We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and cozy decently priced, ideal for a city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakeup CopenHagen

Save Saved
You added Wakeup CopenHagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wakeup CopenHagen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 116 hotels in Copenhagen
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Smart and cozy decently priced, ideal for a city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel is located close to Central Station (10 minutes by walk) close to post terminal, SEB building and railway tracks. I believe some rooms have not the nicest view in this world to railways. However some rooms on a higher floors have a view to city center. It takes a train from the Airport 12 minutes only to get to Central Station.

The hotel has 2 stars only. However everything is fresh, modern, clean and stylish. Although the rooms are small, but all the fittings are of good quality. For example high quality shower cabin or sliding door to bathroom. I personally like that the bed is placed by the window, so you may enjoy views laying on the bed. The only minus of the rooms besides the size are blankets. The blankets are quite small, but I believe it is different to every person, some would find them very big.

Moreover some extra services are included into the price: Wi-Fi Internet, flat 32" TV with lots of international channels, free use of computers with Internet at the lobby, bathroom amenities (soap and shower gel), air-conditioning (not every 3 star hotel has it), free parking (they have a paid garage also).

Breakfast is simple, but you get just enough for breakfast: ham, cheese, selection of bread, tee, coffee, milk, muesli, yogurt, jams, Nutella. Restaurant settings are modern and very simple, but functional.

Hotel is good for city breaks and short vacations. If you stay for a long time or travel with lots of luggage consider booking the large room available at this hotel for a little bit higher price. Also consider that you get fro the money paid. In comparison with other hotels “value for money” ratio WakeUpCopenhagen beats them all.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup CopenHagen, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Usenko
Thank you for your nice review. It makes us very happy to see satisfied guests, and nice that you have seen our concept. Higher floors rooms are the same, but views are better ;o)))
Your right about the idear of booking a large room if bringing lots of bagage. All our rooms are 12 m2 besides large rooms, which are 15 m2.
And naturally we hope to see you back at Wakeup Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    662
    238
    77
    40
See reviews for
132
537
160
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is new, modern rooms, clean, very good location and price with around a 10 minutes walk to Tivoli and Strøget shopping street. It's also easily spotted from the main road on the way in to Copenhagen. The room was quite small as many other people have commented on here. But, they have made smart and effective use of the small space.

Only negative I have is that some of the people at the front desk could be a bit more service-minded and cheerful. Also we were given some keycards that weren't activated so we had to queue up and wait to have it fixed when we were really tired.

In total we were satisfied with the hotel and could stay here again. If you come by car you should know the parking garage costs 150 DK per night but there is FREE parking in the street, right in front of the hotel. Park in the marked white lines. Cars come and go frequently so wait around if needed.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup CopenHagen, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for your review on WakeUp Copenhagen. We´re happy that you all in all enjoyed your stay at WakeUp, and it is of most importance for me, to let you know, that we always try to be service-minded and cheerful. Sometimes with long ques and trying to be as fast as possible, so guests doesn´t have to wait too long, can be the reason for not smiling enough, but beeing too concentrated in doing the work. I will though like to apologize for the difficulty in the keycards not working. Sometimes the electronics teases us and I can guarantee that the receptionist at the desk didn´t do it on purpose. I can only apologize and hope it wont happen again. Hope to see you back at WakeUp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel was exactly what I was expecting. If you have ever been to Studio M in Singapore it is exactly like that. It has the feel of a trendy botique hotel while being newer and modern. It is about a 10 min walk from the train/metro station. About a 5 min walk from Tevoli (amusement park) and about a 20-30 min walk from either the castle or palace buildings. So all in all it is a great location. Other hotels in the area that are of the same price are not nearly as nice and the ones that are comparable in niceness are way more expensive. There is no in-room coffee but you can buy it by the cup in the lobby along with snacks. They do provide a small bar of soap as well as a one-time use of shower gel/shampoo. Rooms are quite small but how much room does one need to sleep? The bed was comfy and other than small the room was very comfortable. Free computers/Internet in the lobby. There are 6 computers and there was never a wait when I was down there. Luggage storage for 20K in the basement in case you have a late flight out like we did then you do not have to lug it around with you all over which would have been awful. Just be sure when you lock the door that it is closed because once you lock it you pull the key out and if you accidentally lock it before it is closed then you have to pay again. Trendy and modern lobby to hand out in with a TV in case you have time to kill before heading to the train station to get to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup CopenHagen, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for your nice and positive review. We´re looking forward to seeing you again at WakeUp Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Yes, the rooms are small, but this hotel is clean, stylish and affordable. The rooms had everything you need, but they are very cozy. We really enjoyed the free internet at the business center. We also stored our luggage at the hotel, which was convenient, since we had a midnight flight to Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. There are good reviews on Tripadvisor but it is a 2 star hotel for a reason.

