We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel/convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel/convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is a bit pricey (over $300/night) but all of Denmark is pricey. It was very nicely appointed, very comfortable, clean rooms but most importantly very well located with the train station 1 block from hotel, Tivoli and Tourist Information Bureau across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Tivoli and RR station for quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    503
    224
    65
    38
See reviews for
155
467
92
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a pleasant stay, not a special one. We requested and received an upper-floor room facing Tivoli and were rewarded with a bird's eye view of the Saturday night fireworks. The central location of the hotel is convenient to attractions and the room was comfortable, although the carpet could have used a thorough cleaning. We enjoyed the decor, which was like something out of Disney's Contemporary Resort before the renovation--complete with a light-up acrylic wall panel above the headboard of the bed. We would have appreciated a more knowledgeable concierge staff in terms of restaurant recommendations, and the lobby restaurant dinner offerings were extremely limited. The free Wifi reliably reached the 17th floor and street noise was not a problem. Operable windows were nice to have for fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our problem with this hotel began way before our stay began. We e-mailed the concierge to ask for hotel reservations and to book a massage and car from the airport. I needed to send a second request in order to get a response from the concierge. When I responded to that concierge to ask him to make a booking for the car and at a restaurant he recommended, he did not respond or confirm or in fact, make the bookings. Frankly, it was rude.

Then, when we arrived at the hotel, the concierge was unknowledgeable and seemed annoyed when we asked for confirmation of our dinner reservation. For example, we specifically were looking forward to the fireworks on Saturday night to celebrate the 170th anniversary of Tivoli. The concierge told us that there were no fireworks. Thankfully, we asked several other people at local restaurants who confirmed that there were in fact fireworks. There were other concierges that were helpful throughout our stay (Gitte), but our experience was tainted by the initial interactions with the concierge.

Secondly, we were celebrating our honeymoon and upon arrival, we were told that our order for a king sized bed was merely a request. We were given a room with two twin beds, which really ruined our experience. We had come from Paris, where we stayed at a Westin. That hotel upgraded our room and provided champagne and French macaroons. The Royal Blu did nothing- not that we were expecting us, but they couldn't even provide us a room with the bed that we ordered. When I asked if I could pay for an upgrade, the receptionist wanted to charge me 300 dollars to switch rooms on the second night of our stay.

Finally, I travel abroad several times a year. I try to stay at a Radisson on several of these occasions, partially to gain points through their rewards program. I was told upon arrival that we couldn't earn points because I booked the hotel through a travel agent. Because I was busy at work and couldn't book the trip by myself, I was essentially penalized by the hotel. There is no reason why I shouldn't be allowed to earn points, at the money still went to the hotel. When I complained to the receptionist, they did not give a reason why I could not earn the points.

The location is quite good- right across from Tivoli in the center of the city, but there are others that might better at servicing tourists and those hoping for a special weekend. The gym was also very nice and comprehensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There was nothing unusual about this hotel,except the location was very central. The interiors badly need renovation - as on the club floor one of the acrylic wall display fell off during our stay.
The concierge service is particularly weak as we had to rely on travel guide books for restaurant suggestions.
The breakfast is very average and the full rates are quite high for the standards.
Frankly, this hotel does not live up to it's old glorious days .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and myself spent 4 nights at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel from the 30th of July to the 3rd of August, 2013. We had booked a family room of size 450 square feet approx, with an excellent view of Tivoli and the city centre. The location of this hotel was excellent.

The service was good and the breakfasts were great. We really had no complaint whatsoever about the hotel.

If we ever were to return to Copenhagen, the Radisson BLU would probably be our first choice once again. Staying in the city centre saves a lot of time and money commuting. Especially important when one is staying for just 4 nights and wants to see as much as one possibly can.

Room Tip: Book a family room. It has far more space than the standard room. Also, excellent views of Tivoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel in Copenhagen (Aug 22-24). We had a suite on the "club" floor that included a buffet breakfast.
We paid $970.00 US dollars a night for a poor quality room.
The bed was 2 twin mattresses pushed together so at night they would separate and it was hard to get comfortable. The showers were very small and they had very little water pressure. The decor was tired. The "suite" lacked any amenities you might expect (ex: coffee maker, a stocked mini bar). The buffet breakfast was a bit shocking, the food was disgusting (and I am not a picky eater). Food was left for hours without any re-stocking, it was a mess around the buffet itself, and the waitresses did not seem to care about cleaning up or serving customers.
The 2 positives include: (1) the location of this hotel. It was in walking distance to most attractions. With that said, there was a rock concert every night we were there right across the street. The noise was loud and it made it difficult to sleep.
(2) the concierge staff. They were very helpful with directions and making dinner reservations.
We are frequent travelers in Europe and understand rooms are smaller and amenities are different however we have not had an experience quite like this stay. We were greatly disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite- save your money, it was not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

STAY AWAY FOR AT LEAST THE NEXT 6 months due to construction Works. Booked for 5 nights in a so called suite which was really a large room - no separate bedroom. Room stunk from cigareete smoke although this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. This was sorted by housekeeping although they should have noticed it before I checked in. First morning I was rudely awoken at 6 am by jackhammering from some public transport construction works outside the hotel. This continued on and off throughout the day. Requested room change but no point as all rooms were exposed to the noise as a result of the design of the hotel. Second morning the jackhammering started at 5am!! That was enough for me and I suspect many others. I checked out and moved to another hotel. Staff unsympathetic essentially saying they had no control over noise. Reading between the lines, I suspect the works had been ongoing for some time. They agreed it was illegal to start work so early so the question is why didn't they do anything about it? At the very least an ethical hotel would warn potential guests of the possibility of disruption from noise. I understand why they didn't because not many people would book. However, this is short sighted. They have lost my trust and completely alientated me from the Radisson brand. Unless desperate, I will never stay at a Radisson again. NEVER.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.