We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has positives but rooms let it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Has positives but rooms let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've stayed here every week for 14 weeks so I have experienced the good and the bad:
The Good:
- Location. The location is central, approx 10 min walk to Tivoili Gardens and the Central train station. It's also a short stroll to a shopping center and close to another train stop.
- Concierge/Front Desk Staff. Both are friendly and helping with the concierge being on top
- Sticks & Sushi. I haven't personally eaten there but the comments from colleagues are all good. It also has a very cool rooftop bar.
- Breakfast. Breakfast is buffet style and has most things you would want. I don't like the fact though the the yogurt is served in a large bowl rather than individual containers.

The Bad:
- Restaurant. I didn't eat here often but some of the staff need to improve! Service can be very hit and miss from the waiters to the wait time from kitchen. I can't fault the food though.
- Rooms. This is why I didn't rate the hotel higher. The rooms are quiet small but I can live with that. In most of the rooms I stayed in, the air-con barely worked. I rarely had a good air-con unit and during the summer you need it. The beds for me were not comfortable, but I'll accept that beds are very personal. The pillows are just awful, probably the worst part of the hotel. They are square and extremely soft. Several colleagues had issues with the pillows. Tivoli, why don't you offer a choice of Pillows like Holiday Inn's? And finally the curtains. They are far too light and hence let in light. It's the first hotel I had to bring an eye mask with me to try and sleep.

Hotels are first and foremost a place to sleep so this is why I didn't give it a higher rating. If some of those areas were improved then I would have no issue with it.

Room Tip: Go high up to try and avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    472
    177
    55
    23
See reviews for
396
239
19
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is a great family hotel during the summertime. With a special aria where kids can play with many different activities.... Clean rooms, good breakfast, pool and gym. The hotel Is located near the Tivoli in Copenhagen, bus stops out sight the hotel every 20 minutes so you get there easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving me ideas of what to do in Copenhagen in such a short time. After a 36 hour flight, the bed and shower was amazing! The lady at the front desk also showed intrest in where I was from and what I was doing here. I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Summertime in this congress center is great for kids. Our teenagers ejoyed the hotel (especially the gym, pool and the 12th floor bar) as well. Location little further from the center is fine if you rent a bike from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a family room at the Tivoli Hotel as part of a package deal from DFDS, the cruise line between Oslo and Copenhagen. Even though we were aware that the hotel, despite its name, was not located in the direct vicinity of the Tivoli Gardens, we were somewhat surprised by the walking distance to the hotel from the city centre.

However, the walk was not a problem, but we found the area the hotel is located in to be very dull for a holiday trip - the surrounding buildings were mainly tall office buildings, and there were no street life, kiosks, shops etc. Given this, and the overall impression that the hotel is mainly a business/conference hotel (apart from the themed colours and decors), we did not quite see why the hotel had "Tivoli" in its name. We read from other reviews that the hotel is supposed to be very oriented towards children, but we couldn't see any good reasons why this should be. Though we should say that we only spent one night and did not try all the hotel's facilities such as the pool.

We arrived a couple of hours before normal check-in time, exhausted from a long walk in the summer heat, and agreed to upgrade to a themed room for some 350 DKK to get an earlier check-in. We were told this roomer was also a bit larger, but if this room was larger than the family rooms (that we had booked), the family rooms have to be really small. This room was standard size, no more. We have to say that we don't really know what price we paid in total for the room, as it was part of the cruise package.

The theming of the room was merely some colourful paint and decor above the bed. Other than that, the room was nice with a bathtub and floor-to-ceiling windows with a view to some office buildings and the river. We had some trouble with overly persistent housekeeping staff, they almost forced their way into the room despite our protests since we were just about to undress and shower after the long walk.

The breakfast buffet was in the conference hall, and had a good selection, the only thing missing was fried eggs. And in a hotel this standard one could wish that they avoided the usual water-and-powder scrambled eggs, although sadly this is the standard most places, so Tivoli Hotel is no worse than others.

Having said all this, the Tivoli Hotel is not at all a bad hotel: it is new with a stylish design, the reception staff were helpful and nice, and the hotel has many facilities like pool and roof-top bar (which we did not visit). Our disappointment is just that with "Tivoli" in the name, and looking for a hotel for a holiday trip to Copenhagen, we expected more of a family hotel in a bit more central location. The main problem was that it is located in a business district, for other visitors this might not be relevant at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châtel-Saint-Denis, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this hotel especially for the swimming pool and child oriented.
Swimming pool was very nice but very crowded. The children play ground was a bit poor.
The room was quiet, but the mattress were too flabby, almost like a water bed.
The room floor was very dusty for a 5* (a problem with the vacuum ?).
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time here. The room was large enough for the four of us (two kids), and had an excellent view. Good breakfast, and possible to walk to Tivoli (15 minutes or so). The hotel was very busy and we had to wait for the lifts, but apart from that - everything was super. The sushi restaurant on the top floor (12) was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.