We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be There At Dusk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Gardens

Tivoli Gardens
Copenhagen 1630, Denmark
3315 1001
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tivoli Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Copenhagen Panoramic City Tour with Tivoli Gardens
Ranked #6 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From mid-April to mid-September, a world-class amusement park comes to life in the center of Copenhagen. More than two dozen rides await you, in addition to live entertainment and more than 30 eateries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Be There At Dusk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We purposely chose to visit Tivoli in the late afternoon/early evening so we could experience it both in daylight and after the lights came on. It is a good place to people watch - plenty of benches to occupy as you make your way around. We don't do amusement rides but it is fun to watch others experience their thrills. Many places to choose from for refreshment - choose more than one place and make serial stops for a beer, a pastry and a meal. Don't miss the Lakrids kiosk - the best licorice I've ever had, available in many "flavors".

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,894
    1,989
    810
    191
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty, but not thrilled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I should preface this by saying that we dropped our kids (ages 12 and 15) here to play in the amusement park and spent little time ourselves. Remarkably, they were not that delighted by it. They enjoyed the roller coasters but felt there was not enough variety for a whole day. They were disappointed at the extremely long queues to get a very poorly prepared lunch. They enjoyed Stockholm's Gröna Lund much more. We cruised the restaurant menus in the park and elected to leave and eat elsewhere as it looked highly overpriced.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Halloween Extravaganza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in the Tivoli Gardens in the run up to Halloween. There was a fantastic light show over the lake - we were transfixed! I have been here many times and in several seasons, with and without the children, over the last 20 years, and I have never been disappointed. We had a Copenhagen Card which gave us 'free' entry. Our only problem was that the restaurant kitchens close too early.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two pleasant evenings at the Tivoli Gardens, a must do in Copenhagen. The lighting around the gardens is very pretty, there are lots of shows and musical events happening. There are many restaurants and also quick places to grab something to eat. There's shopping and lots of things to see and do. The laser and water show by the lake at 9.45pm is spectacular. Get there early and stand on the bridge for the best view. The fun park with the "scary" rides is fun to watch if you're not feeling very daring. There are a couple of rides that are only for the young who have no fear! The bridge is also a good place to watch these from. We really enjoyed our time at the gardens.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The park in the heart of Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here is everything for the young and old, whether funfair rides, concerts or eating, this is the place to go during the summer

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tivoli Gardens also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Tivoli Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.