We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location opposite tivoli gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson BLU Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson BLU Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location opposite tivoli gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a precruise package in june. We were so jet lagged but it was nice to just cross the street and wander Zombie- like in Tivoli gardens. Too bad we arrived on friday when they have rhe evening rock concert in the gardens! This started late but this lasted for not too long and i think they stopped playing after about two sets. We had a room higher up with a nice view of tivoli but we could also hear the concert. The music did wake me up but worse
was a lone saxophone player in the wee hours of the morning, playing the same Godfather theme song over and over and over and over....

In regards to decor it is important to remember that this hotel by arne jacobsen has an iconic style. We laughed becuase it reminded us of all the call rooms in hospitals in canada we had spent nights in (an inside joke!). I had to remind myself that those other rooms were all pale copies of an attempt at this style, an attempt to copy this place. We overall slept well and enjoyed very much our stay at this hotel.

Breakfast on the top floor was swanky. Lots of natural light flooding a beautiful breakfast buffet area and the view up there is great. Love the fish for breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    510
    227
    65
    38
See reviews for
158
469
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the expedient check in at the podiums, to the excellent breakfasts, to the amazing "period" rooms, to the attentive concierge service, to the cleanliness, this was an amazing stay. We were here 3 nights pre cruise and one night post cruise and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Actually you never have to leave to get the sense of Denmark design. Spent much time in the Arne Jacobsen Egg and Swan chairs, enjoyed the vibe of the lobby. Very conveniently situated, across from Tivoli, an easy walk to the Stroget and near the train station to catch busses all over the city. We were truly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking Tivoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Probably the ugliest building in Copenhagen but a landmark in its own special way, I suppose. It doesn't give you the best first impression of Copenhagen, but nicer bits of the city are a short walk away. Busy lobby with an overdesigned check-in area which means you have to hover round two or three separate desks. Lots of coming and going in the lobby as this hotel is used by cruise ships visiting Copenhagen. (Why do you have to stay in a hotel if you're on a cruise ship?).
I got a nice corner room on the 7th floor with lots of windows. Plenty of space and well-equipped. Enormous bathroom. The decor is sort of slightly dated Scandinavian but it's well-maintained.
Very good free internet so full marks to Radisson for that. It was quite windy while I was there and there was quite of lot of wind noise even with the windows tightly shut. Not much anyone can do about that I suppose except not build an ugly wannabe skyscraper in the first place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our Travel Agent booked us into this hotel for a couple of days prior to departing on a cruise. We were very disappointed. The hotel has no personality and although it is convenient to the train station and Tivoli Gardens, that's about it. Rooms are small square boxes with working amenities and soft beds. Staff was helpful but not overly.

I think there are better choices when visiting Copenhagen as a tourist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is located right across from Tivoli Gardens (the 11:45 pm fireworks woke us up) and an easy walk to the pedestrian mall where there are many shops and restaurants. The rooms are very modern, almost Ikea-like, but with a 1970's vibe. The rooms are on the small side but were clean and we were lucky enough to have 2 rooms, both with 2 walls of windows. The washrooms are quite spacious. The Royal Cafe on the main level has a limited menu but the food was good. The breakfast buffet on the top floor was good and has a nice view of the city. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper-floor rooms over-looking Tivoli Gardens also have a view of the sea and you can see the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a night after the Princess cruise of baltic sea. The hotel is located just opposite to tivoli and close to all major attractions. The hop and hop off starts right at the entrance of the hotel. The breakfast was good and the family room very spacious. My special appreciation to Mario at the front desk he was very polite, friendly and very efficient. Only suggestion the carpets in the room needs to be changed

Room Tip: If you are family of 4 ask for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for one night on business so did not have a chance to check out all the amenities. Good location opposite Tivoli Gardens and some nice eateries across the road.
Room a bit basic for the price but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson BLU Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Royal Hotel

Address: HammerichsGade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson BLU Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Radisson BLU Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;