We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scandinavian design and a pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade to your Saves list
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scandinavian design and a pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Wakeup during July. It is a budget hotel, and the room is not very specious. I had boked a sky room, which was worth it. We had a beautiful view of the canal. The room had everything needed, and satisfied all our needs. The few things that could have been better would have been a nice pillow, it was a bit budget. It is interesting how much a pillow can do for a good experience. I enjoyed the very cute bathroom, even though one lamp was broken in ours. I understand that this is hard to notice as cleaning of the room is very effective. The staff in the reception was very nice! I was a bit worried from a few reviews I had read, but I guess it is all about situation and who you are. I highly recommend to rent bikes from the hotel, it is the right way to experience Copenhagen. Location was great, and from reading a lot of reviews about the breakfast we did not buy it either of the mornings and chose small cafés in the city centre. It is also very close to a big mall, which we found convenient if you want to visit a larger supermarket. I would recommend this hotel to other young couples. :)

Room Tip: A sky room or even a heaven room is worth it, even though it is slightly pricer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    838
    310
    100
    52
See reviews for
168
665
206
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brande, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is very close to the central rail way station. You can reach there in 10 minutes by feet from the central rail way station. The receiption is very friendly and helpful. Room is small but is sufficient for two persons because of excellent design. Breakfast buffet is simple but good at this price level. I will definetely stay there again for travelling to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed a night only as we had to fly out and we were there to catch our flight. The hotel has very bad curtains and so you cannot get a decent night's sleep especially considering its daylight in summer...so literally you are awake (wake-up) the whole time. The room is alright but a squeeze and not in a good location. Book early and for the same price you can get a hotel near the city and station which is more centre and close to everything including food. The staff well the one we dealt with was just a bit too rude. I think if you plan a visit to Copenhagen, then simply book early and get the same price but a better hotel closer to city. Also carry all your own toiletries, its shocking what the hotel gives you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The room I stayed in was not so big, but every cm was made to be useful. Very interesting shower with glass walls :))) Huge window right near the bed.
One of the disadvantages could be the very close railways may be noisy for some people.
Breakfast was a bit poor, could be more diversified.

Room Tip: Avoid crossing the entrance hall in the evenings (all of the evenings I stayed in the hotel) there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza Town, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great central location, 5 mins from Central station, easy access to all the main sights of CPH.
Rooms fresh, bright, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again no questions asked.
Nice views from upper floor 'Heaven' category rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The property is aesthetically pretty and functionally horrible. It has a clean, crisp feel but it's pretty, but uncomfortable. Rooms are tiny even from European norms and everything is just cheaply done. The bed has a lamp where you will inevitably hit your head. The shower is just tiny and you spritz water all over the place whether you want to or not. The bed is uncomfortable and the sheets and pillows are spartan.

The front desk is ok but a bit curt. The luggage room is a nightmare, no space and they charge Kr 20 per "locker". Horrible

Unless you want aggravation, I would stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The service we received was downright cold at times and impersonal and unpleasant insgesamt. However the hotel is cheap, clean, aesthetically pleasing, walking distance from the city, has good wi-fi (in the lobby) and a relatively cheap breakfast buffet in the mornings. So no hard feelings overall.

*** Make sure to factor in ~25€ a day for parking if you came by car!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade

Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#27 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 2*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.