We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neptun to your Saves list
Hotel Neptun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff was nice and tried to help but the hotel badly needs renovation: the carpets, walls and tiles are used, stained or cracked, the windows lets the cold air in, there was not heater in the bathroom.
The hotel has a general heating problem
Our room (# 520) was very small with a low attic roof, the phone did not work, neither did the TV. Some bulbs were dead here and there. One would expect better for 150 € a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    308
    190
    59
    51
See reviews for
119
335
39
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, travelling togheter with my husband and parents. My husband and I got a room with a street-view. The room was big and was in a very good standard: big bed, flatscreen tv, clean. Bathroom also very nice. My parents also had a big, nice room - but the window in their room headed against the breakfast area!! They could not open the window to for example get fresh air..


You are offered a great breakfast, cakes for the afternoon tea, and a light supper in the evening - all included; great!! BUT: The breakfast area is TINY. On weekdays you could get a table without any problem - but in weekends its overcrowded - and difficult to get a table. We actually had to eat in a conference room - after waiting for a long time.. Backdraw!

The location is very central and nice. Quiet neighbourhood and just a short walk to shopping and sights.

I really recommend taking a trip with the canal boats. Make sure you take the cheapest tour - GREAT value! Ask in the hotel for this, we read about it in a brochure in the lobby. A GREAT way to see the city.

All in all: this hotel is a great place to stay in while visiting beautiful Copenhagen!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the window heading OUTSIDE - not to the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Finn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed in clarion hotel recntly...

+ves - great location...good breakfast n dinner..
-ves - rooms were verrry small n congested..high price

so overall i say it depens on your preference..but if u have any other better option go for it..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

As many of the previous reviewers have stated, this hotel has a great location. The Sankt Anne Plads is one of the nicer squares of Copenhagen with a lot of atmosphere. The Hotel itself is not very special. The staff is nice and friendly and during my stay I saw that the hotel was being cleaned all the time. However the hotel itself is quite old and despite the efforts to keep it in good shape, it needs some renovation. The hallways and rooms have creaky floors and the hotel has a “tired” feel over it. It seems its best days are over. My room was small but clean and overlooked the courtyard. Not a good location as the courtyard contains a restaurant so you cannot open your windows as the noise would be too loud. Also you don’t get any fresh air as the courtyard is has a roof over it. I would recommend the hotel if you need a night’s sleep at a good location, but if you are after a romantic hotel there are better – and cheaper – options nearby. If the prices would be lower there would be a much better price/quality ratio. I believe the price is too high for just the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here with my sister-in-law over the weekend Jan 20-23, and enjoyed our stay very much. Our single rooms (518, 521) were quite small, but tidy and silent. Breakfast as well as light eve buffet was varied and sufficient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is at short walking distance from Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv. We had nothing to complaint about, so we would stay here again on returning to CPH.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hotel near the centre of the city with 5 minute walk from the underground, we celebrated the new year with awesome firework displays. The hotel is near the Royal Palace and the changing of the guard at noon everyday with full military brass band fabulous, rooms and facilities good food included breakfast with cooked or healthy foods choices and evening meals all very tasty and the staff very attentative and helpful.

Room Tip: request an outer bedroom as the inner court yard rooms are very hot and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Staff were generally very helpful. Location for tourists and business. The rooms are very comfortable, nice, quiet interior design. Buffet breakfast and a light supper is included in the price of some rooms. Great value for the money. WiFi internet quite speedy. Free coffe all day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptun

Address: Sankt Annae Pl. 18-20, Copenhagen 1250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptun 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CHARMING FOUR STAR HOTEL In the heart of Copenhagen you can stay at a calm and peaceful oasis. The Hotel Neptun is a charming 4 star hotel with 137 rooms in the center of the city's history and cultural heritage in walking distance to Kongens Nytorv (The King's Square), The Royal Theatre, the popular shopping street 'Stroget' and Amalienborg Castle - home to the royal family. Close by you will also find the charming area Nyhavn and The Little Mermaid. A Hidden Gem Hotel Neptun has a long and exciting history. It was established by Mrs. Svendsen in 1851 and it was run illegally. The hotel was unlicensed and many of the guests were smugglers, living beside the law. To be let in to the hotel you had to give a pass phrase: "Neptune". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Copenhagen
Clarion Copenhagen
Copenhagen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.