We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Esplanaden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added First Hotel Esplanaden to your Saves list
First Hotel Esplanaden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bredgade 78, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A. Small hotel in a calm and quiet area. The rooms was small but fresh and clean so it was good value for the money. There was a small but good working lobby with kind and helpful stuff. Its walking distanse to the most you want to se and do in Copenhagen. Very close to Langelinie port, Nyhavn, Ströget. And a good breakfast buffet was included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    46
    36
    25
See reviews for
16
42
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here with two colleagues. The beds were very comfortable. A perfect night's sleep. But everything else was moderate. The rooms are fairly basic and in need of sprucing up. Attention to detail was lacking: two colleagues did not have towels. One had a toilet seat that she had to clean herself. Breakfast was adequate. But the main impression we all had was of lack of a customer care culture. At the reception desk, we could not find a member of staff to solve the towel problem. At checkout, a queue of five people formed in front of a staff-free desk,

The distance between a welcome and feeling irrelevant, is not really very great. Cleaning rooms properly should not be a challenge. This hotel needs to try harder.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night in July. I had read mixed reviews before booking,but there wasn't much left to choose from,so I decided to give it a go. I know Copenhagen is expensive,but after paying 95 euros for a singleroom with breakfast included,I expected more.

Pros:

+ The location.The hotel is located within easy walking distance to many of the main sights.
+ Quiet room facing the back of the hotel.
+ Quick check-in and ok service by the staff.
+ Free wi-fi

Cons

- Dated hotel. Creaky floorboards,scary old elevator,rusty mirror in the bathroom.
- Small room
- Weird,damp smell in the bathroom. This must be because as you take a shower,the water floods the bathroom floor,with no possibility to get to the drain.This is because of the placement of the drain. There should be two drains in the bathroom instead.
- I found hairs on my pillow.I've worked as a hotel cleaner before,so I know that sometimes the hairs are already there when the sheets get back from the cleaners,but it doesn't take long to check the bed when you've finished making it. It's a small thing for the cleaning lady,but a big deal for me as a guest.
- No milk by the coffee at breakfast.You had to take milk from the milkmachine,which felt silly.Why not have a milkjug there instead.

All in all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in June - one of the poorer hotels we have visited.
Copenhagen is an expensive city however this hotel was overpriced (c £160 per night) for a poorly decorated & standard of room. Shower leaks all over the bathroom floor, pillows are half a normal pillow size and dooner does not cover the bed. We stayed two nights and for some reason our room was not cleaned. Hotel has a fancy lobby however tired interior everywhere else. Recommend some TLC and service/controls improvement. Would advise to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Consider staying in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

pros: The room was spacious and had a lot of natural light (got 3 big windows), everything was clean. The staff is good and the location is excellent, walking distance from the little mermaid statue. Breakfast is ok. Free wifi.
cons: The shower's drain seems to be a little clogged and the extra bed (tripple room) wasn't that confortable. A bit obsolete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an old-style hotel -sadly not in the nice historical way. This place went without renovation obviously for too long. Seems like the fact that many times all Copenhagen hotels are fully booked anyway makes the management not investing into this place at all.

The lobby is OK. The rooms and the corridors however are showing their age. Worn out carpet in the very narrow corridor. Burnt out lights and strangely working light switches that nobody wants to change/fix. Tiny rooms, no AC, old and very-very simple furniture, no minibar etc. The only positive thing is that they have what most modern hotels completely forget: a power outlet next to the bedside table to charge your phone conveniently overnight. This of course cannot counter all the negatives.

I haven't experienced the lack of cleaning that other reviews mentioned -hopefully a change in staff, or maybe just luck...

There's no real need for a longer report on this hotel, the bottomline is clear: if nothing else matters but location then go ahead, if there's any other consideration, I recommend to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

deceived. a couple of blocks was staying at clarion . first offers liw level quality rooms with almost same price. i recommend clarion closer.
the staff lack service culture and are unwilling to go the extramile. a lot still to do i would not use for next time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Esplanaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Esplanaden

Address: Bredgade 78, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Esplanaden 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 5-story Hotel located downtown, close to Amalienborg (the Queen's Palace) & "The Little Mermaid". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your First Hotel Esplanaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Inn Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Esplanaden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.