We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT value for money and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neptun to your Saves list
Hotel Neptun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT value for money and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I noticed several hotels in Copnehagen had been given poor reviews due in part to unfriendly reception staff. We had quite the opposite experience with recection staff at Neptun - welcoming and friendly and very helpful indeed. Room cleaner was lovely and worked quickly and to a hgig standard and waiting staff in the dining area were extremely helpful.

The hotel location is best in Copenhagen, situated in Nyhaven and near metro, shopping and waterfront amenities in nice residential area. Rooms were immaculately clean and quite roomy indeed as well as very comfortable. The breakfast was a very substanical buffet with good choices and the evening "light buffet" was more than adequate offering choice to guests. Overall, a very good experience and excellent value for money compared with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    308
    190
    59
    51
See reviews for
119
335
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel, arriving very easily by metro from the airport. The hotel is about five to ten minutes walk from the Kongens Nyrtov metro station.
The room was spacious, bathroom adequate with shower over the bath.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Evening light buffet was more than adequate and again plentiful, including lots of salads, cheeses, lots of different breads, soup and a hot meal or two, (for example pasta carbonara, meat and mash etc). You don't have to eat there every night, but it is most welcome when you have been out all day and don't necessarily want to go out again.
All of the staff was friendly and helpful and all spoke English.
Overall it was quiet and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malling, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in Room 325 is a "Superior"- room for two nights. However without any kind of facility for heating. This is too bad for a "Superior"-room in a 4 star hotel in Copenhagen!!! - Afterwards I have been informed that the reason for the missing heating facility is the fact, that the building is from 1851!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCNeptun, Manager at Hotel Neptun, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your respond of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun.
Yes the building is from 1851 but not our bathrooms. When they were renovated they only but in heating in some of the bathrooms. To handle this problem we have now bought bathmat for these bathrooms.
Hope to see you at our hotel next time you are in Copenhagen.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel very central and easy to find, we caught the metro from the airport and were able to walk to the hotel pulling our luggage. Room was small but very clean, the bathroom was nice, shower over the bath but was a good size and perfectly adequate. Breakfast and dinner were included, dinner was fairly ordinary but after a 24 hour flight it was very convienient not having to find somewhere to eat. Staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful and despite being really busy were happy to organise taxis for the many people (including ourselves) wanting to go to the port to meet the Emerald Princess cruise ship. All in all we thought the Neptun was good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent a Saturday night here and then 2 weeks later a Sunday night. We had booked an economy room each time. The rooms are very small. Room 515 was very nicely appointed but the bathtub was under a low ceiling, image showering sitting in the tub and hard to get out of. Room 410 was small and the shower was simply part of the bathroom, meaning the floor got wet. The light evening meal was salad and chicken legs one night and salad and meatballs the other night. The location and the staff was perfect! I do plan on staying again next year.

Room Tip: If staying more than 1 night, upgrade the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Hotel may not be 4-star by North American or Asian resort standard. We have stayed in other much worse shape 4-star European hotels. House keeper only provided 2 bath towels and 2 face towels and no floor mat. We stayed in room 424. The room does have Air cooler, see photo. There was no remote control for temperature, fan speed, pan and swing. It cool the room down significantly. In the old days, the plumbers and electricians do not always put user interface as their primary concern. They would install things at their convenience. Fixtures, power switches, toilet, shower and sink may not be in the ideal place. We must shower very carefully in order not to splash too mush water on the floor. As shown in the picture, when I sat on the toilet, my right shoulder rubbed against the wall. Toilet paper was almost out of reach. I am not complaining. I just tried to say when I design something, I would visualize myself as the user first.

Hotel staff was excellent and friendly. We asked the front desk to call a taxi to cruise port. She told us that rate would be 200Kr. The driver showed up within 5 minutes. He entered a fix fee of 180Kr. We gave him 200 anyway. It was a short drive. Taxi from airport to hotel trip was much longer and the fee was 265Kr.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for one night post-cruise and were happy to be able to walk everywhere from this location. From the airport, we took the Metro to the Nytorv stop and walked only a few blocks to the hotel. We were able to walk to the Town Hall and Tivoli along the Stroyet and we walked in the other direction to Rosenborg Castle, Amalieborg Palace and the Little Mermaid. The breakfast and dinners were not exciting, but served in a lovely setting and so convenient. The desk called a taxi for us to travel to the ship and it was there in less than 5 minutes. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptun

Address: Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptun 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CHARMING FOUR STAR HOTEL In the heart of Copenhagen you can stay at a calm and peaceful oasis. The Hotel Neptun is a charming 4 star hotel with 137 rooms in the center of the city's history and cultural heritage in walking distance to Kongens Nytorv (The King's Square), The Royal Theatre, the popular shopping street 'Stroget' and Amalienborg Castle - home to the royal family. Close by you will also find the charming area Nyhavn and The Little Mermaid. A Hidden Gem Hotel Neptun has a long and exciting history. It was established by Mrs. Svendsen in 1851 and it was run illegally. The hotel was unlicensed and many of the guests were smugglers, living beside the law. To be let in to the hotel you had to give a pass phrase: "Neptune". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Copenhagen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.