We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in a Great city !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Hotel in a Great city !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There was nothing unusual about this hotel,except the location was very central. The interiors badly need renovation - as on the club floor one of the acrylic wall display fell off during our stay.
The concierge service is particularly weak as we had to rely on travel guide books for restaurant suggestions.
The breakfast is very average and the full rates are quite high for the standards.
Frankly, this hotel does not live up to it's old glorious days .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    585
    260
    77
    48
See reviews for
183
538
106
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and myself spent 4 nights at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel from the 30th of July to the 3rd of August, 2013. We had booked a family room of size 450 square feet approx, with an excellent view of Tivoli and the city centre. The location of this hotel was excellent.

The service was good and the breakfasts were great. We really had no complaint whatsoever about the hotel.

If we ever were to return to Copenhagen, the Radisson BLU would probably be our first choice once again. Staying in the city centre saves a lot of time and money commuting. Especially important when one is staying for just 4 nights and wants to see as much as one possibly can.

Room Tip: Book a family room. It has far more space than the standard room. Also, excellent views of Tivoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel in Copenhagen (Aug 22-24). We had a suite on the "club" floor that included a buffet breakfast.
We paid $970.00 US dollars a night for a poor quality room.
The bed was 2 twin mattresses pushed together so at night they would separate and it was hard to get comfortable. The showers were very small and they had very little water pressure. The decor was tired. The "suite" lacked any amenities you might expect (ex: coffee maker, a stocked mini bar). The buffet breakfast was a bit shocking, the food was disgusting (and I am not a picky eater). Food was left for hours without any re-stocking, it was a mess around the buffet itself, and the waitresses did not seem to care about cleaning up or serving customers.
The 2 positives include: (1) the location of this hotel. It was in walking distance to most attractions. With that said, there was a rock concert every night we were there right across the street. The noise was loud and it made it difficult to sleep.
(2) the concierge staff. They were very helpful with directions and making dinner reservations.
We are frequent travelers in Europe and understand rooms are smaller and amenities are different however we have not had an experience quite like this stay. We were greatly disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite- save your money, it was not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

STAY AWAY FOR AT LEAST THE NEXT 6 months due to construction Works. Booked for 5 nights in a so called suite which was really a large room - no separate bedroom. Room stunk from cigareete smoke although this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. This was sorted by housekeeping although they should have noticed it before I checked in. First morning I was rudely awoken at 6 am by jackhammering from some public transport construction works outside the hotel. This continued on and off throughout the day. Requested room change but no point as all rooms were exposed to the noise as a result of the design of the hotel. Second morning the jackhammering started at 5am!! That was enough for me and I suspect many others. I checked out and moved to another hotel. Staff unsympathetic essentially saying they had no control over noise. Reading between the lines, I suspect the works had been ongoing for some time. They agreed it was illegal to start work so early so the question is why didn't they do anything about it? At the very least an ethical hotel would warn potential guests of the possibility of disruption from noise. I understand why they didn't because not many people would book. However, this is short sighted. They have lost my trust and completely alientated me from the Radisson brand. Unless desperate, I will never stay at a Radisson again. NEVER.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As a result of Marrriott over booking we were placed in the Royal for our 3 day stay prior to a cruise. This was one trade off that really worked. The hotel in well located across from Tivoli. The rooms were spacious, updated and clean. The staff was very accomodating. Were we to travel again to Copenhagen we would certainly entertain a return visit to the Royal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location downtown in a few miles you are everywhere Nyhaven, shopping district, etc. Trivoli Gardens are right next door good views. Great breakfast and good burger, tomato soup, Caesar salad but the room service menu is limited. Clean rooms and friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We did not expect the Hotel to be austere and cold. The hallways looked like a hallway in a locker room, little did we know the room wasn’t much bigger than a locker. Be careful what you use everything even the bottle water nicely placed beside the bed is chargeable.
The Room and the Hotel are besieged by the railway lines running beneath the Hotel. We were on the 15th floor and still heard the trains going under the building and the screeching of the wheels on the rails as they turned to go under the building. Full disclosure is not exactly their way of communicating. If you order a mixed drink at the bar you will be charged for the mix as extra. Not allowed to put the price in here but less say I could by a six pack of club soda at home for the same price as half a can. Only had breakfast at the hotel which was a buffet it was adequate nothing to write about.

Room Tip: It might be quieter away from the train & subway station but not likely as the train& subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Gourmet, seasonal Danish cuisine served at Alberto K overlooking the city • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.