We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Inner Vesterbro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Hotel turned out to be a very enjoyable stay, despite the somewhat inflated prices -- caused not only by visitors to Tivoli Gardens but also the influx of overseas guests for Copenhagen's "International Fashion Week". We had an infant with us, and Reception kindly accorded us early Check-in (instead of 3 pm). This alone made us very happy with the Hotel, even though the building's finishing work appears to be ongoing. This we learnt when workmen surprised us one afternoon by requesting that they be allowed to do some unfinished carpentry work in both our rooms! The Shuttle Bus to and from Tivoli Gardens was useful. Note however that it starts operating at 11 am, coinciding with the opening time of the Gardens, and ends just before Midnight or thereabouts. The walk from the Hotel to the Gardens takes about 10-15 minutes. There is a Supermarket described as "within walking distance" of the Hotel. But making our way there turned out to be very frustrating and taxing indeed: having to cross a busy Highway, then trying to find the Supermarket 's exact location and Entrance in the absence of any helpful signs and directions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PettRuss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Naples, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were at Tivoli Hotel from 13rd to 17th August. It's a bit far from the city centre ( the Station and the Tivoli Gardens), so the hotel provided a free shuttle bus that should have passed every 7 minutes to link the hotel to the Station. Unfortunately, this service didn't work very well, the shuttle bus was infrequent and on 15th August the service was suspended and the hotel stuff didn't tell us anything, so we waited for like half an hour and no shuttle bus showed up. We had to do a lot of walking, and the streets that link the station to the hotel are very large, with very few people and no shops or restaurants.
We asked for a triple room, but the room they gave us was very small; it was, infact, a double with an extra-bed, but all the services like the welcome tea, the glasses etc. were for 2 people. The cleaning was not the best, one day the room wasn't ready at 4 p.m.
We were told there was going to be a sky bar, but it wasn't there...it was still under construction.
Breakfast was very good, there was a great variety of food, but there was a problem: you don't have your own table, so you just have to find one, and you're not sure you're finding it soon, so you have to wait.
We think that Marriott or Radisson are definetely better for a stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaechiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

stayed at the Tivoli Hotel for 4 nights.

The Good Stuff: Cute Room, with outdoor balcony, free shuttle bus to Tivoli Gardens, Free Wifi

The Bad: Room Service is very important to me, and Tivoli's room service was over-priced and inconsistent.
The first time I ordered the Greek Salad (small portion) I was really impressed, serving size was decent and it was possibly one of the best greek salads I've ever had. So much so that I ordered it again the next day. This time round, the salad came in the same serving size but I was charged for a large portion. The salad dressing was also completely different from the day before!
On my last day, i ordered a breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon n sausages, whilst the portion was huge, they forgot to bring me the bread basket that comes with it. When I called to remind them, they came back with a basket of COLD bread. I also asked for a cup of hot water but it never came.
Not to mention, there is an additional 35kroner charge each time you order room service.

And why I had to ask for hot water was because the kettle in my room somehow kept producing some sediment , which left tiny white particles in my water.

Upon check in, I found one towel on the bathroom floor, I also had to call to request for toothpaste and toothbrush set that they didn't supply in the bathroom.

Overall, an okay hotel to stay in, but room service needs much improvement.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The hotel was still unfinished and several facilities were still lacking or not working (sky bar, swimming pool, fitness center, play rooms, superior rooms etc.). Drilling and nailing started early in the morning every day and disturbed sleep quality. Floors and lifts were covered by the industrial dust. The hotel personal tried their best but the mission was impossible because of the delays in the hotel project. Once the hotel is ready it will be probably quite nice but in my opinion: you should not open a hotel before it is ready!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrari077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Imperial_arp, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Ferrari077,

We have worked really hard in order to get ready for the opening of Tivoli Hotel. I completely understand how frustrating it is arrive at a hotel which seems unfinished but I hope you will have the opportunity to return to the hotel so that you can see that we are able to do better.

All the best,
Tivoli Hotel

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed three nights in july and this hotel is far from done. The paint job in our room was not done and it looked like the painter had just dropped the brush and left. TV and Internet was up and down throughout our stay.

The hotel itself might be up to par once completely finished. I looks great, even though the swimming pool is not what it’s promoted as at their web page.

The staff has a looooong way to go. I can live with some shortcomings from a new hotel, but not a rude staff.

The cleaning was poor and way below what you expect from a new hotel.

The restaurant, which the staff obviously bragged about, looked great but had average food and value-for-money way below what you find elsewhere I Copenhagen.

In sum: the hotel might be good some day, but I’m back at the Marriott down the street next time in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Imperial_arp, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear jarjaro,

I am sorry to read that you found our hotel dissatisfactory while staying with us in July. We have since the opening of the hotel worked hard to improve some details and I hope you will consider returning to Tivoli Hotel once back in Copenhagen.

All the best,
Tivoli Hotel

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Lovely hotel, staff friendly and helpful, rooms well decorated although some small problems. Harlequin and Columbine characters friendly and happy to be in photo's. Pool area good but too cold and all the times we went, ( we were there 3 nights), there were no towels and no soap in dispensers.
Breakfast was amazing, truely.
Great quick entrance to Tivoli Gardens. Never used the shuttle bus provided free as it wasn't a long walk. % mins walk from Fisketorvet, 100 shops and 10 restaurants and water bus into centre. Kids didn't wan't to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel was just what we needed as we were traveling with 2 adults and 2 children of 6 and 14 year: centrally located, swimming pool, children friendly, free internet.

The pool was very beautifull and there were different play area's for our yougsters. We had 2 connecting rooms, which gave us plenty of space. Probably this was a better choice than a family room, for our group.

We booked through the hotel website and had a reasonaly priced deal (considering price levels in Denmark) including breakfast and entrance to Tivoli park. The breakfast was just perfect: plenty of choice and good quality.

Moreover, we found all employees most helpfull and enthousiast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Copenhagen Island Hotel
#16 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#21 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Inner Oesterbro
Adina Apartment Hotels CopenHagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing