We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four owners do it all...and do it well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Box

The Red Box
Store Kongensgade 42 | 1264, Copenhagen, Denmark
+4543334333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,538 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $47 - $63
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome at The Red Box, a modern asian-french fusion restaurant in the heart of Copenhagen with a fashionable situation and a very warm and smiling atmosphere and service. The menus are based on a healty edition of the classic french bistro cuisine with a twist of South-East Asian spices and vegetables. The concept of The Red Box is similar to the best fusion restaurants in New York or San Francisco, reviewers tell us...Our courses are based on the most fresh vegetables, seafood, fish and meat at the market - some of them even organic - and we also are happy to serve you a vegetarian meal.
Truro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four owners do it all...and do it well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great food, cosy modern atmosphere, friendly and attentive service. You can order a two or three course meal so we earch ordered a main dish and shared an appetizer sampler and a desert;

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    33
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing! Think original, asian-influenced, NOT "Chinese"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Originally checked out this restaurant before our trip began, but didn't pursue because who goes to Copenhagen to eat Chinese??! HOWEVER, our second night in town, we looked at several restaurants and decided to try it, as I remembered the positive TA reviews. We sat outdoors, next to a great Copenhagen couple we shared travel stories with for the next two hours. They are familiar with all the star chefs and foodie kitchens in the impressive Copenhagen dining scene, and said that The Red Box has the best food/menu of any city restaurant whose prices don't make your eyes water! We thought, too, that the quality of our expensive (that's Copenhagen) dinner was far superior to the pretty good, same price meal we had had the night before. This was incredibly tasty-- each tiny portion on my husband's "5 tastes" appetizer was gorgeous-tiny herbs, flower petals, chilies, a little hoisin here, a tuft of shredded greens there...and so delicious! I had a confit duck leg with tamarind glaze and vegetable garnish and there were all kinds of flavors jumping around in my mouth! We had a dessert sampler which included Earl Gray sorbet (not ice cream, pretty sure) and a chocolate-chili mousse, among others. Wish I recalled more details- should have taken notes!There is a 15 (bite-sized)- course tasting menu offered, which our table-neighbors said is the best way to dine there, but we were completely happy with what we had.
There are probably around 4 to 8 small restaurants per block in this part of Store Kongensgade, many with good reviews, often with set menus--I am certain that none of them could top our meal in flavors, presentation or service.
a) we didn't have wine, so can't comment
b) at 7:30 after a hot day, the indoor temperature was uncomfortably hot--we would have left if not afforded the chance to eat out front. So, so glad we did!
c) I took photos which will try to post later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a small restaurant with a small menu. But that is what makes it so unique and the food was absolutely delicious. One of the best meals I ever had.

You can select from a set menu of 4 options for a starter, 4 options for a main and 1 option for desert. You can either go for the two course meal or the three course meal.

The creativity of the chef and the amazing taste of what came out, along with the very helpful staff that take you through the food journey makes it for me one of the best food experiences I ever had.

It is and will remain on the must visit again restaurants in the world. Highly recommend this small restaurant. And to top it all up you also get free wifi as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Asian fusion with a french twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Found this restaurant be coincidence as I was staying close to the downtown location. Is located very close to Kongens Nytorv and Nyhavn. They have a menu selection and it does at first sight not look like much but you are in for a very positive surprise! I had the 2 course menu and went for the mixed 5 different kinds and the fish of the day for mains. The food was great and excellent mix of asian with a french twist. Great! The service is also great and they even bring you 2 greetings from the kitchen upfront with your drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Great atmospgere, quite pricey, even for copenhagen but given you pay so much everywhere in copenhagen it was nice to get a really nice meal for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Red Box also viewed

 

Been to The Red Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.