We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep

Deep
Vesterbrogade 89, Copenhagen, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)
35 39 38 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #523 of 1,539 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having had 2 disappointing meals over the first 2 days on our business trip in Copenhagen, I did a search on Tripadvisor & saw that Deep India was the number 1 related Indian restaurant in CPH. I made a reservation for 8 over the phone. When we arrived our reserved table was nicely laid with 2 baskets of poppadoms & chutnies available. We briefly looked at the menu but there was a self-service buffet with 5 main dishes, rice, salads, Naan etc. for the price of 99Kr (€13); whilst this may seem expensive compared to some UK Indian restaurants, take my word it is very cheap for CPH! The curries were Punjab specialities and cooked with the family recipe. If you are fussy about what curry you eat then I would suggest going for the menu but we were not and going for the buffet allowed us to experience different styles that we would not normally choose. The curries were wonderful with fresh spices used and lots of variety. (The only downside is that they were not as hot (temperature) as one might expect as they were being kept in open cauldrons on a relatively low heat). This is a family run business & the host certainly made us feel welcome. The price for 1/2 litre of ice-cold Carlsberg was reasonable given that we were in the centre of CPH. The restaurant is about 1km walk from Tivoli Gardens which meant you could walk off (a little) of what you had eaten before venturing on the amusement fair rides. If I wasn't being hosted at an end-of-event meal this evening I would be going back there again tonight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Small Indian buffet restaurant: very good when we went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Around a kilometer west of the railway station, this restaurant is well worth the walk if looking for typical, fresh and reasonable Indian food. We were nearly turned away, because a bus party of Indian torists was coming, so you might call ahead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

good food, nice ambience, excellent service makes this a complete package for a fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, India
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Undoubtedly the Best Indian Food Restaurant in Copenhagen, friendly, home like, good ambience, warm reception, economical, even they served complimentary tea after Dinner. Good service, run by a family from Punjab. Very much appreciated and highly recommended for Indians and all others who enjoyed Indian Curry n food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant indeed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I went to dine at this restaurant with my family after seeing its reviews on Tripadvisor.

Indeed the restaurant was a very good experience.

When first entering, the restaurant is rather cramped and small but still there is enough space to move around and dine comfortably. The servers were polite but they took a lot of time to even come to note down our orders, until i had to personally go and fetch them. The order taking system was rather strange. You can not just say the name of the item that you want, you would always have to quote the waiter the Number of the Item in the menu.

The food took quiet some time to arrive, but was a joy when it did. It was all well presented with good portions, and the tastes were very nice, though the panner butter masala was more cheesier than it should be.

The prices are average in CPH, with main dishes ranging from 60-90 DKK.

Overall it was a good experience and the food was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.