We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in the centre of Copenhagen !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Value for money in the centre of Copenhagen !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and myself spent 4 nights at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel from the 30th of July to the 3rd of August, 2013. We had booked a family room of size 450 square feet approx, with an excellent view of Tivoli and the city centre. The location of this hotel was excellent.

The service was good and the breakfasts were great. We really had no complaint whatsoever about the hotel.

If we ever were to return to Copenhagen, the Radisson BLU would probably be our first choice once again. Staying in the city centre saves a lot of time and money commuting. Especially important when one is staying for just 4 nights and wants to see as much as one possibly can.

Room Tip: Book a family room. It has far more space than the standard room. Also, excellent views of Tivoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    522
    232
    68
    40
See reviews for
162
481
95
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Radisson BLU Royal Hotel in Copenhagen (Aug 22-24). We had a suite on the "club" floor that included a buffet breakfast.
We paid $970.00 US dollars a night for a poor quality room.
The bed was 2 twin mattresses pushed together so at night they would separate and it was hard to get comfortable. The showers were very small and they had very little water pressure. The decor was tired. The "suite" lacked any amenities you might expect (ex: coffee maker, a stocked mini bar). The buffet breakfast was a bit shocking, the food was disgusting (and I am not a picky eater). Food was left for hours without any re-stocking, it was a mess around the buffet itself, and the waitresses did not seem to care about cleaning up or serving customers.
The 2 positives include: (1) the location of this hotel. It was in walking distance to most attractions. With that said, there was a rock concert every night we were there right across the street. The noise was loud and it made it difficult to sleep.
(2) the concierge staff. They were very helpful with directions and making dinner reservations.
We are frequent travelers in Europe and understand rooms are smaller and amenities are different however we have not had an experience quite like this stay. We were greatly disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite- save your money, it was not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

STAY AWAY FOR AT LEAST THE NEXT 6 months due to construction Works. Booked for 5 nights in a so called suite which was really a large room - no separate bedroom. Room stunk from cigareete smoke although this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. This was sorted by housekeeping although they should have noticed it before I checked in. First morning I was rudely awoken at 6 am by jackhammering from some public transport construction works outside the hotel. This continued on and off throughout the day. Requested room change but no point as all rooms were exposed to the noise as a result of the design of the hotel. Second morning the jackhammering started at 5am!! That was enough for me and I suspect many others. I checked out and moved to another hotel. Staff unsympathetic essentially saying they had no control over noise. Reading between the lines, I suspect the works had been ongoing for some time. They agreed it was illegal to start work so early so the question is why didn't they do anything about it? At the very least an ethical hotel would warn potential guests of the possibility of disruption from noise. I understand why they didn't because not many people would book. However, this is short sighted. They have lost my trust and completely alientated me from the Radisson brand. Unless desperate, I will never stay at a Radisson again. NEVER.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As a result of Marrriott over booking we were placed in the Royal for our 3 day stay prior to a cruise. This was one trade off that really worked. The hotel in well located across from Tivoli. The rooms were spacious, updated and clean. The staff was very accomodating. Were we to travel again to Copenhagen we would certainly entertain a return visit to the Royal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location downtown in a few miles you are everywhere Nyhaven, shopping district, etc. Trivoli Gardens are right next door good views. Great breakfast and good burger, tomato soup, Caesar salad but the room service menu is limited. Clean rooms and friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We did not expect the Hotel to be austere and cold. The hallways looked like a hallway in a locker room, little did we know the room wasn’t much bigger than a locker. Be careful what you use everything even the bottle water nicely placed beside the bed is chargeable.
The Room and the Hotel are besieged by the railway lines running beneath the Hotel. We were on the 15th floor and still heard the trains going under the building and the screeching of the wheels on the rails as they turned to go under the building. Full disclosure is not exactly their way of communicating. If you order a mixed drink at the bar you will be charged for the mix as extra. Not allowed to put the price in here but less say I could by a six pack of club soda at home for the same price as half a can. Only had breakfast at the hotel which was a buffet it was adequate nothing to write about.

Room Tip: It might be quieter away from the train & subway station but not likely as the train& subway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location to tour Copenhagen. Across from Tivoli Gardens, the tourist info center and the train station. The rooms are large compared to some other European hotels and had a full sized tub and separate shower. The reception area is a bit confusing since there is no clear demarcation where lines are to be formed. When we arrived with a big group of cruisers several cut in front of us because there was no clear line. That was a minor inconvenience. Their breakfast buffet was excellent and coffee was very good. A bit pricey but worth it. Watch out for fireworks at tivoli. Although it is a great view they can also be heard in the rooms!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view of Tivoli Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.