We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in a very expensive city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neptun to your Saves list
Hotel Neptun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Brighton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a very expensive city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Copenhagen is not a budget break destination . For a reasonably priced hotel option and with a free evening buffet included, we were pleasantly surprised at the excellent location, cleanliness and overall appearance of this hotel. Our room was comfortable and welcoming and included a bath tub as well as shower. With it being -9C when we arrived, the under floor heating was lovely! The lounge space downstairs felt very relaxed and the breakfast and buffet included were varied and plentiful.

The best part for me however was the location. We caught the metro direct from the airport to Konigs Nytorv which was just a few streets away from the hotel. Therefore, the transfer in total only took 25 minutes! Not only that, but the hotel is only one street away from the beautiful Nyhavn waterfront, which for me was a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    290
    179
    57
    51
See reviews for
115
322
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Marine, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

If you have kids go for room 214 - quiet although no outside view. nice big bedroom and separate room with sofa bed, camp bed and own flat screen TV. Good size bathroom although dodgy shower head. Only gripe about room was insufficient shelf storage and we had to ask for the DVD player. This had no leads as they "hadn't arrived" but luckily my husband had brought a spare and VERY helpful blond reception gentleman came up to check all was working. Bathroom - could do with re grouting and new toilet but plenty of towels etc. Generally quite clean but we asked 3 times for sheets to be changed (over 5 days) and not done. We suspect that the staff (especially on reception) are under staffed and doing a reasonable job with stingy management.
REally nice decor and general ambience and staff in general very nice and friendly. Our boys liked the separate lounge with books and DVD's to borrow. It would benefit from a (REASONABLY PRICED!) bar though.
V good breakfast with plenty of choice and lots of organish stuff although maybe we were unlucky over N Year not to have any fruit or pastries on 2 mornings. Lovely to have unlimited coffee etc at breakfast and after 3pm . The cake thing a bit arbitrary - one day none, next day none so I just asked and he sorted it in minutes.
Evening buffet - for a "light" buffet you can fill your boots if you are not a fussy eater and pretty healthy. Soup/ small portions or a hot meal/ salads/ lovely breads/ cheeses/ fruit and nuts and sometimes frech fruit. ONLY gripe = drinks. On 2 nights one waiter served jugs of water - great but after that another said he was "not allowed". The drinks prices were very high - 95% of guests chose to go without. We just used our brains and brought our own! If the management charged a third less for wine etc I am sure they would make a lot more profit.
We would use it again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCNeptun, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for your time writing about your stay at our hotel.
I am glad to hear that you overall were very happy with your stay and that you will come back to us.
We do not have a DVD- player in every room, we do have them done in the reception where you can come down and rent them and the DVD film for free.
In our concept with free evening buffet and coffee, the and fruit 24 seven we also serve a cake between 3 -8 pm.
The evening buffet is free of charge for the guest but not the drinks, we have the same price on the drinks that what you are paying when you are out in a restaurant in Copenhagen.
The cleaning should be done every day so that will we make sure that the do.
Looking forward to se you hear again soon
Best regards
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

the location in a quiet street adjacent to Nyhavn and close to the metro and the main shopping area of Copenhagen, is perfect.
Breakfast and a light evening buffet is included, so no need to hunt for nearby restaurants. I had a small suite with private entrance and loved the quietness. And free internet was also appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCNeptun, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for your time writing about your stay at our hotel.
Glad to hear that you were happy with your stay.
Yes our location is perfect, close to everything and very nice and quiet.
Beside the free evening buffet you can also enjoy free coffee, tea and fruit twenty-four- seven, cake from 3-6 pm, free internet connection.
Looking forward to se you hear again soon
Best regards
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

4 star hotel with 5 star prices at a 3 star quality. Poor breakfast, tables stayed with plenty of plates, painters were painting in the breakfast room during the breakfast..Very small rooms (my bed was placed between 3 walls) and shabby bathroom (almost no water in the shower), but good quality bed and excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed for ambiance and value.
Location is perfect for exploring the main attractions of CPH.
We would like to commend Jan at reception for his help and friendly approach though out our stay. The evening buffet was very good value, saving lots of Aussie dollars. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hotel is situated in a great location - just behind Nyhavn pier. It is a Clarion Collection hotel which means it offers a free dinner buffet from 6pm. This is an added bonus if you are travelling on a budget! The quality of the food however is so-so, but I do think that most guests were pleased.

The breakfast is also fairly simple, but they do offer some organic/eco products. We requested vegan food, and they said the kitchen would try to make us some, but there were literally nothing for us to eat. Luckily we had brought our own food. So do keep in mind that this hotel does not cater for vegans.

The hotel does not come off as a 4 star hotel, because it is fairly run down. Parts of the hotel are very nice, but some parts simply look old. I guess some of it might be described as "cozy", but I did expect more. They have a nice roof top terrace though!

Our room was nice, with a comfortable bed, but the bathroom was in need of renovation. The maids also didn't clean the room very well. Even though we were in an allergy-room it was very dusty.

The reception staff are nice & friendly.

I would recommend this hotel to someone who doesn't necessarily need a super fancy hotel, who wants to travel on a budget, save some money on free meals and who wants to stay at a good location in Copenhagen.

You can take the metro from the airport directly to Kongens Nytorv and walk to the hotel from there. (approx 5-10 min). The hotel is situated at the end of the main pedestrian street Strøget and it will take about 20 min to walk from the hotel through Strøget to the City Hall/Rådhuspladsen/Central Station.

I also recommend buying the Copenhagen Card - great value!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

suite no 20 - bathroom not usable. You have to sit down to take a shower.
overall the hotel need to be refurbished.
The terrace on the roof is nice in the sunshine
Afternoon meal - not good
breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptun

Address: Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptun 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CHARMING FOUR STAR HOTEL In the heart of Copenhagen you can stay at a calm and peaceful oasis. The Hotel Neptun is a charming 4 star hotel with a 137 rooms in the center of the city's history and cultural heritage in walking distance to Kongens Nytorv (The King's Square), The Royal Theatre, the popular shopping street 'Stroget' and Amalienborg Castle - home to the royal family. Close by you will also find the charming area Nyhavn and The Little Mermaid. A Hidden Gem Hotel Neptun has a long and exciting history. It was established by Mrs. Svendsen in 1851 and it was run illegally. The hotel was unlicensed and many of the guests were smugglers, living beside the law. To be let in to the hotel you had to give a pass phrase: "Neptune". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Copenhagen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.