We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in Copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Longport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have nothing to complain about, however it doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel compared to 5 star hotels we are used to in the US. Our flight got bumped from a strike so we decided to stay a couple nights in Copenhagen. Basically the cab driver told us it was one of the nicest hotels and tired from our long day in the airport I really didn't care all that much where we stayed, just wanted something nice. Rooms were nice and hotel was clean. The location was pretty good but if I had time to research I would have picked a boutique hotel. I think that would have gave us a better feel of the city. Overall I was happy with my stay and Copenhagen is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    586
    262
    79
    49
See reviews for
184
539
106
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After a very long flight we were welcomed to our radisson experience, our room was good size for European standards, very Danish modern. Nice bathroom, tho bit skimpy on soap! We had a great view over looking Trivoli Gardens. Even tho the train station was within view it was very quiet! Our room included a full breakfast each morning, served until 10:00 am! Great variety and wonderful breads....we were traveling with our family and had reserved 3 other rooms all nice and quiet! The Concierge had suggested 2 close by "modestly" priced eateries. Great location to explore on foot many of the sights. We really enjoyed this ideal location to start our Baltic adventure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a modern yet old hotel in a great central Copenhagen location, ideal for the main station. Big and bold, but the check-in desks are strangely arranged- they are unidentifiable without a queue of waiting people. Seems to be popular with rich foreign travellers and groups. Bed comfortable, room quiet, A/C works, iron in the room, free wireless, ticks all boxes for me. Pricey, but that's CPH - if only there was more high quality choice in the area...

Room Tip: High rooms have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for two days recently. The room was very clean. The location of the hotel was excellent. Its about a block away from Tivoli park. It's right in the center of the city. I wasn't really bothered by the train station being accross the street. I was on the 14th floor. I was able to hear the people in the room next to mine coughing, and talking, I could hear other people's running water when they were in their bathrooms. I thought that was odd. The lobby of this hotel is very nice. They also have a restaurant on the 20th floor, which I did not visit. I did visit a local place called Brasserie Degas, which was excellent. I would recommend this hotel, if you are not bothered by thin walls. Other than that it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just have to write about the Cafe Royal. It is overrated ! Sevice is at best mediocre, and food is dull, despite the prices being very fine.
We were a group of people, who had dinner after a meeting. The portions are very small, several of us were still hungry afterwards. There was the same potatoes and grilled leeks on the side, no matter which dish you ordered, meat, fish etc. A bit of a poor show, for this place, and those prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, location is great. It is costly but worth the cost. We had a terrific time, you can just walk to the museums, Tivoli and other attractions. Food is excellent and you have various options. Parking ia available onsite though there is a charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I ended up staying here as part of a cruise package. It was funny since I had actually picked this place out on my own based on the reviews on this site and the location. I took a cab into the city, the driver gave a great little tour on the way in, and I quickly ended up in the Radisson Blu. I was SO appreciative that even though I arrived at 9am, they had a room ready for me. I was able to go upstairs, shower, and take a nap after the long flight over before going out to enjoy the city.

I had a corner room on the 7th floor. The views were not the prime views of Tivoli, but still pretty (see pics).

The room/hotel itself is somewhat utilitarian. The lobby is pretty "blah," the rooms are a bit outdated, the shower is awkward to climb in and out of, and it faces the mirror, so you end up watching yourself shower which is always so odd to me. The furniture is best described as "Ikea chic," and is not very comfortable, although I found the bed to be very comfortable.

However, the internet is free, the concierge was able to get me literally a last minute reservation at a restaurant across the street, and every employee I encountered was lovely. For me, these pluses outweigh any minuses about the room.

Finally, location, location, location! You are literally across the street from Tivoli. You are 1 block from City Hall Square. There are restaurants and shops in every direction. The location of this hotel cannot be beat!

If you want a landing pad, and not necessarily a luxury experience, this is definitely the hotel for you. When I find myself in Copenhagen again, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I did think the corner rooms were worth the extra price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Hammerichsgade 1, Copenhagen 1611, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning architectural hotel welcomes Copenhagen guests to Denmark Expertly designed and perfectly situated, the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen is the premier accommodation choice near Tivoli Gardens in Denmark's capital city. Designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen, the hotel is a beacon of style with its spiral staircase and reflective facade. Choose from 260 rooms and suites with amenities including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Hotel guests enjoy on-site features such as award-winning restaurants, an exceptional fitness centre and flexible conference facilities. • Unique design elements including the famous "Swan" and "Egg" chairs • The city's central train station, Tivoli Gardens and popular shopping street Stroget within walking distance of this Copenhagen hotel's location • A total of 260 striking guest rooms and suites offering bathrobes and 24-hour room service • Gourmet, seasonal Danish cuisine served at Alberto K overlooking the city • Drinks, coffees and meals in a relaxed setting at Cafe Royal and the Royal Bar • Personal trainers, dry and steam saunas and massage services available at the 2,000-square-metre fitness centre • Meeting facilities with the option of auditoriums seating 300 and smaller rooms for intimate gatherings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Rezidor, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Radisson Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Royal Copenhagen
Radisson Sas Copenhagen
Copenhagen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.