We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
BRENHAM
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Center of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

5 star hotel prior to our Princess cruise. Staff friendly and helpful. Location was right in the middle of the action - Tivoli Gardens across the street, Hard Rock on the corner, train station the other direction, the city hall and square a block away - perfect for exploring all the old city had to offer. Stroget two blocks. King room was modern, very chic. Full width of the room windows overlooking the Metro station on the backside (wished for Tivoli view?). Pricey, but good choice Princess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    486
    219
    57
    36
See reviews for
124
415
86
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed one night at the Radisson Blu Royal prior to cruise. Before departure, the hotel was extremely good about answering email questions. Upon arrival the service was excellent, the appearance was excellent, and the breakfast was excellent. All of the staff was knowledgeable and very willing to provide any information we needed. The hotel is right across the street from Tivoli Gardens which is a must see. The desk provided discount tickets. The hotel was very close to the walking shopping street and central transportation. The Hop on Hop off buses as well as other local tour buses stop at the hotel. We had a corner room with a view of Tivoli and most of the city. Our party consisted of two retired couples and we all loved this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights with friends. It is very easy to walk to all major attractions. The window in my room on the 8th floor was overlooking Tivoli gardens which was a delight at night. On the second night I watched a fireworks display from Tivoli gardens which was spectacular. The design of the hotel is very Danish done by Arne Jacobson, which is a design I really prefer to any ornate settings. The Breakfast buffet was extensive with a wide variety of good fresh food. The Hop on Hop of bus was just dowmn stairs and very convenient as this is for me the best way to start a tour of a new city. My room was rather small (I opted for a single's room) though convenient, but my friends got a huge room with two bathrooms. The room also had an electric kettle with a supply of tea and coffee which was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel which was built in1960. Although we had requested a room with a king bed, the first room that we were offered had two single beds which must have been relics fromthe original opening. We were then offered a different room where the beds were somewhat more comfortable, and third time lucky we got a new king bed which turned out to be very comfortable.. When my wife complained that for a four star hotel the beds should be of a better quality, she was advised by the service manager on duty that the hotel was a five star hotel. Well a five star hotel doesn't take three goes to get it right, doesn't have paint peeling in the rooms, serve drinks in chipped glasses, have eggs at breakfast that llok like and have the consistency of powdered eggs, have stains on tne carpet. On the positive side, the aircon was good, there was no noise from the busy streets below and the location is excellent. Time to let Arne Jacobsens creation rest in peace, by all means keep a few rooms in originsl condition, but if you wannabe a five star you got to act like a five star.

Room Tip: Try the bed first. Levels 12 and 13 have new beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is next to Tivoli, the train station, Copenhagen Tourist Information and the Hop-On-Hop Off Bus. The service was good--we asked to check in early and were accomodated. When I asked for wi-fi in the lobby whilst waiting for our room the Concierge said he had to put the password into my iPad himself--he couldn't give me the password. I thought that was odd for a busy hotel. I realize the hotel wants to retain its history and the original design qualities but this does not give it the feel of a high-end hotel which you are paying for. Like most of Copenhagen the restaurants are expensive--however the breakfast buffett was great if you have it included. The lobby is dark, the ceilings are low, and the rooms have a 1960s hospital/Flinstone's feel. Stay for the location and if you like late 20th century design.

Room Tip: Upper floors protect you from the loud street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with friends and we did get perfect service. Had a family club room with plenty of space. Very good breakfasts in the Club Lounge with brilliant views over Copenhagen and bits of Sweden.
Service in lobby bar a bit slow, but reception was very efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a precruise package in june. We were so jet lagged but it was nice to just cross the street and wander Zombie- like in Tivoli gardens. Too bad we arrived on friday when they have rhe evening rock concert in the gardens! This started late but this lasted for not too long and i think they stopped playing after about two sets. We had a room higher up with a nice view of tivoli but we could also hear the concert. The music did wake me up but worse
was a lone saxophone player in the wee hours of the morning, playing the same Godfather theme song over and over and over and over....

In regards to decor it is important to remember that this hotel by arne jacobsen has an iconic style. We laughed becuase it reminded us of all the call rooms in hospitals in canada we had spent nights in (an inside joke!). I had to remind myself that those other rooms were all pale copies of an attempt at this style, an attempt to copy this place. We overall slept well and enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel.

Breakfast on the top floor was swanky. Lots of natural light flooding a beautiful breakfast buffet area and the view up there is great. Love the fish for breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.