We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Told&Snaps

Told&Snaps
Toldbodgade 2, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,538 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We happened upon this place while strolling around Nyhavn and went in without a reservation around 1:30 pm. We were warmly welcomed in this cozy little tavern-type restaurant that specializes in Danish sandwiches (Smørrebrød) and schnapps. We had the port-marinated herring (70 DKK), the fried marinated herring (70 DKK), and the house special “Schnapps Sandwich,” which was potatoes, herring, hard-boiled egg, mayonnaise, capers, onions and cress with lots of chopped chives (85 DKK). These were all great, but we agreed that the fried herring was the best. With our meal we had a draft beer and 4 different kinds of schnapps, which they recommended with our food (Lemon & Lime; “Medicine” (recommended for toothache & syphilis!); Thyme; and Caraway. The total for 3 “sandwiches,” 2 beers and 4 schnapps was 575 DKK, which is about $99! Expensive, yes, but we have found that everything was expensive in Denmark. I highly recommend this restaurant. The food was great and the service was very warm and welcoming. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautiful Danish open sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Told&Snaps restaurant sits quietly next to the busy harbour area of Nyhavn in the centre of Copenhagen. It offeres a superb array of classic Danish open sandwiches that are almost as beautiful to look at as they are to eat. It is a very busy little restaurant so i would recommend booking a table, but that little bit of effort is well worth it, because the food is delicious and there's a great range of choices to suit anyone's taste; from vegetarian to the true carnivore (steak tartar anyone?). to accompany the sandwiches you also have a great range of bottled beers, and, of course as th ename suggests, a wide choice of snaps as well.
I can heartily resommend this lovely little restaurant for it's "hyggeligt" (cosy) atmosphere and ecellent food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“My favourite Smörrebröds-restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I try to have lunch (Frukost in Danish) in this lovely small restaurant every time I visit Copenhagen. Its necessary to book a table, the restaurant is very popular both by tourists and natives. And you must have two (or three if you are really hungry) of their lovely Smörrebröd.
Why not try one (ore two or three) of their home maid SNAPS to. The restaurant is crowded and hectic but the waiters always take time to explain for a foreigner what you need to know about the food. An smörrebröd is a kind of open sandwich. This may not be the most low cost Smörrebröds-restaurant, but in my opinion it is worth every Danish Crown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something Special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat on our last day in Copenhagen and everywhere was full. We went down a little side street and found this little restaurant which looked inviting but full. We decided to pop in and see if they could fit us in and the ladies in there were very accommodating and said if we would like to wait a few moments we would be welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, they spoke to us in english, as did all Danes,and fussed over us. The open sandwiches were a delight and very filling. The sweet was to die for, although we were full from the sandwiches but couldn't resist them. Great atmosphere, great food and delightfull and obliging staff. Will go there again when we next visit but booking is a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Divine smörrebröd & snaps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went here by recommendation and aim to get back next time in town. Didn't find the place über-touristic although it's position in Nyhavn. Recommended to reserve a table as it's a popular place. Ca 2 smörrebröd/sandwiches per person is quite ok. Interesting variety of snaps. Think beer supply is from a nearby micro brewery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Told&Snaps also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Told&Snaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Told&Snaps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.