We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“lovely rooms, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay in this conveniently located hotel. The staff was outstanding and helped us greatly when we had difficulties formatting and printing the visa that would allow us to enter Russia. Our room had an amazing view of Tivoli Gardens and the train station (my son was delighted watching the trains go by). On Saturday nights in the summer, you have an excellent view of Tivoli Gardens fireworks from your hotel room. Even though we were pretty jet lagged, we greatly enjoyed our impressive firework view. Our room (number 505, a category family guest room) was quite large by European standards, and easily fit a family of three. There is some limited noise from the street below, but I am a very light sleeper and very sensitive to noise, and I was able to sleep very comfortably here. The family guest rooms also include an excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 505 has an excellent view of Tivoli gardens, and is perfect for seeing the fireworks on Saturda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Kitkat343.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with our staff and our family guest room. Great to hear that you, despite jetlag, was able to enjoy Tivolis impressive firework and your son enjoyed watching the trains :-)
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    522
    232
    68
    40
See reviews for
162
481
95
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Radisson Blu Royal (formerly The Royal Hotel) is used by many cruise lines as part of their pre-/post-cruise packages. On a recent editorial assignment for CruiseReportDotCom, we tried both the Radisson Blu and The Scandic Copenhagen, another popular cruise line hotel. The Radisson is definitely the better of the two. Nice rooms, more upscale and much better location. Hotel is right across from Tivoli Gardens and within easy walking distance of many cafes and shops. You can read a more in-depth review at http://bit.ly/RadBluRoyal.

There was a leak in the ceiling that dripped on a sofa table. We reported it to reception, so not sure if it has been fixed.

Room Tip: Junior suites are large, not sure about which floor or side of building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear CruiseReport.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend our hotel. The leak in the ceiling is fixed - thank you for reporting to the reception :-)
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel was centrally located, by the train station and Tivoli and within walking distance of tourist sites.

While I had a single room with a single bed, the room was quite large, much bigger than single room I had in Stockholm. Bathroom was large and had a fridge and coffee maker.

Breakfast buffet was good with delicious food but can take a while to get coffee

My flight was delayed by a day but it was no problem to get my stay extended by a night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Warren L.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. Nice to read that you enjoyed our Super Breakfast Buffet, but we apologize for the coffee waiting.
However we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 15-20 years ago and when it came time to go back, this was the first hotel I considered.

This hotel has (IMHO) the perfect location in Copenhagen, directly across the street from the Tivoli Gardens with most (half?) of its rooms having a view of the park.

The restaurant on top has magnificent views of the entire city, and while I never ate dinner there, it was great for breakfast (great buffet breakfast, though).

The staff I encountered during my stay were very polite and attentive.

Our room had wall-to-wall windows on the entire width that overlooked the entire Tivoli Park. This was especially nice on the non-rainy nights when they did fireworks.

Now, onto the not-so-good. The rooms now look old, tired, and much of the furniture is worn (literally the couch/loveseats were worn through in places and you could see stuffing showing through). The carpets in the room had some stains/wear, and some of the seams were starting to pucker up.

The design of the rooms/hallway areas now looks very 1970's, and there are a lot of dents/chips/scratch marks that I wouldn't expect from Radisson group hotels. (If you're from the property and would like proof of the wear/tear, I did take some iPhone photos).

Did these defects ruin my holiday? Absolutely not. I payed to stay near Tivoli, and got everything I wanted from that. However, at the room rate that was charged, I expect a little better.

The hotel could definitely use some updating and TLC to make it shine again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room overlooking the Tivoli Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Bill R.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you returned to our hotel and were satisfied with our Super Breakfast Buffet as well as the location. We are sorry that you found our decor worn. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. However we hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

LOCATION
-- Very conveniently located in the heart of Copenhagen;
-- 2 minutes walk to Tivoli;
-- 4 minutes walk to City Hall Square & Southern end of Stroget;
-- 2 minutes walk to Central Station;
-- 15 minutes walk to Nyhavn;
-- the Hop-On Hop-Off buses stop right outside the hotel.

ROOMS & BATHROOMS
-- Very generous sized rooms & bathrooms. We had a corner room with large windows on 2 sides. Very comfortable with stylish décor.

OTHERS
A big minus for this hotel is that not all the concierges are knowledgeable enough. For example, we asked one of them the timings for a big supermarket that is just 2 minutes away but he didn't even know this much. Other times our queries were greeted by blank looks followed by searches on Google. Eventually we decided to figure out things ourselves rather consulting the concierges. However, there was one of them who was much more knowledgeable & helpful than the others.

Another minus - on our 3rd evening there we returned to our room & discovered that there were no teaspoons. We figured the housekeeping staff had forgotten to replace the used spoons with fresh ones. Imagine our disappointment when the same thing happened the very next day !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Travel72548.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room and its decor. We apologize for the missing information about the city and likewise the teaspoons. Next time please feel free to call the reception, so they can help you the best way.
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is a hotel is a very good location. Near the tivoli and the start of the old town. Also near the main train station which reduces the time to and fro from the airport.

We had a really bad experience though and the staff were not helpful. We had to move rooms as our booking was done separately, Also as I was booking it with some of my points and cash I had to spend over 3 hours trying to make them understand what was going on.

We asked for a bigger room and they tried to put me into the most expensive room. My adaptor was not working and they said they will send it in 5-10 min... it never came.

The internet was crap too... had to hover my phone in the room to connect... even after telling them that it was never fixed.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better and the view of tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Saradindu_Das.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel. However we apologize you were disappointed with the service you received from our staff. We will handle this issue. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Staff very friendly and efficient. Made stay memorable. Hotel is iconic from architecture and atmosphere - however some smaller details needs caretaking. Magnificent view from Breakfast room at the 20th floor

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Peter L.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our iconic architecture and the atmosphere and value your caketaking comments. They will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.