We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a faint smile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Palace

Sultan Palace
Valkendorfsgrade 34, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
040-23 20 05
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,116 of 1,539 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Service with a faint smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good buffet at a reasonable price and all the usual drinks, though at a premium. Service was rather business-like to put it as nicely as possible. Could the staff learn to be a little more welcoming and, heaven forbid, smile ? Is this a Turkish thing ? Or were they just having a bad day ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    11
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NOT BAD FOR THE PRICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a buffet style Turkish restaurant. Certainly for the price, the food wasn't bad, but it can be better. The buffet options were minimal (salads, hot food, dessert), but did just find for someone looking to fill their stomach at a reasonable cost, which is very expensive in Copenhagen. Given other choices, I won't go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sultan Palace in Valkendorfsgade 34, Copenhagen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I ate a lunch last week at Sultan Palace in Valkendorfsgade 34, Copenhagen for 79 DKR.
Inside the restaurant is fairly well decorated but the warm dishes are far away from being mediocre. Be aware before ordering drink; the plain tap water costs 20 DKR!!
You can get much much better meals in the city by paying 99 DKR. THE STAFF is unfortunately impolite and lacking of reason.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value in a reasonably expensive city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We ate here 2 nights running as the buffet deal was such good value and being vegetarian, there was plenty of choice for me. There were lovely salads and plenty for my carnivorous husband.
The atmosphere was relaxing and we enjoyed the experience enough to visit twice.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible overpriced experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have been to a LOT of buffets and in Scandinavia it is usually one of the few ways to eat cheap. This particular buffet was by far the worst. Almost everything is vegetarian, no dessert, only little pieces of watermelon. But the WORST part is the rude staff, and exorbitant drink prices, THEY CHARGE FOR TAP WATER!! 20DKK, or about 3 euros, $4, for a GLASS OF WATER! I couldn't believe it, we have never, ever been charged for tap water in Denmark, Sweden, Norway or Finland. This is outrageous but a way to try and get your money. My friend had soda, they brought a huge glass, the most expensive of course, without asking if he wanted small or large. And they look at you angrily when you get up to eat more from the buffet. There are MANY, MANY better places to eat in Copenhagen, avoid this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Palace also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Sultan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.