We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and clean, polite and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Excellent and clean, polite and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed there for three days. In all everybody was happy. The Tivoli theme rooms are just fun for the children. But the room was a little bit too small for a family of 4.
But in all a great hotel, with good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    382
    139
    46
    21
See reviews for
327
189
18
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is a lot of good, so I will start there. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I think it was about 1/2 a mile from the main train station. It was an easy walk after taking the train in from the airport. The other option was to take the 11A bus from the train station to the hotel. While I was there, the bus route changed temporarily without notice. There was also a nice pool with good hours. I almost forgot to mention the water cooler in the lobby. All restaurants seem to charge for even tap water, so this was nice.

Now for the more critical part of my review. Although the room was clean and comfortable, it was very small. You may think you know what small is, but the place is even smaller. You have to leave a key in a slot to get electricity. That made it very easy to forget your key and lock yourself out. The bathroom door was made of glass. That might look cool, but some people would like more privacy. At night, I typically like to leave a small light on in the bathroom. Here there was no small light, so the glass door made the room light up. There is breakfast at the hotel. It is excellent, but very expensive at $30+ per person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear J.S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay here at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. I am pleased to read about all the positive experiences you have had here at the hotel.
As for the more critical part I am sorry that the size of the room did not live up to your expectations.
Regarding the electricity in the room, which might be a bit annoying, is an environmental concern; when you take the key card out of the slot, the electricity turns off. This way we are sure that we don’t have 396 rooms lit up without anyone inside. It would be a huge waste of energy.
I will take notice of your other comments for the future. We always do our best to keep improving our services for our guests.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have been here twice now on holiday. This hotel is nice and clean and modern. As we have been traveling with our daughter the facilities for kids have been important. It is quite (but not very) close to Tivoli (amusement park). It has a Tivoli theme and athmosphere. It has an excellent pool a bouncing castle and a playroom which is ok. All in all enough to keep the kids happy. It is not very cheap, but ok.

Room Tip: Upgrade to theme room was fun, but no big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Pertn,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center.
I am very happy that our facilities for children lived up to your expectations and that your daughter had a nice time.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on future holidays to Copenhagen.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli Hotel for four nights in early June. The hotel room is spacious. The bathroom is so big it is downright luxurious. It is a large hotel that is located "near" The Tivoli Gardens. Even though the hotel is allegedly four (4) minutes from The Tivoli Gardens, the four (4) minutes refer to time by taxi. This is the part that could be a bummer for people who are not in business with an expense account. If you are keenly aware that it will take you fifteen (15) to twenty (20) minutes to walk from The Tivoli Hotel to The Tivoli Gardens (and the central station of Copenhagen), then you are mentally prepared and you won't feel that you need to complain. The walk is on wide streets that has the feel of a New Jersey highway landscape. Other than this, I would have given the hotel a five-star rating. The buffet was good for both breakfast and for dinner at well. The dinner buffet was very reasonable in price and the food was very good. I ate more halibut one evening there than I ate in my entire life. You can use their computers to check your e-mails for free. The place has a lot of businesspeople because the hotel has conference and seminar facilities. On our second day, we learned how to buy a 72-hour city transportation ticket and catch the bus right outside of the hotel. From there, one can go to many places as long as you are willing to wait for the bus. This is an excellent hotel with a reasonable price "near" but not really "at" The Tivoli Gardens. I want to give this hotel a 4.5 stars. I recommend it. Oh, by the way, be careful if you want to open the windows. You may need to call concierge to help you close it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear James C,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your contribution.
I am happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay here at the hotel. Also I am happy to know that our breakfast buffet and evening summer buffet was to your satisfaction.
You are right about the location; we are not located right next to the Tivoli Gardens. There is a 10-15 minutes walk to get there, which is also stated on our website. I am sorry if you found any material misleading.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on future trips to Europe.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel frequently, and this time I chose a suite. The colorful and modern furniture were very welcoming.
The location is great with a large shopping centre (Fisketorvet) and the "S-bane" nearby.
The staff are first rate.
I always stay at the ARP-Hansen hotels when in Copenhagen. Another excellent choice is the Hotel Imperial.
Dedicated smoking rooms would be appreciated though at the Tivoli, but e-cigs is the solution.

Room Tip: The top floors offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Vikingoloco,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your positive comment here on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to know that you feel welcome here at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center and at the Arp-Hansen Hotel Group in general.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on future trips to Copenhagen.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Tivoli Hotel tries to be both a family hotel and a business hotel and it's pretty difficult for the two types of traveller to coexist amicably. However, they seem to manage to keep most people happy. We stayed with two small children and had interconnecting rooms. They were clean and spacious. There is a large play area in the basement and our children loved that there was a pool to relax in at the end of a busy day.
The name of the hotel is slightly misleading as it's not that close to Tivoli. There are numerous hotels of a similar, if not higher, quality that are closer to the centre of Copenhagen. That being said, it's not a very large city so getting around poses few problems.
The sushi restaurant on the 12th floor is part of a chain. The food is great and the view outstanding, although (being in Copenhagen) it's pretty expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Despite the name this hotel is quite some way from Tivoli Gardens ( good 15 mins walk). The decor is a bit garish and although we upgraded our room, it was still quite small. There was a club lounge for the executive rooms but located in a hallway and probably the worst club lounge we had been to anywhere in the world. Overall we were not impressed. We had just come off a cruise and met up with some of our fellow cruisers - none of them seemed to speak positively about their hotels either so maybe the hotels in Copenhagen are generally of poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob E, General Manager at Tivoli Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Tanya E,

Thank you for reviewing your stay here at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center.
I am sorry that the stay did not live up to your expectations. We put a lot of effort into letting our guests know that the hotel is situated a 15-minues walk from The Tivoli Gardens and the Central Station. I am sorry if you felt that any information prior to your stay was misleading.
Our Lounge is not a Club Lounge. It is a Tivoli Lounge where you can pick up a cup of coffee, some snacks and a magazine. Again I am sorry if you had not been given the correct information of the Lounge.
I hope you enjoyed the stay in Copenhagen and that you will come back in the future.

I wish you a nice summer.

Yours sincerely,
Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center

Jakob Ellermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Crowne Plaza Copenhagen Towers
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Andersen Hotel
Andersen Hotel
#5 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Pool, Quiet, Lu...
Show More
Adina Apartment Hotels CopenHagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#15 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
City Center, Ch...
Show More
Indre By
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#17 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Romantic, City...
Show More
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Address: Arni Magnussons Gade 2, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 118 hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first themed hotel in Copenhagen – Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center. Designed with a twist of Tivoli Gardens and modern Scandinavian design. Whilst you discover wonderful Copenhagen, we will do our best to make your stay comfortable and enchanting. After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, you can dive into our beautiful pool, relax in the sauna, or use the fitness centre before having dinner and enjoying the most beautiful views of Copenhagen from our Sky Bar restaurant. If you feel like going beyond the guide books traditional must visit attractions, our Concierge - Currently the President of Les Clefs d’Or Denmark - will be pleased to recommend the best spots in Copenhagen.Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center is situated 800 meters from the Central Station and the Tivoli Gardens. If your feet need a rest, we recommend you to use the public bus 11A which departs approximately every 15 minutes right outside the hotel and takes you to all the main attractions of Copenhagen within minutes. We look forward to enchanting you at Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.