We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 15-20 years ago and when it came time to go back, this was the first hotel I considered.

This hotel has (IMHO) the perfect location in Copenhagen, directly across the street from the Tivoli Gardens with most (half?) of its rooms having a view of the park.

The restaurant on top has magnificent views of the entire city, and while I never ate dinner there, it was great for breakfast (great buffet breakfast, though).

The staff I encountered during my stay were very polite and attentive.

Our room had wall-to-wall windows on the entire width that overlooked the entire Tivoli Park. This was especially nice on the non-rainy nights when they did fireworks.

Now, onto the not-so-good. The rooms now look old, tired, and much of the furniture is worn (literally the couch/loveseats were worn through in places and you could see stuffing showing through). The carpets in the room had some stains/wear, and some of the seams were starting to pucker up.

The design of the rooms/hallway areas now looks very 1970's, and there are a lot of dents/chips/scratch marks that I wouldn't expect from Radisson group hotels. (If you're from the property and would like proof of the wear/tear, I did take some iPhone photos).

Did these defects ruin my holiday? Absolutely not. I payed to stay near Tivoli, and got everything I wanted from that. However, at the room rate that was charged, I expect a little better.

The hotel could definitely use some updating and TLC to make it shine again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room overlooking the Tivoli Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Bill R.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you returned to our hotel and were satisfied with our Super Breakfast Buffet as well as the location. We are sorry that you found our decor worn. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. However we hope to welcome you to our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    559
    240
    71
    42
See reviews for
173
513
104
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

LOCATION
-- Very conveniently located in the heart of Copenhagen;
-- 2 minutes walk to Tivoli;
-- 4 minutes walk to City Hall Square & Southern end of Stroget;
-- 2 minutes walk to Central Station;
-- 15 minutes walk to Nyhavn;
-- the Hop-On Hop-Off buses stop right outside the hotel.

ROOMS & BATHROOMS
-- Very generous sized rooms & bathrooms. We had a corner room with large windows on 2 sides. Very comfortable with stylish décor.

OTHERS
A big minus for this hotel is that not all the concierges are knowledgeable enough. For example, we asked one of them the timings for a big supermarket that is just 2 minutes away but he didn't even know this much. Other times our queries were greeted by blank looks followed by searches on Google. Eventually we decided to figure out things ourselves rather consulting the concierges. However, there was one of them who was much more knowledgeable & helpful than the others.

Another minus - on our 3rd evening there we returned to our room & discovered that there were no teaspoons. We figured the housekeeping staff had forgotten to replace the used spoons with fresh ones. Imagine our disappointment when the same thing happened the very next day !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Travel72548.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your room and its decor. We apologize for the missing information about the city and likewise the teaspoons. Next time please feel free to call the reception, so they can help you the best way.
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is a hotel is a very good location. Near the tivoli and the start of the old town. Also near the main train station which reduces the time to and fro from the airport.

We had a really bad experience though and the staff were not helpful. We had to move rooms as our booking was done separately, Also as I was booking it with some of my points and cash I had to spend over 3 hours trying to make them understand what was going on.

We asked for a bigger room and they tried to put me into the most expensive room. My adaptor was not working and they said they will send it in 5-10 min... it never came.

The internet was crap too... had to hover my phone in the room to connect... even after telling them that it was never fixed.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better and the view of tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Saradindu_Das.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the location of our hotel. However we apologize you were disappointed with the service you received from our staff. We will handle this issue. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Staff very friendly and efficient. Made stay memorable. Hotel is iconic from architecture and atmosphere - however some smaller details needs caretaking. Magnificent view from Breakfast room at the 20th floor

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Peter L.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our iconic architecture and the atmosphere and value your caketaking comments. They will be used to consider improvements in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel. located steps away from Tivoli and located in the center of Copenhagen offers the seasoned traveler a little less space than U.S. people expect. Over all , this hotel, an architect's gem designed by Arne Jacobsen in the 1970's, meets all standards of a 4 star hotel for service, cleanliness, and staff efficiency. Where it is lacking is in the size of the rooms. But how do you take these beautiful little rooms and change their design? You can't! So if you want a hotel in the center of Copenhagen in an architectural masterpiece you must choose the Radisson Blu.

The staff was excellent, the management accommodating, and the location perfect.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the high floors overlooking Tivoli Gardens. Great to watch the fireworks from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Jsnadler
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the staff and location of our hotel. Likewise we are glad to read that you valued our great Arne Jacobsen design :-).
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

If you stay in the royal rooms, the views are spectacular. Right across the street from Tivoli and a block from City Hall, this hotel's location was unexpectedly rewarding. Breakfast was well done in a superb 20th floor lounge, but the hotel did lack any mid price dining between its coffee shop and a very pricey penthouse restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Allan,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sooo happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were especially satisfied with the breakfast and location of the hotel :-)
We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Kind regards,
Boline, Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The room should have been in WAY better condition. There were brown stains on the already old looking rug throughout the room. We will be posting photos on our Yelp with in the week. We did not feel comfortable walking on the Rug without shoes or socks on. There was also large spider webs. Again we will be posting photos on Yelp. The walls were also so thin that any movement in any other room, from all sides, was heard, day and night! In addition to the poor room condition the customer service was so poor that we did not go to the breakfast or order anything but Ice from the room service. Please also note that the ICE (AKA Cold Water) took over 20 minutes to get to the room. The employee interactions were so displeasing we started trying to purposely NOT interact with the employees as much as possible. May I also add that multiple times when we pressed the “one touch button” or whatever it is that the Radisson BLU calls it, NO ONE ANSWERED. Even to the end of the visit, the doorman did not even bother to get us a cab to the airport. Just ignored us walking out of the door. The price was way too high for such a poor presentation to customers. I truly hope that management of this hotel chain looks very closely into this location and improves it greatly. We had stayed at the Radisson BLU at the Airport in Oslo a few days prior, and frankly we did not expect anything from an Airport hotel, but the Oslo location blew us away! And then to go to such a poor example of the hotel chain was such a disappointment, and has completely swayed us from ever staying at a Radisson BLU again. Please note that we will be posting all of the above review, along with photos on YELP & TripAdvisor. I would never advise ANYONE to stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boline2014, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear spencerthomash,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for the disappointing service by our staff.
Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have and therefore we appreciate and value your comments. Please contact me directly at this e-mail; boline.andersen@radissonblu.com as I would like to see the pictures and hear more about your stay.
We hope to welcome you to our hotel again in the future and get a chance to exceed your expectations.
Kind regards,
Boline,
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#27 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Gourmet, seasonal Danish cuisine served at Alberto K overlooking the city • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.