We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So retro it seems old...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So retro it seems old...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is next to Tivoli, the train station, Copenhagen Tourist Information and the Hop-On-Hop Off Bus. The service was good--we asked to check in early and were accomodated. When I asked for wi-fi in the lobby whilst waiting for our room the Concierge said he had to put the password into my iPad himself--he couldn't give me the password. I thought that was odd for a busy hotel. I realize the hotel wants to retain its history and the original design qualities but this does not give it the feel of a high-end hotel which you are paying for. Like most of Copenhagen the restaurants are expensive--however the breakfast buffett was great if you have it included. The lobby is dark, the ceilings are low, and the rooms have a 1960s hospital/Flinstone's feel. Stay for the location and if you like late 20th century design.

Room Tip: Upper floors protect you from the loud street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    522
    233
    68
    40
See reviews for
162
483
95
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with friends and we did get perfect service. Had a family club room with plenty of space. Very good breakfasts in the Club Lounge with brilliant views over Copenhagen and bits of Sweden.
Service in lobby bar a bit slow, but reception was very efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a precruise package in june. We were so jet lagged but it was nice to just cross the street and wander Zombie- like in Tivoli gardens. Too bad we arrived on friday when they have rhe evening rock concert in the gardens! This started late but this lasted for not too long and i think they stopped playing after about two sets. We had a room higher up with a nice view of tivoli but we could also hear the concert. The music did wake me up but worse
was a lone saxophone player in the wee hours of the morning, playing the same Godfather theme song over and over and over and over....

In regards to decor it is important to remember that this hotel by arne jacobsen has an iconic style. We laughed becuase it reminded us of all the call rooms in hospitals in canada we had spent nights in (an inside joke!). I had to remind myself that those other rooms were all pale copies of an attempt at this style, an attempt to copy this place. We overall slept well and enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel.

Breakfast on the top floor was swanky. Lots of natural light flooding a beautiful breakfast buffet area and the view up there is great. Love the fish for breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orange, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the expedient check in at the podiums, to the excellent breakfasts, to the amazing "period" rooms, to the attentive concierge service, to the cleanliness, this was an amazing stay. We were here 3 nights pre cruise and one night post cruise and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Actually you never have to leave to get the sense of Denmark design. Spent much time in the Arne Jacobsen Egg and Swan chairs, enjoyed the vibe of the lobby. Very conveniently situated, across from Tivoli, an easy walk to the Stroget and near the train station to catch busses all over the city. We were truly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking Tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Probably the ugliest building in Copenhagen but a landmark in its own special way, I suppose. It doesn't give you the best first impression of Copenhagen, but nicer bits of the city are a short walk away. Busy lobby with an overdesigned check-in area which means you have to hover round two or three separate desks. Lots of coming and going in the lobby as this hotel is used by cruise ships visiting Copenhagen. (Why do you have to stay in a hotel if you're on a cruise ship?).
I got a nice corner room on the 7th floor with lots of windows. Plenty of space and well-equipped. Enormous bathroom. The decor is sort of slightly dated Scandinavian but it's well-maintained.
Very good free internet so full marks to Radisson for that. It was quite windy while I was there and there was quite of lot of wind noise even with the windows tightly shut. Not much anyone can do about that I suppose except not build an ugly wannabe skyscraper in the first place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our Travel Agent booked us into this hotel for a couple of days prior to departing on a cruise. We were very disappointed. The hotel has no personality and although it is convenient to the train station and Tivoli Gardens, that's about it. Rooms are small square boxes with working amenities and soft beds. Staff was helpful but not overly.

I think there are better choices when visiting Copenhagen as a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is located right across from Tivoli Gardens (the 11:45 pm fireworks woke us up) and an easy walk to the pedestrian mall where there are many shops and restaurants. The rooms are very modern, almost Ikea-like, but with a 1970's vibe. The rooms are on the small side but were clean and we were lucky enough to have 2 rooms, both with 2 walls of windows. The washrooms are quite spacious. The Royal Cafe on the main level has a limited menu but the food was good. The breakfast buffet on the top floor was good and has a nice view of the city. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper-floor rooms over-looking Tivoli Gardens also have a view of the sea and you can see the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.