We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother

Mother
Hokerboderne 9-15, Copenhagen 1712 København V, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)
22 27 58 98
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went for the pizza, which was very good. This casual restaurant draws a good crowd and was very busy the night we ate there. Service was OK, but our table (for 3) provided little space for the two pizzas we ordered. Pizzas are sized to serve one or two diners, depending on appetite, and start at about $15 US each.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    181
    66
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Nordic interpretation of a Slice of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've been to Italy a few times and this restaurant tries to bring a slice of the old country in the Nordic Copenhagen. This is both good and bad. First of all, the wines are authentic and quite tasty. I've had a lot of trouble with drinking good wine in Danish restaurants, but not at Mother. On the other hand, it feels like Mother struggles a bit too hard to remind of Bella Italia. Waiters with accent, tons of antipasti which were good, but make it almost impossible to eat the pizza your order and neverending crowds make it impossible to fully enjoy this place.

I'd say that Mother doesn't give you the veritable experience, but a Nordic interpretation of Italian cuisine. Highly recommended if you're not getting to Italy soon though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the best pizza is finally in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

i was at Mother just last week, with my son &hubby & some friends, and it was great. As italian i am quite critic about pizza, but this place is great. Fantastic service and the pizza was really really good. It made in stonehaven.

To try the beer, the blonde, which taste very good.

I have to say though that, my dear friend had to wait quite long time for her calzone.. and unfortunately she got it when all of us were already finished with our pizza.

I really like the athmoshere, seating outside and it was very cozy.

I will be definetely go back... can´t wait

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza, Desserts and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had heard a lot of positives about Mother so went to this trendy area of Copenhagen only to find a line snaking around the block! It turned out that the restaurant was celebrating its anniversary and were serving pizza and beer for free. So we went away though managed to cop a few beers first, thanks to friendly people waiting in line. The pizzas looked good and even though the clientele were much younger than us, we went back the next day and were not disappointed. Luckily we didn't have to wait for an inside table. While really busy the staff were friendly and helpful with the menu. There was a wide selection of pizzas available, as well as some other dishes. We opted for the pizza even though the other dishes served around us looked very good. The pizza was very tasty and I was very pleased as it is sourdough base. The beer and cava were great and the panna cotta that I had for dessert was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Me, wife and daughter all enjoyed a very tasty and crispy sourdough pizza at Mother. Service was perfectly fine for us, even though the restaurant was buzzing and nearly full on a monday evening. My Muu pizza was quite delicious, second only to il pizzaiola in florence in my all time pizza charts.

If I'm back in copenhagen, I'd surely go again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.