, is that the person showing us to our room failed to turn on all the lights or mention that the bathroom was a step down. My husband took a nosedive when he stepped down unexpectedly, but fortunately he was not injured. Being from the USA where we have very few older buildings that have been remodeled in this way, we did not anticipate the level change in the floor, so I think this step should be pointed out to your American and Canadian guests especially.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    275
    153
    59
    32
See reviews for
63
210
40
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked 5 nights at AUST$248 per night about 2 months ahead and got dumped outside on the street with cases by our taxi facing 2 sets of steps into the distant front desk with no help in sight. As we are both seniors, we decided that one of us should seek help. It came courtesy of a polite young man who took charge. Under higher instruction he then showed us to our room which would not fit our cases and ourselves in, so we asked for a larger room. We were offered two at KR200 & KR400 per night extra respectively. We opted for the larger on advise from our young porter.
Room 1147 was clean but very old. The sink took minutes to empty and the shower over the bath had no railings or grips to hang on to - very dangerous and a marvel that they haven't been sued for accidents. Maybe they have!
The best was yet to come. Our room was directly above the bin area on the ground and from 5am to 9pm at any random time, you could expect the rattling of a smaller bin with metal wheels being delivered to a bigger one, across cobblestones, the noise of which you have to experience to understand. They obviously haven't heard of pneumatic tyres!
The a/c was noisy and hard to adjust so as it was 18°C and starting to cool down, we turned it off when the 9pm rubbish bin woke us up.

Great location but in dire need of renovation and perhaps training at the reception desk.
Our young porter, Marten, was our best ally.

We could not recommend this hotel to anyone and intend threatening our travel agent with removal from our Christmas card list if he sends another Australian there - ever.

In fairness, when I mentioned the noise at checkout time, they referred me to the most senior man on duty and he took KR 320 off the restaurant charges which reduced the bill by KR64 per night - what's that about AU$10? Big deal!

Room Tip: Keep away from Room 1147
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The location is perfect for the palace, canal boat trips, cathedral, top class resaturants and shopping streets BUT yet it is quietly off to one side. Only short walks needed everywhere with lots of small streets to wonder through.

Rooms are old fashioned style, not overly spacious but still very nice and clean - deluxe twins were not as spacious as could be. Quaint old bathrooms and taps. Clean and very good housekeeping. Has some unique ways of operating things but you soon pick up how to use everything. Staff ALWAYS friendly and helpful. Quite a maze of rooms!

Restaurant for dinner good a little pricey for what it offered and staff were rather noisy when dealing with other diners was quite disturbing at times! Breakfast is great - enormous buffet, great quality, starts early and ends quite late.

Would certainly stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: Book rooms well in advance and get a good discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights in July 2012. We were upgraded to an executive double room, which had a quite spacious and comfortable double bed. Generally speaking the room was surprisingly small, but I guess that is quite common in many Copenhagen hotels. The bathroom was a small disappointment. It had a bath tub with a shower (I prefer a shower only) having an old-fashioned faucet where the cold and hot water had to be adjusted separately. The hot water temperature and pressure seemed to vary from time to time, so there was quite a lot faucet tweaking during showering. Despite of the small annoyances we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is at excellent location near Nyhavn and the staff was also friendly. The lounge, the corridors and the room were tidy and the room was also quiet despite being at the second floor (not sure whether the upper floors are quieter or not).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location of this old hotel is great,Few meters from Nyhaven and tourists buses.
The rooms need a facelift, bathrooms very old ,air condition not working in most of the rooms.
Breakfast is very good,the front desk employees are very helpfull and polite.
will return to this hotel Inspite of all what was mentioned.
But a full renovation is a must.

Room Tip: Choose room 4444
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We used this hotel before our cruise. We only stayed one evening. It is within walking distance to a fair number of sites in Copenhagen. Very nice staff, good breakfast. WIFI, nice, clean bathrooms, not huge rooms, but what we expect in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am currently staying in the hotel, checked in yesterday afternoon with family. Overall hotel is good and clean but it lacks customer service which one expects from a 4 star hotel.
First I requested for an early check-in but was not granted..not even at 2:30 pm (check in time 3 PM). I requested because of my 2 and half yr old daughter, anyways it can be strict hotel policy and I respect the same.
But today when I informed them that AC in my room is not working, the reply was that's strange and we cannot get technician to get it checked. They cannot offer me another room as they are fully booked. So they provided me with 2 small table fans (picture attached) with an extension cable, best part is they asked me to get the cable to reception at the time of check out...!!!! Hahaha. Can't believe my ears that in a four star hotel guest has been asked to handover the extension cable at the time of checkout.
Pros: clean hotel, nice breakfast n free wireless
Cons: poor customer service by front desk, no ramp or way to get baby prams in hotel
I will update this tomorrow after check out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story Hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.