We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from train station ...tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Across from train station ...tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Certainly has all the "check the box" attributes of a 4 or 5 star hotel but feels very tired - ready for a renovation. Staff service was fine - for the normally weak service standards found in Denmark. No one went out of their way to help or went beyond basic standards.
Rooms were large but again furnishings and bath quite tired .... Tiny sink and common European 1/3 coverage glass shower . AC worked fine and able to slightly open windows - though noisy.
Location very central but area around hotel was a bit dirty and crowded....
Easy transit to/from airport.... Couple of nice bakeries nearby for breakfast. Coffee shop Restaurant -Cafe Royal - adequate as well.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear PVTraveler01.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and found the hotel worn during your stay. Your comments are valued as they help us know where to improve.
We do hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future, and that we get the chance to give you a better experience.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    666
    301
    97
    56
See reviews for
221
636
127
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I am a little surprised at the negative reviews. The hotel is very cool, Danish design from Arne Jacobsen. If you don't like Danish décor you wont enjoy the interiors. It is a little dated, but personally I love the egg chairs, artichoke lamps and minimalist design. We stayed for three nights in two connecting corner rooms Royal club level overlooking Tivoli Gardens. It was a beautiful view. Nicely appointed room. Location is within walking distance to all the major sights. Tivoli Gardens is across the street. If you choose, the Hop on Hop tourist bus stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Skappy.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Danish interiors and find the hotel very cool :-) Nice to hear that you were satisfied with the location and the view from our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This has to be the worst 5* hotel I have ever had the misfortune of staying at...and I still have two more nights pre-paid to suffer.

Do not be tempted by their web site and mention of "designed by Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style" nor "Copenhagen's premier accommodation".

It is tired and dated (I stayed here over 10 years ago and can swear it has not been refurbished since). The furniture is tatty and old, the carpest worn and stained, the paint is peeling around the windows, the inner door can't be closed as it doesn't fit properly.

There in zero noise insulation so you can here the road noise in every room and you can hear your neighbours on both sides chatting away and their TV as if it is your own.

The curtains scarcely fit the windows so it is bright even at night and the air conditioning came from the last decade so sounds like a wheezing train.

I'm actually surprised that Radisson has let their standards slip so far.

Avoid!

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Jezza G.
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel direct at boline.andersen@radissonblu.com, as we would like to hear more about the unsatisfying experience and which room you stayed at.
We hope to get a new chance to exceed you expectations.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I am a gold club carlson member. On checkin i was told NO upgrade available despite rooms being actively advertised and sold online as business class rooms and suites etc. I was lied to on checkin. The room was filthy. Very dirty and not a great room to give a very loyal customer. My last morning the room was entered twice by housekeeping. Once she knocked and immediately entered and then left when hearing the television was on. The second time, NO knock on the door. used her card and walked straight in, seen me and said sorry. Completely disgusted! Mentioned it on checkout to "Christiana" and she apologised and wrote some notes on a yellow post it note.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Lewisseb.
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and the unpleasant experience with our housekeeper. We would like to discuss your stay further, so please feel free to contact the hotel directly at boline.andersen@radissonblu.com.
We hope to get a new chance to exceed you expectations.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

A bit dated in decor, but made up in location. Room was adequate in size,comfort and cleanliness
Make sure you get a room NOT facing Tivoli Gardens. Sometimes they have fireworks late at night, and windows are not sound proof enough to block it out when one want to sleep. But if you are a night owl, you can see the show right from your own window. The best thing about this hotels is location. Two blocks from Central Station, so easy to get to even with suitcases etc. Across from a tourist information center and Tivoli Gardens (if you like this attraction). Lots of little places to eat within walking distance, two blocks from Strogert St., a grocery store across the street. We were able to reach the cruise ships by public transport. It took us within 5min. walk to the ship... lucky for us. After a short train ride, there is a bus (I believe 26) that follows the street directly along the cruise ship area. Buying bus fares, best done @ Central Station or Airport. The machines at the different S-Bahn trains, or metro stops only takes exact change. Eventhough we had a Visa card with a chip, we had trouble with the machines at airport and central station. These stations have kiosks (with real humans...) where you can get the necessary tickets, passes etc. For some reason, our card was just fine this way but not on the machines. We noticed other passengers from our flight had the same issue.

Room Tip: If you value quiet sleep, get a room NOT facing Tivoli Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear IN
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very satisfied with the location of our hotel. Tivoli usually have a great late night firework, very beautifully - especially if you are a late night owl :-)
Thanks for the detailed "how to get around" descriptions. We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay in this conveniently located hotel. The staff was outstanding and helped us greatly when we had difficulties formatting and printing the visa that would allow us to enter Russia. Our room had an amazing view of Tivoli Gardens and the train station (my son was delighted watching the trains go by). On Saturday nights in the summer, you have an excellent view of Tivoli Gardens fireworks from your hotel room. Even though we were pretty jet lagged, we greatly enjoyed our impressive firework view. Our room (number 505, a category family guest room) was quite large by European standards, and easily fit a family of three. There is some limited noise from the street below, but I am a very light sleeper and very sensitive to noise, and I was able to sleep very comfortably here. The family guest rooms also include an excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 505 has an excellent view of Tivoli gardens, and is perfect for seeing the fireworks on Saturda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Kitkat343.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with our staff and our family guest room. Great to hear that you, despite jetlag, was able to enjoy Tivolis impressive firework and your son enjoyed watching the trains :-)
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Radisson Blu Royal (formerly The Royal Hotel) is used by many cruise lines as part of their pre-/post-cruise packages. On a recent editorial assignment for CruiseReportDotCom, we tried both the Radisson Blu and The Scandic Copenhagen, another popular cruise line hotel. The Radisson is definitely the better of the two. Nice rooms, more upscale and much better location. Hotel is right across from Tivoli Gardens and within easy walking distance of many cafes and shops. You can read a more in-depth review at http://bit.ly/RadBluRoyal.

There was a leak in the ceiling that dripped on a sofa table. We reported it to reception, so not sure if it has been fixed.

Room Tip: Junior suites are large, not sure about which floor or side of building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear CruiseReport.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend our hotel. The leak in the ceiling is fixed - thank you for reporting to the reception :-)
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Indre By
Nimb Hotel
Nimb Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Scandic Palace Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#36 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Gourmet, seasonal Danish cuisine served at Alberto K overlooking the city • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.