We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
First Hotel Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colbjornsensgade 4-8, Copenhagen V 1652, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, great staff, it might be the best value for money in Central Copenhagen.
Rooms overlooking a nice backyard is peaceful. Breakfast is more average, but it might be improved if we all give them this feedback :-)

Room Tip: For a quiet stay ask for in the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
12
38
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolmården
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, a lot of sex clubs in the area though. The location is good with a lot of good restaurants nearby. One negative thing is that in the night Istergade is populated by a lot of drug dealers and prostitutes. But the area is nice anyway with a lot of restaurants and really close to Tivoli and in walking distance to Ströget.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at this hotel in the begnning of December.

We arrived to the hotel around 12 PM - and asked if it was possible to check-in early. The receptionist Scot, clearly in a bad mood, told us in a very unfriendly way that check-in is from 15 and pointed towards the luggageroom where we could leave our bags.

The door to the luggageroom was vide open, and when we asked the receptionist if our bags was safe there, he responded that he could not guarantee it - and it is our own responsibility if we put our bags there. We decided to put our bags in lockers at the centralstation for a small fee. Better safe than sorry.

We filled out all the paperwork, so it would go faster when checking in.

Not a very good first impression!

When coming back to the hotel for check-in, the same receptionist was there. When asking if it was possible to check-in, he could not find our resevation - and started to ask if we actually had a reservation. When pointing out to him that we filled out all the paperwork earlier that day he suddenyl found our reservation, and gave us the key.

The room was OK size, but was only blankets, towles, pillows and so on for one person on the bed and in the bathroom. But we found everything we needed in the locker in the room - so check out the locker before heading to the reception to complain.

Room was clean and tidy, but in the shower there was a lot of mold - and our toilet was quite loose. The hotel should check this out!

During our stay I needed to borrow an iron.
I asked the receptionist if they had an iron and he quickly found one for me.
When asking for a ironing board also he responded by sigh and not happy at all to go back to get an ironing board.

----

The receptionist working during the night and during check-out was very polite and smiling.

The first impression is very important. If it is a bad first impression, it ruins so much of our stay like it did this time. Got very irritated by the behaviour of Scot.

Will choose another hotel for our stay next time in Copenhagen, and I do not recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small room fine for a business trip but would be a little cramped if their was a couple. Room was quiet overlooking a court yard at the back of the building.

Friendly staff, great breakfast and very handy to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great location as it was within a short walking distance to the train station and city centre. The wallpaper in the room needed some attention but overall it was clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are ok for price/quality, but bathroom was freezing cold (6-8 degrees outside). Very low water pressure so takes a lot of time to get the shampoo out of your hair. Some noice from outside / nightclub next to hotel. Breakfast ok but down in the basement. Rooms were clean, small bed.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Really enjoyed it here- budget price and really clean rooms in a central location- all you can really ask for! The staff were super friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. Only stayed one night, but will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Excelsior

Address: Colbjornsensgade 4-8, Copenhagen V 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern high-rise located two blocks from the City Hall Square & Tivoli Gardens; 9 km from Copenhagen CPH Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Copenhagen
Comfort Inn Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.