We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Smorrebrod place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Schoennemann

Restaurant Schoennemann
Hauser Plads 16, Copenhagen 1127, Denmark
+45 33 12 07 85
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,657 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Danish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Smorrebrod place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't believe what we were eating when seated at this place. Best place in Copenhaguen, exquisite service to delight you with the typical smorrebrød converted here in gourmet first class meal. A must for everyone visiting Cph. I'm happy of having visited this amazing place, don't lose it. And make reservation if possible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    49
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In the absolutely top…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

… when it comes to traditional Danish lunch. All food cooked and presented nicely. A bit in the high end pricing wise but large potions and super tasty. Remember to spoil yourself with snaps and beers too. Traditional and old fashion décor which brings a certain charm and class to the place. Super good service. Remember to book a table well ahead. Been here a number of times and I'm/we're definitely going again - enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Danish Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Schonnemans is centrally located, but on a backstreet, so not a place you bump into by chance. I´ve been coming for the past 5-6 years and never miss a chance to have lunch there while in Copenhagen - beware though that you have to book well in advance. The food is classical Danish fare at it´s best, served with love and care. The food has a feel to it that you think your grandmother rose from the dead and stood alive cooking in the kitchen. The selection of aquavit and snaps(spiced vodka spirits)
are excellent and a must to accompany your food together with a good Danish beer. I like the different pickled herrings, the calf-liver is to did for, the patés, well I like everything! Go taste for yourself!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy smoerrebroed establishment - would recommend a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere, excellent smoerrebroed, and good schnapps menu. You must try 'stjerneskud', the open sandwich with fish. Would recommend to couples. Dont forget to make reservation though, as it gets booked up really quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Our favorite smørrebrod place in Denmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been here at least 5 times now, and still find it to be our favorite smørrebrod place in Denmark. The selection of smørrebrod and snaps is out of this world! We have consistently had excellent service every time we've been here; so much so that we've actually found snaps/akvavit that we enjoy! The one waiter in particular that we get a lot has great snaps recommendations - he asks you what you're looking for, not looking for, and has given us perfect recommendations. I love the sawdust on the floor and the vibe in the place. Its a fun lunch for sure, you will leave happy!

The smørrebrod options are divided by type on the menu, and they have a whole page dedicated to different types of herring. They have the traditional smørrebrod options, as well as those with a more modern twist. I love that they have asked famous chefs in the area for their favorite toppings - my actual favorite smørrebrod there is the Rene Redzepi smoked halibut with cucumber cream & chives on caraway bread. Many of the other smørrebrod restaurants have smaller portions and therefore recommend that you order 3 per person for lunch - I find them to be quite large in size here and I am content with just one.

The place is only open for lunch and not open on sunday. Reservations are an absolute necessity, but you must call in to make them. Order up, have a beer and an akvavit and enjoy your memorable lunch here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schoennemann also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Schoennemann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Schoennemann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.