We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect when travelling with small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel G & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel G & Suites to your Saves list
First Hotel G & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gyldenlovesgade 19, Copenhagen 1600, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect when travelling with small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Travelling with our 1,5 year old child, this hotel was perfect. It has a nice play room for children, nearby is a charming park with a rather large playground to run and play in, and the hotel is only a 10-15 min walk (with a stroller) away from the tivoli. Separate bedroom and livingroom was good to have in the evenings since our child goes to bed quite early. We had a room towards the back with no noise. The bedroom got a bit hot, but this was a especially hot period in July. Free wifi, but it was a bit slow in the evenings. The rooftop terrace was nice. Breakfast is as you should expect. Parking is in the building nextdoor. The service is excellent, the straff was very helpfull everytime we needed some assistance. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikke R, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Google Translation
Kære Bergen1,

Mange tak for din tilbagemelding på dit ophold hos os.

jeg er glad for, at børnevenlige initiativer faldt i god jord hos jeres børn og omgivelserne lige så.

Samtidig er jeg også glad for at læse, at vores venlige receptionspersonale bidrog til at give jer et godt ophold.

Vi håber at kunne byde jer velkommen en anden gang,

Med venlig hilsen

Frederikke R.

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
43
22
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Njarðvík
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were a family on holiday and the stay in this hotel ruined the trip because there were spiders of all sizes in the room and on the balcanies. We complained about this for 3 days without any reaction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Bergsteinn

Thank you for your comments about your previous stay here at the hotel.

We are very sorry that you didn't feel you were not taken seriously.
The housekeeping went to your room and balcony on Friday afternoon and took away the spiders and web, that were there.
Saturday the checked the room again, while they were doing the daily cleaning.

We have been checking the room in the following days and do not see that the issue should continue.


This hotel unfortunately does not have any air condition, but only a ventilation system.

Kind regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The penthousesuit than we got was not good. The cleaning was bad, spiderweb hanging inside the windows, in corners and other places and sometimes spiders haning from it. We complained two days in a row and asked that the web and the spiders would be cleaned out of the room but nothing happened until the third night when our seven year old daughter was going to sleep and there was að giant black spider on her pillow then they offered us a different room. The light in the bedroom was broken and also the airconditioning which was really bad because there are many window and really hot during the day. The door to the balcany was broken, it was not possible tho close it completely and the kitchen cupboard was falling appart. We couldn´t use the balcany because there were giat spieders everywhere even on the furniture. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Hulda

Thank you for your comments about your previous stay here at the hotel.

We are very sorry that you didn't feel you were not taken seriously.
The housekeeping went to your room and balcony on Friday afternoon and took away the spiders and web, that were there.
Saturday the checked the room again, while they were doing the daily cleaning.

We have been checking the room in the following days and do not see that the issue should continue.


This hotel unfortunately does not have any air condition, but only a ventilation system.

Kind regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were there with our family and had 3 rooms. Each had a main room with kitchen and a bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Fortunately the weather was beautiful in Copenhagen during our stay but it made the hotel and the rooms quite warm day and night. Rooms are clean and comfortable but lack many outlets for charging phones and computers (similar to most older european hotel rooms). Location is near the lakes and on the main street that turns into Hans Christen Anderson Blvd. Far enough away from the main tourist area so that it's quiet at night but close enough to walk to restaurants. We found the breakfast at the hotel mediocre at best and very expensive (we didn't have it included in our room).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Jim

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and the extra amenities you get (kids playground downstairs, billiard room, kitchenettes for long stays, etc) are great when you need them. You will have trouble finding a place in Copenhagen where you can stay for long periods with family.

But it is a little run down and lower quality. My room had one broken window, the extra fan in the room (great to have by the way when its hot in Denmark - no AC really) was broken but taped together as if it still worked. There was AC but it was not working well at all, or maybe that is not really its function. Also the housekeeping needs a little work as it was hard to tell what was clean and not.

So for a long stay it may be a better option for you. Short walk to everything downtown, in a lovely area by the lakes, two blocks from train station. But for clean and better quality amenities, there are nicer hotel in the area for a city like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review.

This hotel does not have any air conditioning, but only a normal ventilation system in the rooms.
However, this will not coll your room as an AC will.

We have noted your comments regarding the cleaning and will take it further with our Housekeeping department.

We hope to welcome you back in Copenhagen in the future.

Kind regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I give this hotel a 'very good' rating as it delivers what it promises. It's not stylish or particularly attractive but my room was spacious (apart from the shower cubicle which was tiny), clean, and the hotel is well located with easy access to Forum railway station and then the airport.

My room had a small kitchenette area which my neighbours used very late at night! I was in Copenhagen on business and was glad of the small sitting area and separate bedroom. This allowed me to do some work without feeling I was in a hotel bedroom. Incidentally the wifi in my room was very good. The staff I met were friendly, if a little reserved as is usual in Denmark in my experience.

Overall worth a look and reasonably priced to boot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Declan

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We got the romantic getaway deal they had which included a champagne bottle, chocolates and fruit. We stayed two nights (Friday-Sunday) and the breakfast buffet was included in the deal as well. We had a late flight and it was no problem to delay our check out until 6pm (only cost a few DKK to do so), which was extremely nice! The location is great, quick walk to the main shopping street, Stroget, and to Tivoli. Also not far from the metro station for the airport. Very nice staff and we were so happy with our stay. The best thing about this hotel is their breakfast buffet! Their food was just delicious! We recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine M, Receptionschef at First Hotel G & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad to hear that you had a nice romantic getaway here in Copenhagen.

Look forward welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Josephine Madum
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel G & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel G & Suites

Address: Gyldenlovesgade 19, Copenhagen 1600, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel G & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel G & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel G & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.