GOOD - Good price. Very clean rooms. Nice 32" HD TV. Triple glazed windows keep out noise. Modern.

BAD - Aircon in the 2 rooms we tried was broken and would leak if left on for any length of time. However when we complained we did get free breakfast and bike hire for a day. Unfortunately the hotel is near the train station / other building work and is noisy if you have to open the windows. The breakfast is not worth the money. All you get is cereal / bread & jam. There were only 2 pillows (really thin ones) in the bedroom and the hotel would not provide any more. There are no shops nearby and snacks / drinks for sale in the lobby are twice the price of those at the 7 Eleven shop in the train station.

Room Tip: Large rooms look to be near the lifts so may be no
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Wakeup CopenHagen, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for your review. We appriciate very much to get feedback from our guests. I´m sorry that you had the unfortune of two bad airconditions.
We ARE a 2-stared hotel, and rooms are small, breakfast is "danish" breakfast. We were build near the main train station, which lots think as a positive thing, because it is central and others see it as a negative thing, while when going to sleep, you can hear the trains from some rooms (rooms turning towards the trainstation).
We have gotten the "green-key, which means that we are thinking of the environment and therefore only have one pillow per person, not to have to much laundry, using too much soap etc. Unfortunally some like pillows big and fluffy others like them small and thin. I can only regret that it wasn´t in your favour.
Our shop is a bit expensive, so is our exchange rate, but we are a hotel and the shop offer we have is just an extra service for those that wont walk for cheeper. That the nearest shop is at 7 Eleven at the main train station is not our fault.
Hope that you all in all were satisfied with WakeUp Copenhagen. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The location is just 5 minutes away from Main Train Station, and from Airport the Train takes you just for 5 minutes to Main Statin. You can rent the Hotel's bike which is upsolutely perfect to see all Copenhagen by bike. Very nice rooms , a little bir small but enough. So clean , quite , breakfast was enough , walking distance to Tivoli Garden and everywhere. Such a huge nice place to stay in Copenhage. Stuff was so nice and polite , so helpful. Thanks for everything WakeUp Copenhagen :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Hotel was very good value - ( managed to get a deal stay three nightsand pay for two - via Asda's website) The room though compact was more than enough for one person. The room and bathroom were very clean and the power shower was good. I had no problems on the very Busy Sunday morning with breakfast as the Hotel was full, the choice available was good value, and the Restaurant was nice overloooking a patio.

My request for a room away from the lift was taken care off and I didn't experience any noise from rooms adjacent or in the corridoors. As I had paid a bargin price, my room was on a lower floor but I hadn't come to Copenhagen to stay in my room for the week-end - I also didn;t experience any queues at check-in or out and the staff on the desk were helpfull!! For a very expensive city an all round good choice!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakeup CopenHagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup CopenHagen

Address: Carsten Niebuhrs Gade 11 | 1577 Kobenhavn V, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup CopenHagen 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeup Copenhagen is located in the heart of the city within walking distance of Tivoli Gardens, Town Hall Square, the pedestrian shopping streets and the waterfront.Measuring 12-15 m2 in area all guest rooms at Wakeup Copenhagen are comfortable and modern, en-suite, air conditioned and come with multi-channel, flat screen TV, a good-sized desk and a free wireless internet connection as standard. Bed size 160 cm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Wakeup CopenHagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakeup Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakeup CopenHagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.