We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for families pre-cruise, for sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good hotel for families pre-cruise, for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed (family of 3) for one night before a Baltic cruise in July and really have no complaints. Yes the room was not large, but it acclimatized us for our cruise! :-) The food was good, rooftop bar was a nice surprise with lounge area, easy swings and very friendly servers. What made this hotel a 4-star rating based on our experience was the staff -- front desk accommodated us with an early check-in even though they were full, concierge staff were quite helpful and suggested places to eat and helped us pre-arrange our cruise-ship transfers the next day and even reschedule our Segway tour due to bad weather. You can walk to the downtown area and Tivoli Gardens in 15 minutes, easily. Would stay here again if visiting Copenhagen/Kobenhavn.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor but also note, elevators are narrow if you have big luggage. Also give yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear WJR-041,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing a review of Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center.
I appreciate the positive feedback and I am glad that our Concierge could help you arrange the transfer to the port and other details during your stay.

I hope you had a nice cruise and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Kind regards,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    558
    210
    63
    25
See reviews for
461
313
23
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights before we embarked on a Baltic cruise out of Copenhagen. As a family of four, we shared a Family Quad room. The room was tiny! I think our cabin on the cruise was bigger than this room. Of course, having arrived from Berlin where we stayed at a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, perhaps our expectations were a bit too high. Overall, the hotel was nice. Service was good and staff were friendly. The place reminded me of the Disneyland hotel as it was strongly themed toward the Tivoli amusement park nearby. The place was full of kids, and our kids appreciated the foosball table and ping pong table in the lobby. They also liked the psychedelic elevators. We had a bit of sticker shock at the food prices - the breakfast buffet was good but cost ~$100 (for 2 adults and 2 kids). As we soon learned on our cruise, prices in Scandinavia are much higher than mainland Europe. Finally, the location of the hotel could be better. As mentioned, it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main town. As a result, we ate more in the hotel than originally anticipated. Next time in Copenhagen I think we will look for something more centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center.

I am sorry that the size of the room did not live up to your expectations. We do also offer larger family rooms, which consist of two double rooms with an interconnecting door. Maybe it would have been more suitable for you?
I am happy that your children had fun at our activity area. Regarding the cost of the breakfast, the prize of 170 DKK per person is very fair in Copenhagen. As you mention, Scandinavia is expensive.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We tried to check in at 2:45 and we were told that check- in is at 3:00. As we were travelling all day, we thought we would relax in the bar/lounge (12th floor). The lounge is gorgeous and the outdoor patio had a magnificent view, BUT no one served us!
At 3:00 we returned to reception to check in and stood in line for almost 25 minutes until we finally received the key to our room.
The elevator is psychedelic style and the lighting annoying.
The bed is lumpy and terribly uncomfortable and the pillows were well-used.
The couch in our room did not appear to be terribly clean and by the look of my white socks, the carpets could not be that clean, either.
The only positive is that the bathroom floor is heated....Nice!
The dinner buffet at the hotel "Brasserie" looked great, but the food was not tasty and most was cold...seemingly prepared well beforehand.
The breakfast buffet, which is in the convention hall, was nicely prepared and quite good! Impressive!
The hotel appeals to families and we heard that there were 500 kids in the house!
I suppose it's okay for family travel, but not up to the standard of couples travel.
As far as the location of the hotel...it's a good 15 minute walk from The Tivoli Gardens and a good walk to the train station. We would have preferred to stay in more central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Traveller,

I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay here at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations.
I would like to apology for the long waiting time at check in. I will let our Front Office Manager know about it, and we will do our best to eliminate waiting time at check in.
As for the many kids around I would like to say that we do pay much attention to families and children during the summer. We have many families coming for vacation every summer and it can be a bit stressful if you are looking for a couples holiday. However, you should try our special Executive Floors another time. There are no family rooms, and you have unlimited access to a quite lounge on the 9th floor and a separate Executive breakfast on the 2nd floor. That might suit you.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have just one thing to say: Excellent!

Of course things could be less expensive, but this is very good in all other ways.

The hotel is located a 15 minutes walk from the city centre (Rådhuspladsen). You could catch the electric roundtrip-bus just outside the entrance, but the walk is good. Do not bother about the trains close by. You cannot hear them inside. Absolutely no noise. The hotel offers a good gym, playroom for kids and a pool. Food is good, and the staff are helpful and service minded.

Second time in this hotel - and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Stianhau,

First of all I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. It is highly appreciated.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kinds regards
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are planning a family trip to Copengagen, do not let the " & congress center" in this hotels tagline scare you. It is surprising, how well it manages to satisfy the needs of both kinds of travellers.

