We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location Great design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights with friends. It is very easy to walk to all major attractions. The window in my room on the 8th floor was overlooking Tivoli gardens which was a delight at night. On the second night I watched a fireworks display from Tivoli gardens which was spectacular. The design of the hotel is very Danish done by Arne Jacobson, which is a design I really prefer to any ornate settings. The Breakfast buffet was extensive with a wide variety of good fresh food. The Hop on Hop of bus was just dowmn stairs and very convenient as this is for me the best way to start a tour of a new city. My room was rather small (I opted for a single's room) though convenient, but my friends got a huge room with two bathrooms. The room also had an electric kettle with a supply of tea and coffee which was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    507
    225
    65
    38
See reviews for
157
468
94
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel which was built in1960. Although we had requested a room with a king bed, the first room that we were offered had two single beds which must have been relics fromthe original opening. We were then offered a different room where the beds were somewhat more comfortable, and third time lucky we got a new king bed which turned out to be very comfortable.. When my wife complained that for a four star hotel the beds should be of a better quality, she was advised by the service manager on duty that the hotel was a five star hotel. Well a five star hotel doesn't take three goes to get it right, doesn't have paint peeling in the rooms, serve drinks in chipped glasses, have eggs at breakfast that llok like and have the consistency of powdered eggs, have stains on tne carpet. On the positive side, the aircon was good, there was no noise from the busy streets below and the location is excellent. Time to let Arne Jacobsens creation rest in peace, by all means keep a few rooms in originsl condition, but if you wannabe a five star you got to act like a five star.

Room Tip: Try the bed first. Levels 12 and 13 have new beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is next to Tivoli, the train station, Copenhagen Tourist Information and the Hop-On-Hop Off Bus. The service was good--we asked to check in early and were accomodated. When I asked for wi-fi in the lobby whilst waiting for our room the Concierge said he had to put the password into my iPad himself--he couldn't give me the password. I thought that was odd for a busy hotel. I realize the hotel wants to retain its history and the original design qualities but this does not give it the feel of a high-end hotel which you are paying for. Like most of Copenhagen the restaurants are expensive--however the breakfast buffett was great if you have it included. The lobby is dark, the ceilings are low, and the rooms have a 1960s hospital/Flinstone's feel. Stay for the location and if you like late 20th century design.

Room Tip: Upper floors protect you from the loud street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with friends and we did get perfect service. Had a family club room with plenty of space. Very good breakfasts in the Club Lounge with brilliant views over Copenhagen and bits of Sweden.
Service in lobby bar a bit slow, but reception was very efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a precruise package in june. We were so jet lagged but it was nice to just cross the street and wander Zombie- like in Tivoli gardens. Too bad we arrived on friday when they have rhe evening rock concert in the gardens! This started late but this lasted for not too long and i think they stopped playing after about two sets. We had a room higher up with a nice view of tivoli but we could also hear the concert. The music did wake me up but worse
was a lone saxophone player in the wee hours of the morning, playing the same Godfather theme song over and over and over and over....

In regards to decor it is important to remember that this hotel by arne jacobsen has an iconic style. We laughed becuase it reminded us of all the call rooms in hospitals in canada we had spent nights in (an inside joke!). I had to remind myself that those other rooms were all pale copies of an attempt at this style, an attempt to copy this place. We overall slept well and enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel.

Breakfast on the top floor was swanky. Lots of natural light flooding a beautiful breakfast buffet area and the view up there is great. Love the fish for breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the expedient check in at the podiums, to the excellent breakfasts, to the amazing "period" rooms, to the attentive concierge service, to the cleanliness, this was an amazing stay. We were here 3 nights pre cruise and one night post cruise and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Actually you never have to leave to get the sense of Denmark design. Spent much time in the Arne Jacobsen Egg and Swan chairs, enjoyed the vibe of the lobby. Very conveniently situated, across from Tivoli, an easy walk to the Stroget and near the train station to catch busses all over the city. We were truly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking Tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Probably the ugliest building in Copenhagen but a landmark in its own special way, I suppose. It doesn't give you the best first impression of Copenhagen, but nicer bits of the city are a short walk away. Busy lobby with an overdesigned check-in area which means you have to hover round two or three separate desks. Lots of coming and going in the lobby as this hotel is used by cruise ships visiting Copenhagen. (Why do you have to stay in a hotel if you're on a cruise ship?).
I got a nice corner room on the 7th floor with lots of windows. Plenty of space and well-equipped. Enormous bathroom. The decor is sort of slightly dated Scandinavian but it's well-maintained.
Very good free internet so full marks to Radisson for that. It was quite windy while I was there and there was quite of lot of wind noise even with the windows tightly shut. Not much anyone can do about that I suppose except not build an ugly wannabe skyscraper in the first place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.