We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptun

Save Saved
You added Hotel Neptun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Neptun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
USA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is in the city center and very close to major tourist attractions. The royal palace is a 5 minute walk. Nyhavn is 5 minutes in the other direction. Kastellet is an easy walk. Tivoli is within walking range as is the armaments museum. The major shopping area is about 10 minutes. There are many, many restaurants in the area (Told&Snaps - great).

The rooms are small but no complaints except it was pretty warm. The desk has fans on request. Request one. Some of the rooms are around a central atrium eating area. This makes opening the window somewhat problematic due to noise. Next time I'll try and avoid that.

Staff were very helpful.

Breakfast, a late afternoon snack, and dinner were included. All were fine but seating was limited. Either arrive early or plan on hovering for a while until a table opens up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on Tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We wish you a great summer.
Welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collecton Hotel Neptun
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    298
    167
    53
    51
See reviews for
98
296
35
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

great friendly staff who were happy to advise and spoke very good English . The hotel was central and walking distance to major sites and to Nyhavn . Close to were cruise ships dock.Excellent breakfast and more than adequate supper if you choose not to go out .Very good value for money .However no one to help to take luggage to the the room but this is not a major. Would recommend.We state for a couple of days before cruie and and a day after the cruise

Room Tip: in spite of facing road our room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on Tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is nice to read that you like the location of the hotel, our wonderful staff, and breakfast and light dinner buffet. We usually are not able to help with luggage to the rooms, since we often have just 1 receptionist at work. But of course we could help you if you ask us.

Welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was great and staff also. We had a problem with plumbing, they are short handed, the desk clerk will have to come fix the toilet, my husband worked on it, got it working... These things we need to expect in the upcoming economy, one person to do 10 jobs. This guy at the desk was awesome.. The location is great.

My negative: the dining area is so small we waited a very long time for breakfast and dinner to get a table, we couldn't on all accounts... we had to go elsewhere. it was so crowded. so if you booking this hotel because breakfast and a light dinner is included, you might consider unless, you are very aggresive and rude and shove your way to it all, which I saw a lot of...when it came to the europeans , sorry, it's truth, if so you will get your money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. I am sorry to read that your stay was not as expected.

Regarding the plumbing in your room; that I do not understand since we have our own technician at the hotel. Was it at night this happended?

And regarding the seating in the restaurant; we have 3 different places where you can sit and enjoy your breakfast and evening buffet. I am sorry that there was no staff there to show you to a available table. There should of course be somebody there at all time if you have problems finding a table available.

We wish you a great summer and welcome back to Copenhagen.
Best regards the staff at Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Perfect location, one block from Nyhavn, in the city center. Staff always ready to assist. Offers a free afternoon tea and evening buffet. Good breakfast and free internet. It is a very good value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Welcome back to Copenhagen and CLarion Collection Hotel Neptun

Best regards the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hotel Neptun is in a lovely area near Nyhavn and the city centre. Copenhagen is a reasonably expensive city, but I really didn't find the prices generally excessive. The Neptun certainly helped the budget though providing a great breakfast and very pleasant evening meal (with fruit cheeses and dessert if you wished) and we appreciated this.

The reception staff were always helpful and pleasant. Free WiFi throughout the hotel which worked well.

Our room was in a building a couple of doors along from the hotel proper. It was overly hot even with the windows open. The room and bathroom were a bit tired. Towels definitely tired as they were so close to being holed! Quite threadbare which is not something I would expect from a four star hotel.

It was walking distance from lots of restaurants and attractions and in a quiet street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding CLarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our consept with breakfast and light evening meal including in the roomrate, and also regarding our great staff.

I am sorry to read regarding the room you had. This summer has of course been very hot in Copenhagen. We have aircoolers in the rooms facing the atrium. And you can borrow fans for free in the reception. Regarding the towels, that is the first time a have had a complaint regarding the standard. That I need to check with the housekeeping dep. And that of course we are really sorry about.

We wish you a great summer.
Best regards the staff at Clarion Collection Hotel neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for a couple of nights at the end of a Baltic cruise and were very pleased with our choice. Our room faced the gardens and was reasonably quiet. Whilst not large, it was comfortable and had a very good T.V., which enabled us to enjoy watching Andy Murray win Wimbledon! The buffet breakfast was very good, with delicious crispy bacon and fluffy soft scrambled eggs(quite unusual compared to most hotels!), in addition to the usual cereals, cold meats, cheese and lovely Danish pastries. The light supper was an added benefit included in the room rate, especially given the cost of eating out in Copenhagen. The location was ideal for visiting most attractions on foot and in walking distance of the Metro for the airport. The staff were helpful and friendly and the Wi Fi was free and quite fast.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room rather than one facing the internal atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your reply on tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Welcome back to Copenhagen and Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here before Baltic cruise, like many others. The location can't be beat, and reasonably priced. The buffet was an added bonus, especially in Copenhagen where eating out is quite expensive. The cons 1.) the strictly enforced check-in time (we got in really early, and with kids, the last thing you want to do is wander the city aimlessly for hours, waiting to get into your room). 2.) the rooms are quite noisy. We had a suite which had one room facing out, and the other facing the courtyard. Noise came from both sides. 3.) we were there on a hot day, and without air conditioning, the room was unbearably stuffy. Despite these setbacks, the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne Mari S, General Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
It is nice to read that you could enjoy our location, and evening buffet including in the price.

Regarding the check in time, that is often the case in the summertime that we can not promise check in before 14. That is of course we are fully booked, and most of the guests checks out at around 12. Then we of course need time to clean all the rooms for the new guests arriving that day.

We are sorry to hear that you thought the room was noisy. Was it from the Atrium since the other side is facing the backyard?

We wish you a great summer- and welcome back to Copenhagen.
The staff from Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptun

Address: Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Copenhagen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.