The hotel is rather new, so its facilities feel very fresh and modern. All best practicies of family-travel have been taken into account in the hotels design. Both indoor and outdoor playgrounds are available, there is a sizable indoor pool and free Wi-Fi for all those tablets and phones your kids are spending their leisure-time on. Our floor (the 4th) was also surprisingly quiet, considering all the kids staying at the hotel.

Don't let the reviews that emphasize that this hotel is 1 km away from the city centre hold you back. You will appreciate how close it is to a major shopping center (Fisktorvet), which also includes a multiplex cinema, and to the waterfront (with a public swinning pool Copencabana and the Hop-on Hop-off canal boat stop). Even with a baby stroller it really is not a problem to casually walk into the center in 15 minutes.

The cleaning staff does their job well, but maybe they could do a better job cleaning _under_ the beds also from time to time :)

Room Tip: If you have a large family, you might want to check for availability of connected rooms. I found tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ardi J,

Thank you for reviewing Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skedsmokorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here to nights. Very pleased with hotel. Good breakfast. A lot of activities for children. Swimming pool was very nice. Sushi restaurant at top floor was excellent. A little distant from city center, but that was okay. Bus straight outside hotel was used a lot. Rooms very silent. Did not hear traffic at all. Rooms was small tough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Tivoli hotel. I will start with the good points.

The hotel is in a pretty good location for seeing the sights. The area to one side does look a little like it is old industrial land that is being redeveloped but it is just across the street from a very pleasant waterfront walkway which leads to a large mall and cinema complex, some bars and the hop on and off waterbus. It is also a 5 minute walk to the Tivoli gardens and the rail station. There is also a little bus ( the 11A) which runs between the hotel and Nyhaven, stopping at all the attractions along the way for DKR24 ( remember to have the right change).

The room was quite small considering it was a superior one but the bed was very comfortable and the shower hot. We were a little bemused by the way the bed was made up - a king bed with two double duvets ( one each) but actually it worked well with no fighting for the covers over night. I may even adopt this strategy at home :-)

There is free WFI throughout the hotel which was great!

For the not so good.

The hotel has a pool, gym and sauna. Great thought, just the place to relax at the end of the day. Not really. The hotel is quite family friendly, which is great if you have kids. The pool was like a zoo with kids jumping in and out with and without floats with no regard to any other users. After the first evening we did not go back. Also the gym clearly had notices stating that children under 18 where not allowed and yet small children where "playing" on the equipment.

The hotel has two restaurants / bars - the Skybar which was completely taken over by the Sushi restaurant and a brassiere on the second floor. There is no lounge / bar where you can just go for a quiet drink and read of a book ( or in my case watch the baseball on the ipad)

We ate in The Brassiere one night when we got back late and frankly the meal was a tad hit and miss. Hubby had the pork chop which came with a baked potato. It had obviously been reheated and when he cut into it, it was black on the inside. He sent it back and the second was no better. When the restaurant manager was told about this he just shrugged and said that it was cooked " the Danish way". My own weiner snitzel was OK - not great but at least I could eat it. Also while we were eating the staff were busy dismantling tables around us and moving furniture for the breakfast seating. Again, not the relaxing atmosphere were where looking for. When hubby asked to speak to the duty manager at reception he was told they did not have one overnight. Not great customer service.

General comments.

Parking is shared between the Tivoli and the Wake Up hotel next door and costs DKR140 per day or DKR20 per hour. You can buy a weeks ticket from reception. Bear in mind if you come back late the roll down barrier is over the entrance and you will need a code to get in which is available from reception. Would have been nice to find this out before we were locked out!

The key to the rooms also activate the electricity in your room so you will be unable to leave anything charging up while you are out. We did leave our second key in the slot when we went out one day but it was removed by the maid so camera not charged - oh well.

Overall our stay at the Tivoli was comfortable but was tinged with some little niggles. I would not discount it if we were back this way but as I had booked on the basis of a nice pool and sauna available I may look at other alternatives first. Sorry Tivoli.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Stabard,

Thank you for writing a review of Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. You are right about the many kids around. As it is July, we have many families staying here on vacation. This might be a bit stressing if you are looking for a relaxed couples vacation. However I think you could have found what you were looking for on our Executive Floors; on our Executive Floors there are no family rooms and you can benefit from a quite lounge on the 9th floor and an Executive breakfast on the 2nd floor. I am sorry if you were not offered to upgrade to one of the room categories on the Executive Floors.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.