We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Nyhavn, central but quiet, close to the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neptun to your Saves list
Hotel Neptun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great location near Nyhavn, central but quiet, close to the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

An intense two week business trip was made tolerable by Hotel Neptun.

A very pleasant two roomed suite made my stay less prison-like than a normal rectangular hotel room with the bathroom on the left or right as you walk in with a window at the end.

Breakfasts were excellent, plenty of Danish pastries and rollmops herring, if either are your thing.

The best thing is the hotel's location close to the old and new harbours and the Parliament and Royal palace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We want to welcome you back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.

Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    290
    179
    57
    51
See reviews for
115
322
38
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is located on a quite, somewhat residential street with a small park in front. It is also right around the corner from Nyhavn and a short walk (5-10 min) from the Kongens Nytorv train station and the main shopping area. We took the train from the airport. Once you figure the ticket machines & have the right kind of bank card, navigating the system is easy.
The hotel buildings are quit old which is nice for a historical context but there are modern comforts and decor. The bathroom was a little dark and dated but functioned just fine.
Staff was helpful & friendly.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful. Our rate included a lite evening buffet which proved to be very convenient for us. Copenhagen is very expensive, and is known for great cuisine but since I don't eat seafood or fish and was less adventuresome in terms of dining out, my options were limited. So the buffet came in handy. There were fresh salads and fruit. Nice selection of cheeses, breads and crackers and a soup. The hot selection changed each day and was pretty tasty. You could also purchase beer or wine. We were able to socialize with some of the other guests. This also allowed us to eat earlier and have time to check out some bars, breweries and music venues. Copenhagen is easy to get around by public transportation. The longer you stay, the smaller the city seems and you can explore the various neighborhood easily.
We did like this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us, that you liked the location of the hotel and our concept with breakfast and a light evening buffet included in the price.

We want to welcome you back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location; near by Nyhavn and good point to start Amalienborg Palace etc.
Good food - breakfast and dinner.
We have a small room, but nice and very clean. Good internet access.
All these plus the people from Denmark offered us a great vacancy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel. Neptun. It is so nce to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us, the loacation of the hotel and the good breakfast and light evening buffet included in the price.

Welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun

Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked 3 nights here as a treat for us at the end of our week honeymoon and were disappointed. This is a 4 star hotel but we stayed in 3 star hotels during the week that were much better. First there is no car park so we had a pay for street parking which is very very expensive. On arrival we waited for 10 minutes (along with another guest) at the reception desk before any one came to check us in. During that 10 mins one staff member was on the phone and did not acknowledge us. Our room was very small and faced the dining room. This meant that at 5am we were woken by the staff getting the room ready for breakfast and banging the plates etc on the marble tops. The room was very hot and stuff even though we had air conditioning (it did not work very well at all, a ceiling fan would be much better). When having a shower the water went all over the sink, and floor. There is no shower curtain just a glass panel on the opposite end of the bath. I tried different ways of positioning the shower but each time water would spray all over the bathroom.
The hotel is in need of renovation, lots of the carpets are stained, the walls are scuffed and in need of a repaint. I imagine back in the day it was a grand hotel, however I am sad to say this is not the case now.
The breakfast was ok, with a good choice but it was very busy every morning making it difficult to find a table. However the evening meal (included in price) was very bad. On day of arrival we had what we think was fish in breadcrumbs (the fish was grey) and the chips were cold and did not look cooked. The salad and bread was ok but when I asked for a glass of water I was told it was only possible to buy drinks. We ate out the next 2 evenings.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location, as it is very close to Nyhavn and the centre. We paid about 150 pound for 2 for 3 nights which is great for the location and that is the only reason I would recommend this hotel. We were rather disappointed that this 4 star hotel did not provide what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Inside facing rooms have air conditioning but ours did not cool the room much, outside rooms do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun near Nyhavn on Aug 8-14, 2013. The hotel was very clean and we had a king sized bed. The location was perfect, right around the block from Nyhavn and close to the metro. Bring your walking shoes, we did a bunch. Copenhagen is very noisy at night. We had to sleep with the window open since there is no air conditioning. All the sounds at street level echo. I could have sworn that a bus load of people were dropped off in front of the hotel in the middle of the night. I looked outside and it was 2 men talking quietly and 3 teens laughing. I don't think this can be unique to this hotel, it's the area. The good thing about the hotel is that they serve breakfast and dinner, included. Everything is so expensive that this was really a savings. I read complaints about the size of the plates and the lines. We didn't experience this. The plates were lunch size and held plenty. There weren't any lines. The dinner food was one entree like, pork sausage, vegetarian pizza, chicken in sauce, etc. Not great but edible and filling. There was also a very large salad bar, cold cuts, fresh bread and cheese and crackers. Desert was minimal, usually a tiny yogurt parfait. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Regarding the dinner including in the price, the Clarion Collection consept is that there is breakfast and a light evening buffet included in the price. And regarding the noise in the front of the hotel, this area is actually one of the areas in Copenhagen that is one of the more quite ones.

Welcome back to COpenhagen again, and hopefully Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This nice hotel in Copenhagen is perfectly located near Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. The rooms are clean, but rather small. The staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast is ok and served in a nice conservatory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. For your information we have different kinds of roomtypes, from moderate rooms, to standard, superior and suites. The moderate rooms are of course a bit smaler than the standard rooms.

Welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spend 3 nights with friends for a city trip in Copenhagen based on its location excellent location:
lying on a quiet square, yet only a few hundred meters away from Nyhavn, Stroget, the Royal Palace, the Royal theater. (And when the new bridge is finished end this year, also minutes walking distance from Christianshavn and the new opera building. )

The hotel offers bicycle rental and a complementary dinner buffet (not haute cuisine, but absolutely correct, and certainly welcome in a rather expensive city for eating as Copenhagen). The rooms are ok, though could indeed need some freshen up.

So would have been a great place to recommend. However, the one thing really letting it down is a lack of fresh air in the rooms, certainly during hot July nights. Fans are provided upon request, but really this isn't a great solution.

Too bad, overall mixed feelings.

Room Tip: May be worth trying to get a street side room so that windows can be opened to let in fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on Tripadvisor regarding CLarion Collection Hotel Neptun. We are glad to read that you liked our hotels location and the consept with the light evening buffet including in the price.

Regarding our rooms we have rooms facing the back yard, and the front that has no air coolers, but as you wrote you could borrow fans in the reception. We also have about 60
rooms facing the atriums that has aircoolers in all rooms.

We wish you a great summer, and welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun-
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptun

Address: Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptun 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CHARMING FOUR STAR HOTEL In the heart of Copenhagen you can stay at a calm and peaceful oasis. The Hotel Neptun is a charming 4 star hotel with a 137 rooms in the center of the city's history and cultural heritage in walking distance to Kongens Nytorv (The King's Square), The Royal Theatre, the popular shopping street 'Stroget' and Amalienborg Castle - home to the royal family. Close by you will also find the charming area Nyhavn and The Little Mermaid. A Hidden Gem Hotel Neptun has a long and exciting history. It was established by Mrs. Svendsen in 1851 and it was run illegally. The hotel was unlicensed and many of the guests were smugglers, living beside the law. To be let in to the hotel you had to give a pass phrase: "Neptune". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Copenhagen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.