We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geranium

Geranium
Per Henrik Lings Alle 4, 8., Copenhagen, Denmark
+45 69 96 00 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,546 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $188 - $223
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Having previously dined at Michelin star restaurants in London and Tokyo, my expectations were very high. Geranium surpassed all expectations for a fantastic experience from beginning to end. I can not recommend Geranium highly enough.

The service was flawless, every dish was very creative and well presented, the wine paring perfect, and the overall atmosphere was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    46
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food.Great Service.Very very expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Having heard and read a lot about the restaurant - was keen to see how the real experience was. the setting is minimalist, the overall concept is interesting and the food is presented very well. The food looks better than it tastes though the imagination behind each course is fascinating , be it the razor clams,the tomato water or the Prunes,Dark beer and cream with Beech wood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

When visiting Copenhagen, most people will initially think of Noma, but Geranium is the true thinking person’s choice. The restaurant is situated on the 8th floor in Fælledparken just outside the centre of Copenhagen and is very unassuming when you first approach it. Both my girlfriend and I can safely say that we had the best meal of our lives so far at Geranium for many reasons. The food was exceptional and that’s even compared to the other 2 Michelin star restaurants we’ve eaten at, however, it was the other touches that really made the evening truly special. As you’d imagine the waiting staff are faultless, but a lovely touch was that the chefs (including Rasmus Kofoed, the head chef) came out to present a number of the dishes from the 15 course menu. Another nice touch was that for one of the courses, they sit you in the preparation area of the kitchen so you can see how things are done. All in all it was as close to faultless as we’ve experienced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First, I experienced problems with their Internet-based booking system. Buttons in a booking form worked randomly. Due to the improperly programmed website, system did double booking for me and it had clearly a programming bug. Still only one confirmation email came when I booked. Secondly, when I was at the railway station of Copenhagen, I noticed that the restaurant is quite far from centre. In addition, Google Maps is giving a wrong location and the place is difficult to find.

Thirdly, when I arrived to the restaurant, I was guided to a table next a sofa. It was the most unconfortable place to sit what I have seen in a better restaurant. No a proper back at all, a pillow only.

Then, when waiters brought starters, they spoke too fast and the descriptions of the plates were difficult to understand. I do not comment all plates what they served. Still, several courses were
without any "idea". Most of them was tasty, but innovativeness was often missing. They served even one quite weird plate. I attach the photo to this review.

Also, after the main course, I had to wait long time because they wished to show their kitchen. And the kitchen was a big room decorated with three Bocuse statues. Seemingly this visit to the kitchen is a mandatory tourist show. I have seen many kitchens, and usually the kitchen visit is
less artificial show if it is after whole dinner as in Noma or Roca in Girona.

Finally, clearly the biggest disappointment was the bill. It was 56 GBP / 90 USD more than the menu + wines in Noma.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“To there if money is no object”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having been to Michelin starred restaurants in the UK the value for money doesn't come close. Loved the concept and parts of the execution (the trip into the kitchen is amazing) but the taste didn't live up to expectations. Some were great (jellied ham, razor clam) but a good number of courses were pretty average in taste. We also ordered wine off the list rather than tasting, appeared to be far better value (the sommelier was excellent in helping us choose). Even the gift box at the end was a disappointment (a hard boiled sweet in a box).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geranium also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 

Been to Geranium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geranium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.