We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and budget friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakeup CopenHagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wakeup CopenHagen to your Saves list
Wakeup CopenHagen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient and budget friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Wakeup Copenhagen is conveniently located a few blocks from Central Station and Tivoli. This budget friendly property is a no frills property. The small rooms (about the size of a cruise ship cabin) are clean and user friendly.
Do not expect a lot of toiletries or amenities but there is free wifi in the rooms.
I would definitely stay there again due to price and location.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise and better view but that also includes an additional fee. Early check=i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    722
    263
    86
    45
See reviews for
148
580
180
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

*Review of Carsten Niebuhrs Gade location* It is a 10-15 minute walk from Copenhagen Central Station (main train station) and has your basic needs covered. The rooms are small (similar concept to a cruise ship), but clean and comfortable. Looks exactly like the website pictures. Only negative in room is that the shampoo provided is only a 10mL package - not enough for a lady with linger hair! A big plus is that you can rent bikes directly at the hotel for 150DKK/day. The bikes work really well and the female ones have a basket on the front! Breakfast is available for purchase and is a typical Danish spread: various breads, cold cuts, jams, cheese, granola/oatmeal with yogurt, and coffee. Overall we were very satisfied!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For a budget business hotel, it is a reasonably good standard, clean rooms which are compact, though nicely laid so feels fairly spacious. For my room, the bedsheets had some stains which always disappoints me. As I stayed over the summer, although the rooms were air conditioned, the lounge area (which is large and spacious) was always hot and stuffy which is very unpleasant after a long day walk and you just want to lounge out with friends.

The hotel is very busy, which causes a bit of a problem checking in, as staffing is minimal, so queues are very long, although they have a self check in machine, it never works which hardly helped. Luckily on check out, you can just leave the key in a box without having to queue up again.

Location is reasonably close to station, for the price I suppose won't complain too much, but it is directly next to the rail tracks, and there are no food options nearby so always had to trek back to the station (about 15 mins walk) to get a bite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river, on a higher floor has pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Wakeup during July. It is a budget hotel, and the room is not very specious. I had boked a sky room, which was worth it. We had a beautiful view of the canal. The room had everything needed, and satisfied all our needs. The few things that could have been better would have been a nice pillow, it was a bit budget. It is interesting how much a pillow can do for a good experience. I enjoyed the very cute bathroom, even though one lamp was broken in ours. I understand that this is hard to notice as cleaning of the room is very effective. The staff in the reception was very nice! I was a bit worried from a few reviews I had read, but I guess it is all about situation and who you are. I highly recommend to rent bikes from the hotel, it is the right way to experience Copenhagen. Location was great, and from reading a lot of reviews about the breakfast we did not buy it either of the mornings and chose small cafés in the city centre. It is also very close to a big mall, which we found convenient if you want to visit a larger supermarket. I would recommend this hotel to other young couples. :)

Room Tip: A sky room or even a heaven room is worth it, even though it is slightly pricer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brande, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is very close to the central rail way station. You can reach there in 10 minutes by feet from the central rail way station. The receiption is very friendly and helpful. Room is small but is sufficient for two persons because of excellent design. Breakfast buffet is simple but good at this price level. I will definetely stay there again for travelling to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed a night only as we had to fly out and we were there to catch our flight. The hotel has very bad curtains and so you cannot get a decent night's sleep especially considering its daylight in summer...so literally you are awake (wake-up) the whole time. The room is alright but a squeeze and not in a good location. Book early and for the same price you can get a hotel near the city and station which is more centre and close to everything including food. The staff well the one we dealt with was just a bit too rude. I think if you plan a visit to Copenhagen, then simply book early and get the same price but a better hotel closer to city. Also carry all your own toiletries, its shocking what the hotel gives you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The room I stayed in was not so big, but every cm was made to be useful. Very interesting shower with glass walls :))) Huge window right near the bed.
One of the disadvantages could be the very close railways may be noisy for some people.
Breakfast was a bit poor, could be more diversified.

Room Tip: Avoid crossing the entrance hall in the evenings (all of the evenings I stayed in the hotel) there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakeup CopenHagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup CopenHagen

Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup CopenHagen 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wakeup CopenHagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakeup CopenHagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.